We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6300 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Galveston)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #30 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Plano, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Does its job.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The Victorian Experience was fine. There was nothing particularly special about the resort or the grounds, but the rooms were comfortable and the time we spent in our room was just to shower and sleep. The bed was comfortable and the showers were hot. The walls are very thin, however, so you may hear noises from all your neighbors and vice versa.
The view we had was nice, but if you're unlucky you'll be facing the Wal-Mart which is not as sexy as the beach. The pool was nice and is very kid-friendly. There is also a restaurant onsite, but we did not dine there. The staff was averagely friendly, nothing extraordinary. Overall this is an average hotel but very conveniently located on the Seawall next to some great restaurants and right across from the beach, which is a huge plus. We'd stay here again but not exclusively.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view, otherwise you'll be looking at a parking lot, old homes (and not the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhondaH253, Manager at The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you so much! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Victorian Condo-Hotel. We hope you travel to Galveston again soon and be sure to let us know when you’re coming so we can reserve your favorite room for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    73
    47
    49
    78
See reviews for
151
57
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Doors and windows in the $245 a night condo where rusted shut. The elevator sounded for 3 days as if it were on it's last leg, and then it went out completely. The room was out dated and the air conditioner was impossible to regulate , as it did not even have a cover plate on it. Do not bother telling the front desk about any problem, they will actually argue with you!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhondaH253, Manager at The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
We strive to give the best service possible and to attend to our guests needs as quickly as possible. We have 330 individually owned condos at the Victorian. Of those, approximately 140 units are part of the Hotel side of the property. Since all of our condos are individually owned and decorated, some have full time owners residing. Some owners also rent out their condos (not thru the hotel) either by the owner or through a third party. If you have rented thru the Hotel, we encourage you to call the Hotel Manager to address your issues further. If you rented a unit from a private owner, please contact that booking agent to discuss your complaints. The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort and Conference Center is not responsible for the interior upkeep and cleanliness of non-hotel units. For our hotel guests we offer daily towel and trash service, full housekeeping services every third day, a green initiative, and during your stay encourage every hotel guest to let our staff know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable. We hope you consider staying with us again in the future as a guest of the Hotel so we can prove we are worthy of your business. Let us take care of you on your next visit to Galveston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Hotel was booked because we had a large group in town for a cheer competiton and they could accommodate us. Room was old old old! Like instead of cleaning..let's just paint over the dirt....furniture is from the 70's and the common areas are run down as well.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhondaH253, Manager at The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
We strive to give the best service possible and to attend to our guests needs as quickly as possible. We have 330 individually owned condos at the Victorian. Of those, approximately 140 units are part of the Hotel side of the property. Since all of our condos are individually owned and decorated, some have full time owners residing. Some owners also rent out their condos (not thru the hotel) either by the owner or through a third party. If you have rented thru the Hotel, we encourage you to call the Hotel Manager to address your issues further. If you rented a unit from a private owner, please contact that booking agent to discuss your complaints. The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort and Conference Center is not responsible for the interior upkeep and cleanliness of non-hotel units. For our hotel guests we offer daily towel and trash service, full housekeeping services every third day, a green initiative, and during your stay encourage every hotel guest to let our staff know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable. We hope you consider staying with us again in the future as a guest of the Hotel so we can prove we are worthy of your business. Let us take care of you on your next visit to Galveston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We recently stayed at the Victorian Condo-Hotel - late March - and found a lovely, quiet, spacious room and used the parking/shuttle service to the port for a cruise. Staff was very attentive to my questions. Room was clean, nice decor and very comfortable bed. We especially like the heated pool as the weather was cool and crisp. Spacious balcony with view directly onto the Gulf.

For a family, it's convenient to let the kids have the separate bedroom with TV while adults relaxed in living room. With two children, the kitchen with refirigerator/microwave/stovetop helped keep our eating expenses way down.

Yes, we also had the problem with door key not working and had to return to front desk for replacement. This is NOT unusual with hotels and recently had the same problem with an upscale Marriott in Washington DC.

Overall....great place for family and/or cruise customers.

Room Tip: Ask for room that directly faces pool AND gulf. We were in building 5 with a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhondaH253, Manager at The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you so much! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Victorian Condo-Hotel. We hope you travel to Galveston again soon and be sure to let us know when you’re coming so we can reserve your favorite room for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

