We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rough Creek Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rough Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glen Rose
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rough Creek Lodge
Save
You added Rough Creek Lodge to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5165 County Road 2013, Glen Rose, TX 76043   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Glen Rose
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rough Creek Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I was looking for a different way to spend Valentine's Day with my girlfriend. Last year we did the more traditional luxury hotel, spa and fantastic dinner. This year I did not want to try top last year or even set a trend of comparing, so on the advice of a friend, I reserved a weekend at Rough Creek Lodge, what I would discribe as a family friendly, upscale hunting lodge.

We both had a great time. Although we did shoot, we did not partake in any hunting. Instead we brought our own road bicycles and enjoyed the uncrowded roads and hills, as well as many of the other amenities the lodge has to offer: Zip lines, climbing walls, archery, and yes, even hatchet throwing. We probably would have done more, but it was mid February and too cool to enjoy the pools and unfortunately we didn't have enough time for the 4x4s, horses or fishing/boating.

We really loved the atmosphere. It was definitely felt like a hunting lodge, but it was not the typical overdone rough hewn wood look, but a more contemporary twist. The room was very nice an comfortable and felt very private. The bathrooms were excellent and on par with better hotels

Being Valentine's Day, the dining room was packed for the Friday evening dinner, but the staff was fantastic and the food terrific. I would have thought that due to the slightly remote location everyone was staying at the Lodge, but the waiter said most had driven (or flown by helicopter) in just for the meal. We also ate two breakfasts and a second dinner and all meals were very good. We took advantage of the spa for a couple's massage and thoroughly enjoyed it as well.

Most impressive was the staff. Everyone from the wait staff to the front desk staff to the houskeepers to the folks in the spa and the young guys running the activities were exceptionally nice and friendly. All seemed genuinely concerned about our havng a good time.

I would definitely recommend this place if you are looking for a somewhat out of the way, outdoorsy, but very comfortable, hunting, or family trip. The food is hard to beat and I can't say enough good things about the staff. We are both looking forward to another trip when we can enjoy more of the activities. (MK)

Room Tip: This is a fairly small place. I would guess 60 or so rooms. The regular rooms are great and we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    22
    19
    15
    9
See reviews for
104
51
1
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Jose at Rough Creek made our trip one to remember and a must do every year. The level of service was one of the Ritz Carlton's we frequent often. He made sure all was taken care of and that we were having a great time. We have a toddler and was helpful and suggested great things to do with her. The food recommendations were also perfect along with the best top shelf margaritas you could have. Jose we will be back to see you and I hope they know they have a great employee! We will see you sooner than expected hopefully in the next few weeks.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Whether you need a relaxing weekend away with your spouse or you are looking for a place to hold a meeting...this is a great place to stay. The food is delicious and five star quality! The rooms are spacious and luxurious. The location requires a little bit of a drive, but it is well worth your time...you will be glad you did. Once you stay at this property, you will be a repeat client!
It's worth every penny and more.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Beautiful location miles from anywhere, great views over the lake and farm land. Restaurant has good Texas food , rooms are very spacious and with a special offer price we thought it was value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
169 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

First of all, I have to say that when I found out the price of our Valentine's Day get-away weekend here, I didn't see any way it could be worth that much money. In the end, we did leave feeling very pampered and with smiles on our faces, and that is saying a lot from someone who has traveled the world and likes a good deal.

FOOD - The chef has earned all kinds of honors and his food is absolutely outstanding. My husband and I really enjoy good food and this is some of the best we have ever had. I only gave breakfast a "very good" rating because I would have liked a few more items on the buffet, but the quality of the food was excellent. They make their own fresh pastries and breads daily, so everything is fresh and scrumptious. It would be very difficult to beat their steaks and the pheasant was also superb. The fresh made salsa at breakfast was some of the best salsa I've ever had.

SERVICE - the other reason people would love this is because the service is exceptional. It seemed like everywhere we turned, we were being called by name. When I was in the spa for my treatment, my name was on the locker. The manager asked to meet me and when I told her my first name, without hesitating or looking it up, she politely began calling me by Mrs. _____ (my married name). Very impressive.

VALUE - okay, now here is the deal. If you come here when the weather is good, especially during the middle of the week, so that you could enjoy all the many, many included activities, this could end up being a great deal. Or if you brought your family, as kids under 15 stay and eat for free, again this could be a fantastic deal. Some of the lodge rooms even have bunk beds for the kids and the cabins have three beds up in a loft if the kiddos are not small and can safely manage a spiral metal staircase. But for a couple in the winter, not such a good deal as we were there to get out of the city, relax, and enjoy the good food and service. Although we had a memorable time, there are other places that the two of us could have gone in the winter to get out of the city that would have been a fraction of the price, just perhaps not the same level of service or quality of food.

