We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed review” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Storiebook Cafe

Storiebook Cafe
502 NE Barnard St, Glen Rose, TX 76043-4808
254-897-2665
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 34 Restaurants in Glen Rose
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Kids ordered the "fresh house-made lemonade". I expected that to be fresh-squeezed lemonade but it was obviously made with lemon concentrate and was really bad. I questioned the waitress about it and she was obviously annoyed when I asked for a substitute. Then she came back later all chatty and nice...I'm guessing she confirmed with the kitchen I was right and she was a bit worried about her tip. Atmosphere is pretty cute and plenty of outdoor seating. Sandwiches were good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    17
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
north hill country
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Go for the books, but not the food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is a darling place.
The staff is so/so. The ones in the kitchen...seem frustrated, always. I expect more than dingy t-shirts from a waitstaff. Cute place..put your staff in cute shirts. Have eaten here several times. The soups are horrible. The sandwiches are pretty good. The pasta is not worth the time or trouble. There are several other great places in Glen Rose to eat...pass this one up.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love this little place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

We love this place-- so quaint and child friendly! The food is awesome! We came last year and couldn't wait to come back! My son couldn't wait to find a book to read when we got there! We all played a card game while waiting for our food-- great family fun!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Novel Experience...Storiebook Cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I discovered the Storiebook Cafe while driving through Glen Rose a couple of weekends ago. Wonderful atmosphere, nice staff and the food was good too. The fudge brownie sundae I won "doing" the limbo was to die for. Will definitely stop in again on my way through Glen Rose. Might even make a trip down just to stop in!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
293 helpful votes 293 helpful votes
“Good Food, Neat Atmosphere, Average Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Chicken & dumplings and sandwiches are very good and and served hot. One of waitresses is very talkative and some may not appreciate it. The others were quieter. But, the service was good and drink refills plenty. Neat bookstore atmosphere!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Storiebook Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Storiebook Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Storiebook Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.