We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mel's Lonestar Lanes” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mel's Lone Star Lanes

Mel's Lone Star Lanes
1010 N. Austin Avenue, Georgetown, TX 78626
512-930-2200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Activities in Georgetown
Type: Bowling Alleys, Amusement
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: New smoke free 40 lanes of bowling, arcade, party rooms and sports bar are the perfect place for any birthday party, group or family event big or small. Mel's Lone Star Lanes offers automated scoring, bumper bowling, cosmic bowling and an outstanding snack bar. CJ’s Sports Bar & Grill offers lounge seating on the bowling lanes, TV wall, billiards, shuffle board, darts and a full service restaurant for your enjoyment. Free WIFI available.
Georgetown, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Mel's Lonestar Lanes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Have only eaten at the cafe because there is nothing typically better than a bowling alley burger. While the burgers with chili were good, the wait was long and the music was extremely loud and geared toward a rocker crowd. It is Texas, why not play country music? Cafe needs more attention since it is also advertised outside the bowling alley.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    12
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Place for Bowling!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We really enjoy bowling at Mel's. They have good food and drinks, and the whole place is new and clean. We usually go with friends, and we get the basket of chips and salsa, which is a good choice for a group. Mel's is a good place to escape the summer heat!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great bowling/drinks/food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a GREAT time at Mel's a couple of weeks ago! Some friends had been there before, but it was mine and my husband's first time there. What a neat bowling alley! We bowled on the bar side - were able to watch the Aggie football game while bowling - and the seating is so nice! No plastic bowling alley type chairs here - they are nice, cushiony couch-type seats. We will definitely be back!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We went to Mel's for my husband's 21st birthday weekend. We had the pizza, which was OUTSTANDING, and a few Tecate's with lime. The proces were good, the staff was very friendly, and the food menu was awesome. Don't go to dinner before you go bowling here! Definately try some of the food they have to offer! :)

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Team Builder for Work”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The VIP area is very nice and comfortable and the manager was very friendly. They also served us lunch and the food was pretty good, they even had sweet potato fries.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mel's Lone Star Lanes also viewed

 
Georgetown, TX
 

Been to Mel's Lone Star Lanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mel's Lone Star Lanes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.