We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ameobas in the water and dangerous sign posted to stay out of” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Big Rocks Park

Big Rocks Park
Glen Rose, TX
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 14 Attractions in Glen Rose
Type: Parks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Park on the Paluxy River.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ameobas in the water and dangerous sign posted to stay out of”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011 via mobile

Do not got to in warm weather. Water is very low and dangerous ameobas are present.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    38
    14
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keller, Tx
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Hide and Go Seek paradise!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We just happen to stumble on this place when we were camping across the street at Oakdale RV Park. Big Rock Park is amazing to see and explore. Our kids (12, 10 and 4 years) all enjoyed the crevices, caves, holes, and climbs. THey played on them for hours. They also cooled off by walking along the river. Bring your camera - lots of cute pictures! Then walk over to the Snow Cone Hut afterwards - yummy!!

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

It was very hot, over 100 degrees and this is a great spot to cool off. We saw the reviews on TripAdvisor and added this to our itinerary and we are sure glad we did. Some advice: bring water shoes and be careful in the water, the rocks are slippery.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“AMAZING free fun in Glen Rose!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

We took a group of boys & moms to Big Rocks for a day of FREE fun! We did other things in Glen Rose you can pay for as well, but Big Rocks was my son's favorite stop of the day. The site is exactly what it says....huge rocks & water (depending on recent rains, it can be either a trickle stream or a nice, shallow slow moving river).

We brought a picnic lunch, all sat on top of the largest rock we could climb & then the kids spent hours exploring rocks, water, & everything in between. Definitely worth a stop. It gets crowded on weekends in the summer, but we went on a weekday in May and were the only ones there. Parking is free. Restrooms are clean. There were a set of covered picnic tables, but they were close to the street & it was more exciting to eat on the rocks!

The boys did find a snake hiding under a rock, so be aware that you're not the only one enjoying Big Rocks. We just stayed away from hiding spots for critters & never saw anything else scary. As we were leaving, a man was coming in with fishing gear so I assume you can also fish at Big Rocks.

There is no physical address for Big Rocks, but is directly across the street from Oakdale RV Park, so if you locate that, you can find Big Rocks.

If you go to Glen Rose, this is a perfect stop!

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great accidental find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

We found this one by accident trying to waste a little time before hotel check in. Its located just past the historical shopping area in Glen Rose. There's a cute little Snow Cone Shack just next door. The kids got snow cones then we headed over and there are huge rocks to climb on and a shallow part of the river to wade in. Lots of people out swimming and just splashing around. Free..easy..convenient..great.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Rocks Park also viewed

 

Been to Big Rocks Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Rocks Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.