We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love the hot sauce” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dos Banderas

Dos Banderas
Main Street, Downtown Garland, Garland, TX 75040
972-494-1319
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 298 Restaurants in Garland
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: Unbeatable Tex-Mex in restored building in historic Downtown Garland, TX, just off the historic square. Best Spinach Enchiladas in the world!
Restaurant details
Description: Unbeatable Tex-Mex in restored building in historic Downtown Garland, TX, just off the historic square. Best Spinach Enchiladas in the world!
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“I love the hot sauce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I had the fajitas last night. Wonderful. I have had the cheese enchiladas before and like them. It is the hot sauce that keeps me coming back though. I wish it a little thicker to hold on a chip but I keep asking for refills like it was a beverage. My wife loves the margaritas. Good too see a place busy in old downtown Garland n

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    9
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My wife and I really enjoy going to Dos Banderas for a late lunch. I really like the number 1 with chicken and spinach enchilada and charro beans. Food is always excellent. Read some of the reviews about slow service. It all depends when you go. The noon hour is really busy, so you can expect some delays. We go there often.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
1,779 reviews 1,779 reviews
1,298 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 352 cities Reviews in 352 cities
738 helpful votes 738 helpful votes
“Close to the square in downtown Garland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is a large mexican restaurant just off the square in old downtown Garland. The lunch crowd was large. We were attracted to the downtown due to the number of restaurants with many offering luncheon specials. This one offered several lunch plates for less than $6. Two tamales was less than $5. Good food and good wait service. There were many luncheon diners.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Mexican food lover!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Mom and I shared the loaded nacho's and loved them!
Plenty of ground beef, beans and cheese.
Salsa and warm chips were good.
My request for a fresh diced jalapeno in lieu of the pickled can/jar one’s was honored with nary a scowl.
Nacho's were accompanied by the usual dollop of guacamole and sour cream which was NOT on the huge pile of iceberg lettuce forcing one to eat tons of lettuce with.
If you make a great Nacho; they will come...
Perhaps Nacho's seem a bit trivial to some but if a Mexican restaurant does not make individual Nacho's but pile’s up a plate of chips and throw’s stuff on top like the movies or 7-11 etc.etc.etc. they will not be memorable and one would never return to try Spinach or Beef Enchiladas etc...
Service seemed a bit friendlier near the end of our meal.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good Food & Atmosphere on the Square”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Even though not directly on the Garland Downtown Square, but close enough for walking distance for anyone close to Downtown Garland. Fairly good food & fare. We've tried several dishes on the large menu. Some to our liking and some not. But that goes with any place. Flavors do hint of real mexican heritage here. Not your avg Tex-Mex. Deeper flavors and some interesting combinations lend themselves to some pretty good creations. Comfy, casual & nice location.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dos Banderas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dos Banderas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.