We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Delight!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverhouse Grill

Riverhouse Grill
210 SW Barnard St, Glen Rose, TX 76043
254-898-8514
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 32 Restaurants in Glen Rose
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Shreveport, Louisiana, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Unexpected Delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Passing through Glen Rose after a football game, we decided to stop here for dinner since it said casual dress and had high reviews. The food was delicious and the atmosphere delightful! The restaurant is housed in a beautiful old house. Our server was SO helpful in helping us find accommodations nearby also. A delightful dining experience!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    36
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pretty good - kind of pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Food was good, but kind of expensive. Probably a good place for special occasions, but wasn't what we were looking for. When we go to Glen Rose we enjoy the small town atmosphere. The Riverhouse Grill seems like it is trying a little too hard to be pretentious.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A delightful meal in a terrific old house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were traveling the back road from Dallas to the Hill Country and found this gem. The restaurant is in a beautiful old house and very nicely appointed. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable and the chef is a genius. Our waitress made some great suggestions and we enjoyed a lunch of soup and sandwiches. This may become one of our "regular" stops along this stretch of highway.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Surprise dining experience in Glen Rose!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

I don't know exactly what my expectations were, but this place surpassed them. I had the chicken fried steak, and it was both delicious and HUGE! The service was spectacular. I will remember this place if I ever come back through town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Upscale experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were in town to visit Dinosaur State Park, Dinosaur World and Fossil Rim. The night desk clerk at our hotel suggested this place. It seemed upscale, so we were surprised she sent us there with our toddler. Everyone was very nice and welcoming, though, so nothing to fear. They even provided crayons and a page from a coloring book as well as a selection of off-menu kids meals. The pasta dishes were good, especially the chicken alfredo. The Voodoo pasta seemed a little bland compared to other cajun-type foods I've tried, but tasty. Prices reflected the upscale nature of the place, so don't go here if you're looking for a dollar menu. We really enjoyed the atmosphere in the old house. The floors were especially beautiful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverhouse Grill also viewed

 

Been to Riverhouse Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverhouse Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.