We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway near DFW” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rough Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glen Rose
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rough Creek Lodge
Save Saved
You added Rough Creek Lodge to your Saves list
5165 County Road 2013, Glen Rose, TX 76043   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Glen Rose
Plano, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great getaway near DFW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This was one of the best places we've ever visited near the
DFW Metroplex. The facilities & amenities were great. The Mustang Cabin where we stayed was such an amazing experience. Being a cabin, it was very comfortable & the kids loved the way the rooms were furnished.
The staff were incredibly courteous & hospitable.
My husband being a vegetarian had one of the best dinners. I gave them a heads up while booking on his meal choice & substituted meat for tofu....it was out of this world good.
A bit on the expensive side but considering the price per adult included a kid, complimentary breakfast & a Zagat rated 3 course dinner, it was well worth it
I can go on & on about the excellence of this place but, it would be well worth it for you to try it out yourself.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    20
    19
    14
    6
See reviews for
98
46
Solo
0
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Granbury, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

It is a 5 star hotel in the middle of nowhere. The rooms, the amenities, the restaurant are all incredible. I'm sure that all the other reviews have said the same thing. On a previous stay, our kids really enjoyed the zip lining, the pools and the kids dinner (which is great for a couple having a romantic dinner with no kids.) The food is unique and delicious.

I did a bird hunt in January at Rough Creek. It was definitely challenging. With the mountain cedar all over the property, you get a very small window to hit the birds. I probably prefer bird hunting in CRP, but we did enjoy the guide and the area. I would have liked to have seen more pheasant on the hunt. The ones we did see, the dogs scared them up a little too soon. Overall, a very good day and a good hunt. Make sure that you check out the Beretta room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

This resort hidden off the beaten path outside of Glen Rose, Texas is a gem. I would say it was a well kept secret except I think it is no longer a secret. The rooms are luxuriously rustic. The restaurant could compete with any fine restaurant in any city. The staff is wonderful. They make you feel they are truly happy to serve you and make your stay as perfect as possible. Although, this is a hunting lodge, it is also an incredible place for all types of outdoor activities or not. Although we did not take advantage of the spa this trip, we had wonderful massages last time we were here. It is also a great place to chill, have a business retreat or a family reunion. We will be back here.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I was looking for a different way to spend Valentine's Day with my girlfriend. Last year we did the more traditional luxury hotel, spa and fantastic dinner. This year I did not want to try top last year or even set a trend of comparing, so on the advice of a friend, I reserved a weekend at Rough Creek Lodge, what I would discribe as a family friendly, upscale hunting lodge.

We both had a great time. Although we did shoot, we did not partake in any hunting. Instead we brought our own road bicycles and enjoyed the uncrowded roads and hills, as well as many of the other amenities the lodge has to offer: Zip lines, climbing walls, archery, and yes, even hatchet throwing. We probably would have done more, but it was mid February and too cool to enjoy the pools and unfortunately we didn't have enough time for the 4x4s, horses or fishing/boating.

We really loved the atmosphere. It was definitely felt like a hunting lodge, but it was not the typical overdone rough hewn wood look, but a more contemporary twist. The room was very nice an comfortable and felt very private. The bathrooms were excellent and on par with better hotels

Being Valentine's Day, the dining room was packed for the Friday evening dinner, but the staff was fantastic and the food terrific. I would have thought that due to the slightly remote location everyone was staying at the Lodge, but the waiter said most had driven (or flown by helicopter) in just for the meal. We also ate two breakfasts and a second dinner and all meals were very good. We took advantage of the spa for a couple's massage and thoroughly enjoyed it as well.

Most impressive was the staff. Everyone from the wait staff to the front desk staff to the houskeepers to the folks in the spa and the young guys running the activities were exceptionally nice and friendly. All seemed genuinely concerned about our havng a good time.

I would definitely recommend this place if you are looking for a somewhat out of the way, outdoorsy, but very comfortable, hunting, or family trip. The food is hard to beat and I can't say enough good things about the staff. We are both looking forward to another trip when we can enjoy more of the activities. (MK)

Room Tip: This is a fairly small place. I would guess 60 or so rooms. The regular rooms are great and we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Jose at Rough Creek made our trip one to remember and a must do every year. The level of service was one of the Ritz Carlton's we frequent often. He made sure all was taken care of and that we were having a great time. We have a toddler and was helpful and suggested great things to do with her. The food recommendations were also perfect along with the best top shelf margaritas you could have. Jose we will be back to see you and I hope they know they have a great employee! We will see you sooner than expected hopefully in the next few weeks.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Whether you need a relaxing weekend away with your spouse or you are looking for a place to hold a meeting...this is a great place to stay. The food is delicious and five star quality! The rooms are spacious and luxurious. The location requires a little bit of a drive, but it is well worth your time...you will be glad you did. Once you stay at this property, you will be a repeat client!
It's worth every penny and more.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Beautiful location miles from anywhere, great views over the lake and farm land. Restaurant has good Texas food , rooms are very spacious and with a special offer price we thought it was value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rough Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rough Creek Lodge

Address: 5165 County Road 2013, Glen Rose, TX 76043
Location: United States > Texas > Glen Rose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Glen Rose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury suitelodge sits on 11,000 acres of scenic countryside.No matter what your individual style, Rough Creek Lodge and Resort is a “have-it-all” place for our “want-it-all” guests.Rough Creek Lodge , Resort and Dallas Conference Center is nestled on 11,000 acres in the foothills of the picturesque Texas Hill Country. Located 90 minutes southwest of Dallas Fort Worth, Texas, our exquisite grounds boast 51 stylish guestrooms and suites, 4 exclusive cabins, and 3 opulent guest houses. Our lodge is finely decorated with sophisticated fabric, furniture and artwork to create a feel of rustic elegance for our guests.If you are coming to take advantage of our Conference Center, you won’t be disappointed. The Executive Conference Center integrates state-of-the-art technology in a comfortable setting fostering industrious and flourishing meetings. Rough Creek’s world class Conference Center is host to the latest in audio visual equipment, ergonomically designed chairs, and continuous refreshments and service making our four meeting facilities the best Dallas Fort Worth has to offer.We pride ourselves in offering the best Texas family vacations created amidst the splendor of legendary Texas Hill Country. Take advantage of our scenic horseback rides, Kawasaki Mule rides or our family recreation pool for our adventurous guests, or if it’s relaxation you’re looking for you might like to spend an afternoon next to our spa swimming pool overlooking Mallard Lake. From fire pits and s’mores to fine dining and outdoor sports, Rough Creek Lodge and Resort provides a magnificent escape for your family getaway.Here at Rough Creek Lodge, we appreciate the joys of Texas hunting, and Rough Creek Lodge and Resort can accommodate your hunting and fishing desires. Rough Creek’s Fishing and Hunting has everything to offer; this is full service hunting at its paramount. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rough Creek Hotel Glen Rose
Rough Creek Resort
Rough Creek Lodge Glen Rose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rough Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.