We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little expensive but worth it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fossil Rim Wildlife Center

Fossil Rim Wildlife Center
2299 County Road 2008, Glen Rose, TX 76043
254-897-2960
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 14 Attractions in Glen Rose
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Ranchs, Zoos & Aquariums
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Group tours/safari
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fossil Rim Wildlife Center is where Africa comes to Texas. Our 1,800-acre preserve holds a 9.5 mile scenic drive where you can interact with over 1,100 rare and endangered animals roaming free in their herds. Stay in your car, reserve your spot on a guided tour, or even spend a night at our Safari Camp or Lodge to see over 50 different species of wild animals including cheetahs, wolves, giraffes, rhinos and more. The delicious food at The Overlook Cafe is paired with an incredible view overlooking the park and our gift shop offers souvenirs to take home to family and friends. While Fossil Rim is sure to provide a unique experience and exciting adventure, we are dedicated to the conservation of species on the brink of extinction. Fossil Rim conducts scientific research, trains professionals, responsibly manages our natural resources and is committed to public education. We are a not-for-profit breeding center dedicated to the recovery of species in the wild and we invite you to join us in our efforts. Grab your camera and head this way for the scenic wildlife drive you won't forget. Located in Glen Rose, Texas, we are just 52 miles SW of Fort Worth and well worth a visit for people of all ages!
Little Rock, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Little expensive but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Fossil Rim was easy to find, and it is really a great place to take your family , especially with small kids (but even I was so trilled, to be honest ...:-).

BUT , very important tip for all visitors , Be there as early as it possible !!!

My family (daughter of nine, my wife and I ) were there in 8:30... We take a tour right after the truck with food passed and drop the food on the road.
Animal is hungry in the morning and they trained to came near road to get a food. Also in the morning animal are more active... and there is less vehicles on he road so you can take your time

We were in a SUV with a sun roof, so the daughter was able to stand through the roof and feed the giraffe...

Literary the animals stuck their necks inside the car to get a food from your hand ...

first round take 3 hours... from 8.30-11.30
second round ..(yea I take one more :0 because in first we missed a zebras ).. was much slower .. because of the car on the road

also ...courtesy advise ... don't stop on the middle of the road ,,, be polite and pull over so other car still can pass you if they what to...

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2155FossilRim, Public Relations Manager at Fossil Rim Wildlife Center, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
We are so glad you had a great time. Thank you for your response. Thank you for partnering with us in our conservation efforts by visiting the park. You are the reason we are able to do what we do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    97
    21
    3
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
temple
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lots of animals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We went early and was able to see lots of animals. I would like to have seen some elephants roaming but did not. It is a very good drive thru.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2155FossilRim, Public Relations Manager at Fossil Rim Wildlife Center, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
We are so glad you had a great time. Thank you for your response.We are glad you got to see a lot of animals. We actually do not have elephants, so you did not miss them on your trip out here. Thank you for partnering with us in our conservation efforts by visiting the park. You are the reason we are able to do what we do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Take the family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

This was a blast! The animals stuck their necks inside the car and everyone was screaming with excitement. It took about 2.5 hours and it was great. Go early in the morning.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2155FossilRim, Public Relations Manager at Fossil Rim Wildlife Center, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
We are so glad you had a great time. Thank you for your response. Thank you for partnering with us in our conservation efforts by visiting the park. You are the reason we are able to do what we do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pretty place - plenty of animals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

First time to visit a safari that you could drive through. Lots of animals to see. Most would come right up to the window and poke their head in to see what you were doing. Was amazing to be able to feed the giraffes by hand. We were in a SUV with a sun roof, so the kid was able to stand through the roof and feed the animals. The earlier you go the more active the animals are. make sure to go before any type of weather happens because when it rains or cools down, the warm climate animals are rounded up and put away for warmth.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2155FossilRim, Public Relations Manager at Fossil Rim Wildlife Center, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
We are so glad you had a great time. Thank you for your response. Thank you for partnering with us in our conservation efforts by visiting the park. You are the reason we are able to do what we do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawton, Oklahoma
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worth the adventure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Once we arrived in Glen Rose the information office was very accommodating with a map and directions to the local activities. Fossil Rim was easy to find. The property was larger than expected filled with lots of various wildlife. It was exciting to interact and feed the animals. Very worth the time to journey to this destination.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2155FossilRim, Public Relations Manager at Fossil Rim Wildlife Center, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
We are so glad you had a great time. Thank you for your response. Thank you for partnering with us in our conservation efforts by visiting the park. You are the reason we are able to do what we do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fossil Rim Wildlife Center also viewed

 

Been to Fossil Rim Wildlife Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fossil Rim Wildlife Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.