We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rough Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glen Rose
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rough Creek Lodge
5165 County Road 2013, Glen Rose, TX 76043   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Glen Rose
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Weekend Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Rough Creek is an amazing property. The lodge is a large open space overlooking a lake. The architecturally design is western and it is furnished with beautiful rugs and over sized comfortable chairs. Our room was one of the nicest rooms that we have ever stayed in. It had a very comfortable leather couch and chair, fireplace and two big screen TV's. There was a TV in the bathroom and a great bed in the bedroom. Unlike most hotels, they allow you to cool the room down to a comfortable temperature and the view was overlooking the lake. The only down side was the room above us had a wood floor and it was very noisy.

The property is great place for a wedding! There is a beautiful wedding chapel and a nice building for a rehearsal dinner. There is a six mile nature trail, driving range, fishing, hunting, tennis, climbing rock, ATV rentals, and much more! To top it all off, they have the nicest staff that we have ever experienced! The only change that I would make is to offer some healthy food options.

Room Tip: The William Travis Suite can be noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    19
    16
    14
    6
See reviews for
93
46
Solo
0
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Thank you for making our annual Corporate HR Planning meeting a huge success, complete with first class attention to detail, fabulous food, extraordinary client service, and many kudos to the Rough Creek guys that led our Team Olympics, even though none of us could hit the broad side of a barn if we tried! Awesome time for all us and Christy, you and the Rough Creek staff exceed our expectations year after year!

Room Tip: Any of them, they are all awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

From the moment we drove into the Lodge and were greeted, to the moment we drove away with a hand car wash, fresh bread and cookies, we were in heaven! The experience was nothing that I had ever experienced before. We were wrapped in luxury from the room to the massage to the fabulous meals. Yet, we participated in archery, hiking tomahawk throwing, riflery, five stand shot gun clays, nature trails, pools, zip line. Adult CAMP!!!! (plenty of children activities as well, ours are grown.

Room Tip: Go, relax and have a blast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I am a city guy with a city wife and two city kids. A weekend at RCL is exactly what you need to relax. We go 3-4 times a year and even joined their club (extra benefits, discounts, etc.). The staff is ALL about customer service on a personal side. They are only second to Disney in our minds on customer service and making it a true experience. Great food, exciting activities, and relaxing environment

Room Tip: Joining club gets you upgrades to suites! Great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Love Rough Creek! I say best 5 star camping because it is out in the middle of nowhere but awesome amenities! We stayed in The Coyote which is a cabin on the property. It was so quaint! Lots of beds to bring your family too. It was so quiet and had a great porch with rocking chairs, hammock and picnic table. The bed was very comfortable. The pool was realxing and the good was awesome! The restaurant is 5 star and had probably some of the best meals ever! A little pricey but worth it! Most of all the staff is top notch! It was the best service I have ever had and comparing to Four Seasons, W and Ritz! We are definitely going back! Also, if you like shooting guns checkout Craft International Thecraft.com they offer shooting courses for all levels.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We recommend Rough Creek to all our family and friends. Rough Creek provides a unique experience, kids love it, fun for the whole family, more activities than you can fit into one week, and food is amazing! Stay there every summer and loved the experience as always.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The Rough Creek Lodge offers fresh, delicious breakfasts, haute-cuisine dinners with complimentary wine list, chic country western decor, beautiful rooms, and an array of amenities that will please the hunters, the children, and those seeking peace. The intimate size of the lodge guarantees a peaceful atmosphere, superb service, and no waiting time for zip lining, hunting, archery, fishing, etc... The staff are very friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. This small resort should be listed in the "Small Luxury Hotels of the World" index. Overall, a wonderful place to get away from it all!

Room Tip: If you want to avoid spiders and cratered beds, do not choose Arrowhead or Bobcat cabins, but stay a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rough Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rough Creek Lodge

Address: 5165 County Road 2013, Glen Rose, TX 76043
Location: United States > Texas > Glen Rose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Glen Rose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury suitelodge sits on 11,000 acres of scenic countryside.No matter what your individual style, Rough Creek Lodge and Resort is a “have-it-all” place for our “want-it-all” guests.Rough Creek Lodge , Resort and Dallas Conference Center is nestled on 11,000 acres in the foothills of the picturesque Texas Hill Country. Located 90 minutes southwest of Dallas Fort Worth, Texas, our exquisite grounds boast 51 stylish guestrooms and suites, 4 exclusive cabins, and 3 opulent guest houses. Our lodge is finely decorated with sophisticated fabric, furniture and artwork to create a feel of rustic elegance for our guests.If you are coming to take advantage of our Conference Center, you won’t be disappointed. The Executive Conference Center integrates state-of-the-art technology in a comfortable setting fostering industrious and flourishing meetings. Rough Creek’s world class Conference Center is host to the latest in audio visual equipment, ergonomically designed chairs, and continuous refreshments and service making our four meeting facilities the best Dallas Fort Worth has to offer.We pride ourselves in offering the best Texas family vacations created amidst the splendor of legendary Texas Hill Country. Take advantage of our scenic horseback rides, Kawasaki Mule rides or our family recreation pool for our adventurous guests, or if it’s relaxation you’re looking for you might like to spend an afternoon next to our spa swimming pool overlooking Mallard Lake. From fire pits and s’mores to fine dining and outdoor sports, Rough Creek Lodge and Resort provides a magnificent escape for your family getaway.Here at Rough Creek Lodge, we appreciate the joys of Texas hunting, and Rough Creek Lodge and Resort can accommodate your hunting and fishing desires. Rough Creek’s Fishing and Hunting has everything to offer; this is full service hunting at its paramount. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rough Creek Hotel Glen Rose
Rough Creek Resort
Rough Creek Lodge Glen Rose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rough Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rough Creek Lodge to your Saves list