We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Getaway from the Metroplex” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rough Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glen Rose
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rough Creek Lodge
Save
You added Rough Creek Lodge to your Saves list
5165 County Road 2013, Glen Rose, TX 76043   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Glen Rose
Keller, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Terrific Getaway from the Metroplex”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We took the entire family, three kids ( 5, 8 & 10 ) grandma & grandpa ... my wife and I. There was something to do for everyone, and everyone had a terrific time. From grandpa taking his grandson down to the dock to fish .. then going over to the adult pool to sit in the Jacuzzi! To wonderfully prepared dinners and cocktails, while our kids were at the Kids Ranch. A family horseback ride, family pool, kawasaki mule ride, driving range, tennis court, fitness center, bike riding, zip lining, climbing wall, smores by the fire ...we seriously did it all. What we liked most was that there was never a line to wait in or arrived at something to find out that it was "all booked". The staff was extremely accommodating and helpful with any request. With our package was the Fossil Rim animal park tickets, which we hit while heading out of town - what a great way to end the quick getaway! We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    21
    19
    14
    7
See reviews for
99
47
Solo
0
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, Texas
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I kept teasing my wife with how "rough" this place was going to be, but she knows me too well to have been very concerned. But needless to say, she was blown away with the accommodations and the friendly service. We had a package deal that included dinner and breakfast which was a memorable experience that we will never forget.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

My husband and I dropped in Rough Creek Lodge for drinks and had a light bar dinner. Sal our bartender was personable and suggested a wine I had not tried before. My husband had a skinny margarita that was made with fresh lime on the rocks. We shared a smoked turkey sandwich with hand cut fries that was the perfect amount for a light dinner. We ended our visit watching the sunset....perfect evening with a perfect setting and service. Worth the stop!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Rough Creek Lodge is definitely worth the price! Every member of staff is friendly and knowledgable. The food is excellent and you will never run out of things to do. There is plenty of entertainment for kids / families and adults too. I love this place and we will certainly be back again and again. Top notch!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We had 14 people for a family reunion. it will be one of the all time best memories for the family for sure.
Great service
Great food
Great facilities
Great, great activities

all employees take ownership of their duties. Everyone call us by name. The food is five star. So many activities to choose from that there was something for everyone. Very kid friendly if you bring kids.

I also went to Rough Creek for a business offsite. perfect venue for team building or strategy meeting.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We've been here several times and it's always been a relaxing stay. They have all the amenities where it counts. The beds are the best ANYWHERE. Makes it difficult to wake up and enjoy the incredible breakfast buffet. Food here is amazing. The Chalk Mountain Margarita is severely delicious as well. Overall great place!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This was one of the best places we've ever visited near the
DFW Metroplex. The facilities & amenities were great. The Mustang Cabin where we stayed was such an amazing experience. Being a cabin, it was very comfortable & the kids loved the way the rooms were furnished.
The staff were incredibly courteous & hospitable.
My husband being a vegetarian had one of the best dinners. I gave them a heads up while booking on his meal choice & substituted meat for tofu....it was out of this world good.
A bit on the expensive side but considering the price per adult included a kid, complimentary breakfast & a Zagat rated 3 course dinner, it was well worth it
I can go on & on about the excellence of this place but, it would be well worth it for you to try it out yourself.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rough Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rough Creek Lodge

Address: 5165 County Road 2013, Glen Rose, TX 76043
Location: United States > Texas > Glen Rose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Glen Rose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury suitelodge sits on 11,000 acres of scenic countryside.No matter what your individual style, Rough Creek Lodge and Resort is a “have-it-all” place for our “want-it-all” guests.Rough Creek Lodge , Resort and Dallas Conference Center is nestled on 11,000 acres in the foothills of the picturesque Texas Hill Country. Located 90 minutes southwest of Dallas Fort Worth, Texas, our exquisite grounds boast 51 stylish guestrooms and suites, 4 exclusive cabins, and 3 opulent guest houses. Our lodge is finely decorated with sophisticated fabric, furniture and artwork to create a feel of rustic elegance for our guests.If you are coming to take advantage of our Conference Center, you won’t be disappointed. The Executive Conference Center integrates state-of-the-art technology in a comfortable setting fostering industrious and flourishing meetings. Rough Creek’s world class Conference Center is host to the latest in audio visual equipment, ergonomically designed chairs, and continuous refreshments and service making our four meeting facilities the best Dallas Fort Worth has to offer.We pride ourselves in offering the best Texas family vacations created amidst the splendor of legendary Texas Hill Country. Take advantage of our scenic horseback rides, Kawasaki Mule rides or our family recreation pool for our adventurous guests, or if it’s relaxation you’re looking for you might like to spend an afternoon next to our spa swimming pool overlooking Mallard Lake. From fire pits and s’mores to fine dining and outdoor sports, Rough Creek Lodge and Resort provides a magnificent escape for your family getaway.Here at Rough Creek Lodge, we appreciate the joys of Texas hunting, and Rough Creek Lodge and Resort can accommodate your hunting and fishing desires. Rough Creek’s Fishing and Hunting has everything to offer; this is full service hunting at its paramount. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rough Creek Hotel Glen Rose
Rough Creek Resort
Rough Creek Lodge Glen Rose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rough Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.