MUSTANG CABIN - we did thoroughly enjoy having a fireplace in front of our king size bed. The crackling fire my husband built was beautiful. The hammock outside and the rocking chairs on the screened-in porch would have been relaxing but it was too chilly and windy while we were here. Tiny bathroom is the downside to the cabin, but it does have a jetted bathtub. Compared to other places we have stayed, the cabins seem rather rustic for the price. You can do rustic and still be upscale, but this missed the mark a bit.

LODGE ROOMS - lovely, spacious rooms that all face out to the little lake with two chairs on the balcony to enjoy the view.

Book spa and dinner appointments well in advance as the resort is often full.

SPA - excellent service and did a great job of making each client feel special and pampered; however, I really enjoy a spa that has a steam room and sauna to relax in before a treatment. The adult pool and whirlpool is right outside the spa to enjoy.

ACTIVITIES - The great thing is that there are tons of activities for everyone to enjoy - fishing, boating, kayaks, hunting, shooting sports (clays, five-stand, rifle range, wobble trap, shooting instruction), paintball, volleyball, video golf, basketball and tennis, horseshoes and softball, fitness center, golf driving range, tomahawks and archery, zip-line, climbing wall, fossil hunting, nature trail, hiking and biking, Kawasaki mule rental, horseback riding, Adult swimming pool, spa, cattle drives, hay rides, play grounds, disc golf, petting corral, Kid's Ranch, kite flying, and Outdoor Family Pool complete with 66-foot Slide, Lazy River and Hot Tub. Not much chance to get bored when the weather is nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

If you love seeing all the stars, hearing only the wind blow and maybe some crickets and love gourmet food, this is the place for you to visit. We've been coming here for birthdays and anniversaries for over 4 years and we never tire of it. The location is beautiful, the grounds are easy to hike/ walk, the pools are clean and private. I love one of the pools is for adults only - no screaming kids! The chef is world renown and I've never had a bad meal or drink there. The wine list is pretty great too.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room, they all face the lake, so really there's no BAD rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

$1000 a night????
Rooms nice enough
Foods better than average
Staff is friendly
Place is nice but not laid out well. (Rooms open up to the outside? So rain, ice, heat...)
It's worth $350-400 NIGHT NOT DOUBLE THAT!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Rose
13.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Glen Rose
12.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dinosaur Valley Inn & Suites
11.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Glen Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Granbury
13.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Comanche Peak
11.4 mi away
Glen Rose Inn & Suites
Glen Rose Inn & Suites
#8 of 8 in Glen Rose
3.0 of 5 stars 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rough Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rough Creek Lodge

Address: 5165 County Road 2013, Glen Rose, TX 76043
Location: United States > Texas > Glen Rose
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Glen Rose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rough Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury suitelodge sits on 11,000 acres of scenic countryside.No matter what your individual style, Rough Creek Lodge and Resort is a “have-it-all” place for our “want-it-all” guests.Rough Creek Lodge , Resort and Dallas Conference Center is nestled on 11,000 acres in the foothills of the picturesque Texas Hill Country. Located 90 minutes southwest of Dallas Fort Worth, Texas, our exquisite grounds boast 51 stylish guestrooms and suites, 4 exclusive cabins, and 3 opulent guest houses. Our lodge is finely decorated with sophisticated fabric, furniture and artwork to create a feel of rustic elegance for our guests.If you are coming to take advantage of our Conference Center, you won’t be disappointed. The Executive Conference Center integrates state-of-the-art technology in a comfortable setting fostering industrious and flourishing meetings. Rough Creek’s world class Conference Center is host to the latest in audio visual equipment, ergonomically designed chairs, and continuous refreshments and service making our four meeting facilities the best Dallas Fort Worth has to offer.We pride ourselves in offering the best Texas family vacations created amidst the splendor of legendary Texas Hill Country. Take advantage of our scenic horseback rides, Kawasaki Mule rides or our family recreation pool for our adventurous guests, or if it’s relaxation you’re looking for you might like to spend an afternoon next to our spa swimming pool overlooking Mallard Lake. From fire pits and s’mores to fine dining and outdoor sports, Rough Creek Lodge and Resort provides a magnificent escape for your family getaway.Here at Rough Creek Lodge, we appreciate the joys of Texas hunting, and Rough Creek Lodge and Resort can accommodate your hunting and fishing desires. Rough Creek’s Fishing and Hunting has everything to offer; this is full service hunting at its paramount. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rough Creek Hotel Glen Rose
Rough Creek Resort
Rough Creek Lodge Glen Rose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rough Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.