We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow...Fresh Tex Mex” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matt's Rancho Martinez - Garland

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Matt's Rancho Martinez - Garland
5085 N. George Bush Fwy, Garland, TX 75040
972-675-8600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 287 Restaurants in Garland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Southwestern
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Branson, Missouri
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wow...Fresh Tex Mex”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

There are many Mexican food establishments in Dallas/Ft Worth. This was excellent...loved the green enchiladas and chile rellenos...all seemed very fresh and flavorful.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    19
    5
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southern States
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Great Lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Meeting my boss here for lunch on recommendation, we were warmly greated and led to a nicely appointed booth in standard TexMex flair, at least colors subdued! The requisite chips were warm and seasoned, and the fresh salsa loaded with tomatoes, onions, papers and cilantro, a perfect pair. I ordered the cheese enchilada and taco, Speedy Gonzales of course! The enchilada was overflowing with gooey, white Mexican cheese with a warm red enchilada sauce, cumin, garlic, smoked peppers, a nice change from standard red can sauce. My boss got fajitas, and was nicely rewarded with a smoking hot skillet loaded with chicken breast strips, peppers and onions. This was accompanied by warm, homemade tortillas, sour cream, pica de gallo, and a chunky guacamoele that is one of the best. Large chunks of haas avocado mixed with red onions, lemon, spices and fresh cilantro, a best choice. I paid for lunch with a personal credit card, and walked off without it. I did not realize this until the next evening. I have a terrible habit of writing my pins on cards, so this was like a blank check. I called the restaurant, and against all odds, it was returned by my waitress to Management. Unfortunately I do not remember her name, but management should. A delicious lunch in a sea of TexMex.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sachse, Texas, Usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“LOVE THIS PLACE!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We love to go to Matt's whether it just be me, my husband, and my son or with a group of friends! Their food is out of this world AMAZING!!!! The drinks are pretty AMAZING too! One of things that draw me to a mexican food restaurant is the salsa (or hot sauce, whatever you want to call it!)! Well you won't be disappointed with the salsa at Matt's! YUMMO!!!! If you go to Matt's you MUST order the Bob Armstrong! It is the BEST!!!! Sometimes I just order that for my meal! I give Matt's Ranchero TWO THUMBS UP!!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, TX
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Yum!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We love Matt's Rancho Martinez. The one in Lakewood, the one in Allen, and the one in Garland! Matt's has great food, drinks, and service. Every time we bring someone new to Matt's they always love it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hewitt, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Matt's Rancho Martinez - Best Mexican Food!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Matt's Rancho Martinez has it all...great atmosphere, superior service, and the food is outstanding! I've eaten at a lot of Tex-Mex restaurants in Texas, but this is by far superior! The best guacamole I've ever tasted! We will definitely make a point to eat at this restaurant again!!!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matt's Rancho Martinez - Garland also viewed

 

Been to Matt's Rancho Martinez - Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matt's Rancho Martinez - Garland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.