We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been before; will go again; fun time.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fossil Rim Wildlife Center

Fossil Rim Wildlife Center
2299 County Road 2008, Glen Rose, TX 76043
254-897-2960
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Glen Rose
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Group tours/safari
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fossil Rim Wildlife Center is where Africa comes to Texas. Our 1,800-acre preserve holds a 9.5 mile scenic drive where you can interact with over 1,100 rare and endangered animals roaming free in their herds. Stay in your car, reserve your spot on a guided tour, or even spend a night at our Safari Camp or Lodge to see over 50 different species of wild animals including cheetahs, wolves, giraffes, rhinos and more. The delicious food at The Overlook Cafe is paired with an incredible view overlooking the park and our gift shop offers souvenirs to take home to family and friends. While Fossil Rim is sure to provide a unique experience and exciting adventure, we are dedicated to the conservation of species on the brink of extinction. Fossil Rim conducts scientific research, trains professionals, responsibly manages our natural resources and is committed to public education. We are a not-for-profit breeding center dedicated to the recovery of species in the wild and we invite you to join us in our efforts. Grab your camera and head this way for the scenic wildlife drive you won't forget. Located in Glen Rose, Texas, we are just 52 miles SW of Fort Worth and well worth a visit for people of all ages!
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Been before; will go again; fun time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We have been a number of times before but continue to enjoy the Park. We take the drive in our car and buy plenty of food, plus we get there when the gates open and the animals are fresh and hungry. We love the ostrich to stick his head way in the car. Many of the big guys who also put their heads in the car are fum. This time through, the zebras did the same, which I was a little leary because I thought they bite!

We were sorry the giraffes were not loose. Before they were, and that is a great memory.


Unless you want to brush goats, the children's zoo was a disappointment.


Behind the half-way gift shop are a snack shop/cafe with a view and great picnic tables for bringing your own food.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    103
    23
    4
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Take you time to LOOK - you don't know what you may find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This place was FANTASTIC!!! It was a nice drive through the park & if you take your time, it's AMAZING the things you'll see. Many people passed us & truly missed out on some great animal interaction opportunities (specifically with the zebras -- even a couple of baby zebras). We took some great pics & have enjoyed telling of our fun & interesting experiences with the wonderful safari animals. I would TOTALLY visit this place AGAIN & AGAIN!!! It was SUPERB!!!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
529 reviews 529 reviews
135 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Nice Drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I'm glad we took our truck rather than a car and would recommend this. Would suggest getting their first thing so not as hot or crowded and lots of animals out to see and feed. We did get several different animals and many came right up to the truck to get the food. The road is mostly rough and some areas narrow and steep incline/decline. Nice views in some areas and gift shop and petting area up on top half way through. The gift shop is very large. Going up was must faster than coming back because we had a truck in front of us with two young women sitting in the bed of the truck taking photos very close with the animals faces. We do not believe this is allowed but no one seemed to stop them even though a tour vehicle was following them. Then they also had a small boy who was climbing back and forth through the rear window opening of the truck. All of this was very unsafe and they continually stopped for long periods to get him back and forth and to take loads of pictures of same animals and feed every animal. They would not move over so we could pass. So if you go to enjoy this park please be courteous to the people behind you and if you have a space to pull over, do so as some people may need to move on faster than you:)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A Great Family Activity for a Hot Texas Day!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Summers in Dallas can drag on a bit, since the heat can start in May (or, God forbid, April) and last until early November. Swimming can be a nice diversion - or visiting indoor attractions - but after a while, it can be sort of tough to find something to do that you have nod done a million times before. My family was in this frame of mind when we decided to check out the Fossil Rim Wildlife Center in Glen Rose.

What a marvel this place is! It's like going to a zoo from the comfort of your own air-conditioned car! And in a way, I suppose, it is actually the car-bound humans who are on exhibit since the animals are free to roam around the grounds and choose whether or not to amble up to the cars. And then, if they deign to visit your vehicle, choose whether to take just a quick peek or hang around for a spell. Some of the friendlier creatures went so far at to stick their entire heads into the open windows and make themselves at home. There are signs everywhere warning people not to open the door of the vehicle, which I initially thought was for safety reasons, but which I now think is to keep some of the more gregarious beasts from hopping into the car and coming home with the visitors.

There is a wide variety of animals at the center, and the topography is also quite stunning. At the mid-point of the ride, there is also a restaurant and gift shop, which is a perfect spot to stretch your legs and get a snack.

This is a truly unique experience, and I cannot recommend it highly enough!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Took my girls (age 8 & 4) and they had a blast! Be sure to go early or on a cooler day. Buy the bag of feed! Some animals are shy but others are bold! It is fun to watch the kids' expressions when the animals stick their heads in the car to get food! We brought a picnic lunch & ate it at the picnic tables that are about half way thru. I think it took us about 3 hours to go thru including the picnic. The girls were sad that the giraffes were penned up so they couldnt come to the car, but they quickly forgot once more animals came up to the car.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fossil Rim Wildlife Center also viewed

 

Been to Fossil Rim Wildlife Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fossil Rim Wildlife Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.