We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good to climb the rocks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Rocks Park

Big Rocks Park
Glen Rose, TX
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 15 things to do in Glen Rose
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Park on the Paluxy River.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good to climb the rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Perfect place for the kids to climb the rocks. Don't recommend swimming in the water since there were signs saying the water has bacteria in it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    43
    15
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Seems great, but not enough water”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I guess it is to be expected since Texas is going through a drought, but when my family and I visited, the water was quite low. Seems like a great place to spend time but we need more water!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Kids loved the big rocks, must be great when it is warm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The kids loved climbing over and around the rocks. This park must be great in the summer when you can get in the water. 5 years and up had no issues. the 2 year olds needed some help getting around.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great fun for the kids!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Visited Big Rocks Park a couple of days ago while in Glen Rose. We didn't really look much at the river. It appeared to be a little low, but it was cool, and we didn't plan to get in the water, so no big deal there. My four year old had a blast running around the rocks and hopping from one to another. He kept wanting to go back to the rocks. Fun place to stretch your legs and play around for a while. We will definitely go back next time we're in the area!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Free and fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The manager of our hotel recommended a visit tomthis free city park and what a treat it was! It is literally an area of huge boulders that kids and run, climb and play on. It's a little scary for this mom with a fear of heights as there are crevasses that could be dangerous, but the kids survived and had a blast. In fact, it warrants a second visit before heading home.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Rocks Park also viewed

 

Been to Big Rocks Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Rocks Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.