We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Family Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Dinosaur Valley Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Dinosaur Valley Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Dinosaur Valley Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1311 NE Big Bend Trail, Glen Rose, TX 76043   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Glen Rose
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Family Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Overall the hotel was nice and clean and staff friendly and helpful. Pools and lounge furniture were very nice and the towels provided for use outside was a nice touch. The only concerns we had were the following: Game Room is not much of a game room - kids were disappointed. Didn't see any complimentary nachos, only popcorn. Bathtub/shower in room could have used better grips/non skid surface protectors and the option to use as a bath. We have a 3-1/2 year old and since we couldn't fill the tub up for a bath, we had to use the shower and it was very slippery - she almost fell a couple of times. TVs were small tube kind, not bigger flat screens like many of the hotels have now. Beds did not have fitted sheets over the mattress, only flat sheet. This seemed kind of strange, as it doesn't stay in place and kept exposing the mattress cover.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinoValley, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dinosaur Valley Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. By telling us what you liked and where we can improve, you are helping us tremendously. We use our guest feedback to continuously improve in all aspects of hospitality at our hotel. Thanks again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    32
    15
    11
    6
See reviews for
72
20
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange, TX, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The hotel appears to be new, and has a cowboy/dinosaur motif. Fossil display and natural wood rail enclosing loft in lobby. Pool area includes kiddie pool, hot tub, fish pond with waterfall and porch with rockers. Guest room was spacious and comfortable. Shower pressure was low; toilet tissue holder was inconveniently located. Breakfast room was clean, and contained a nice variety of hot and cold items. The aspects of friendliness and cleanliness were impressive, and the cost fit our budget well. A staff member gave me speedy aid; she helped me book an extra night. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinoValley, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dinosaur Valley Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear David,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our hotel. We are happy to hear that you liked and enjoyed various aspects of our hotel features and our customer service. Our staff work hard to keep this level of guest satisfaction and its gratifying to hear from a happy guest like yourself. We really appreciate it and hope to see you soon.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We spent a night here after visiting Fossil Rim Wildlife Center and Dinasour Valley State Park. The room is clean and spacious. There are fossil available for sale in this hotel at very reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinoValley, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dinosaur Valley Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent visit to Glen Rose. We strive to provide excellent service and quality to our guests and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

This is our second visit - we came back for the value, the breakfast and the pools. Very clean, also. Some nice perks - popcorn in the afternoons, kids can color dinosaur pictures for display in the breakfast area, and extra towels available in the pool area. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinoValley, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dinosaur Valley Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing our hotel as your preferred place for accommodation in Glen Rose. We also appreciate you taking time to share your experience with us and saying such nice things about our facility. We hope to see you again and be able to provide the same level of service during your future stays with us !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

My son and I stayed at the Glen Rose Best Western while visiting the area. The hotel far exceeded my expectations. The room was very clean, with plenty of towels. The queen beds were comfortable, with four good pillows each. The AC worked great, and there was a ceiling fan. The pool area was great. There was a five foot pool, an eighteen inch kiddie pool, hot tub, and a koi pond.

The real plus for me was the smoking area. The hotel itself was all nonsmoking, which is fine, but they had an area in the front with rocking chairs and ashtrays. Most hotels make you stand by the front door like a pariah, it was great to be able to DIY and relax, away from the nonsmokers.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinoValley, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dinosaur Valley Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay at our property.

We truly appreciate your business and value your feedback. We are glad that the detail oriented features of our hotel helped make your stay more enjoyable. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed there with the family for a great trip to Glen Rose. Stayed in a 2 queen suite and PLENTY of room for all of us. The pools were great. I liked that there was a smaller pool for the little kids and big pool for the big kids. Covered area so you don't get beat down by the heat. Lots of chairs and benchs around the hotel, mainly for smokers but were nice for just hanging outside. A lot of families stay here so if you are looking for somewhere quiet, this isn't the place. We had 2 baseball teams there so a lot of running down the halls and loud until around 10:00.....but hey, that's what kids do so if you are use to that, this is your place. Staff was super friendly and helpful. Definately looking forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinoValley, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dinosaur Valley Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Mitch,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Convenient to Dinosaur Valley Park and Dinosaur World as well as downtown Glen Rose, this hotel was the perfect two-day getaway for our family. It has a great outdoor pool and even a barbecue grill located nearby if you wish to cook hot dogs while getting a tan. it also has an outdoor sauna and a koi pond. Indoors was very clean and the rooms were a decent size for a family of four. They serve free popcorn for the kids and they also have free breakfast in the mornings.

Potential negatives to consider:
1) the Internet wifi in the hotel is sporadic, but they offer it for free so one really can't complain since so many other hotels charge for wifi
2) the free breakfast has no meat included (unless you consider a hard-boiled egg a meat) but then again hotels are not meant to compete with Golden Corral buffet restaurants

Positive items to consider:
1) great pool area
2) small business area with computer (I didn't use since I brought my own laptop)
3) free popcorn for the kids
4) hospitable staff (ask for Melissa!) ;-)
5) great price ($84 for the room not including tax)

If you happen to be near Glen Rose, Texas and you're looking for comfort, then this in the place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinoValley, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dinosaur Valley Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate your review and the fact that you chose our hotel for your stay in Glen Rose. We are happy to hear that our guests enjoy the beautiful outdoor pool setting. It is rewarding to know that our guests take notice of our hard work and actually remember names of our staff members that have helped them during their stay. We thank you again on behalf of the entire staff and will be looking forward to another opportunity to have you with us in the near future !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Dinosaur Valley Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dinosaur Valley Inn & Suites

Address: 1311 NE Big Bend Trail, Glen Rose, TX 76043
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Glen Rose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Glen Rose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Dinosaur Valley Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dinosaur Valley Inn and Suites, as seen in Southern Living Magazine, is an award winning country chic hotel. The 53-room hotel has been the recipient of 5 "Best of the Best" awards by Best Western International, 6 Chairman's Award for Excellence and 7 Director's Awards, along with a 3-Diamond rating from AAA. We are located adjacent to the Expo Center and offer a plethora of luxurious accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dinosaur Valley Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glen Rose
Dinosaur Valley Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Dinosaur Valley Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.