My wife and I "Tried to Enter Our Booked Condo" with the Pass Keys the Front Desk gave us,,, and they wouldn't Work. Went back to the Desk, and they sent someone with us to get in. Still Didn't Work. They gave us NEW pass cards, and they didn't work. After over half an hour they decided to give us a New Suite,,, I believe it's the one in these Pictures. Totally Out Dated / Prehistoric ! Not Cleaned since "I don't know When",,, MOLD in quite a few places, DUST BUNNIES, HA! These were "Dust Jack-a-lopes",,, Headboard, Shelves, Baseboards etc. were just COVERED in Filth. Had to spend the Nite in this one, then got moved back into the Suite we were supposed to check into, once they Fixed the Door Locks. Much Better in this Suite. Décor was All Right, and the Cleanliness,,, Passable. The View was a little better to the Gulf Seawall Blvd too.
The Staff at the "Front Desk" was Terrific,,, Any Time of Day or Nite. Had a few "Extended" conversations with a lot of the Girls up Front,,, Sorry to take you away from your JOBS , ladies!! ;-) But the MANAGEMENT needs to know,,, "You've Got The Right Staff" running YOUR SHIP there! What a "Bucket" full of different Accents too! It was Great!!!
After our one week stay, we couldn't stay one more night before our Sunday Cruise, so we had to Check-Out,, and find another means of Accommodations,,,, Which was much Worse,,, especially the Weekend of "National Cheerleading Competitions", Galveston was Full Up.
The Good Features of this Resort,,, Wal-Mart is right Next Door, but the back Driveway Gates of the Victorian are Locked most of the time, so Walking Back with Groceries is quite the Chore (all the Way back to Seawall Blvd.). We found out the HARD way, that you can NOT borrow a Shopping Cart from Wal-Mart, even if you were to Return it. Magnet's on the Wheels of the Cart "LOCK UP" as you approach 1 foot of the boundary of the Parking Lot.
Another Good Feature is Victorian's Gym and Out Door Hot Tub. Thoroughly Enjoyed them,,, Very Clean and Up to date Equipment.
Location, Location, Location,,, they say it's everything ! And it is, on this Spot! Right on Seawall Blvd. on the Gulf of Mexico, with miles of Paved "Track" for all ages to Use and Abuse! Beautiful scenic Sidewalk all along the Coast right into downtown Galveston, (which we used immensely).
Found out the "UTMB",,, the Galveston Hospital is a short drive from the Condo too. Had to use the Emergency Department for an Evening of Fun one night, also. Everything Good to say about that Establishment too !!
Cupboards and Kitchen Cabinets need a definite REPLACEMENT in most of the Suites we have seen at the Vic. Sea air must do some Heavy Duty Rotting to all Wood materials in Texas, hence the Wicker materials.
All in all,,, the Vic gets a 5 out of 10 rating from this Canadian Couple who have frequented many PORT city Condo's.
Will try to do better in Pre-Booking next time around.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are abundant, so pick one closest to the Seawall Blvd. or choose a Different Estab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhondaH253, Manager at The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We strive to give the best service possible and to attend to our guests needs as quickly as possible. We have 330 individually owned condos at the Victorian. Of those, approximately 140 units are part of the Hotel side of the property. Since all of our condos are individually owned and decorated, some have full time owners residing. Some owners also rent out their condos (not thru the hotel) either by the owner or through a third party. If you have rented thru the Hotel, we encourage you to call the Hotel Manager to address your issues further. If you rented a unit from a private owner, please contact that booking agent to discuss your complaints. The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort and Conference Center is not responsible for the interior upkeep and cleanliness of non-hotel units. For our hotel guests we offer daily towel and trash service, full housekeeping services every third day, a green initiative, and during your stay encourage every hotel guest to let our staff know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable. We hope you consider staying with us again in the future as a guest of the Hotel so we can prove we are worthy of your business. Let us take care of you on your next visit to Galveston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This might be a big disappointment if you are expecting a really nice hotel. If you are fortunate to rent from an owner that has totally updated their condo unit, you have a great time! If however, you rent from the hotel itself, it will be aged and in disrepair. It's a patchwork of maintenance...taking the short way out to fix anything. Each individual owner has their own standards. The view is amazing though! You are right on the seawall and most of the rooms face the seawall. It is close to many restaurants and even Walmart.

Room Tip: They have a children's pool and an adult pool. Ask which side they are on and choose depending o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhondaH253, Manager at The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
We strive to give the best service possible and to attend to our guests needs as quickly as possible. We have 330 individually owned condos at the Victorian. Of those, approximately 140 units are part of the Hotel side of the property. Since all of our condos are individually owned and decorated, some have full time owners residing. Some owners also rent out their condos (not thru the hotel) either by the owner or through a third party. If you have rented thru the Hotel, we encourage you to call the Hotel Manager to address your issues further. If you rented a unit from a private owner, please contact that booking agent to discuss your complaints. The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort and Conference Center is not responsible for the interior upkeep and cleanliness of non-hotel units. For our hotel guests we offer daily towel and trash service, full housekeeping services every third day, a green initiative, and during your stay encourage every hotel guest to let our staff know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable. We hope you consider staying with us again in the future as a guest of the Hotel so we can prove we are worthy of your business. Let us take care of you on your next visit to Galveston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colbert, WA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Reserved a week through RCI.
To put it bluntly, the 2 bedroom unit was aged and shabby. The carpet was old and worn, the toilet plugged, the outlet in the bedroom behind the lamp sparked, when I plugged in my computer. When I first got into bed, for a minute, I thought it only had a box spring, since the bed was so hard and the springs formed ridges. The bathroom/shower was the smallest I’d ever seen. Rust and mold were observed. The furnishings appear to be from the 1970s
The staff was very helpful and when I asked for a better room, they allowed me to check out other units. After looking at 4 units, I finally found one that was minimally acceptable for a couple nights, then I checked out early and rented a hotel in Houston.for the rest of my stay.

I've stayed in many RCI resorts. Most were very nice. This resort is in a totally different category and the worst i've ever visited. I'm very disappointed in RCI and question their supposed standards.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before committing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhondaH253, Manager at The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
We strive to give the best service possible and to attend to our guests needs as quickly as possible. We have 330 individually owned condos at the Victorian. Of those, approximately 140 units are part of the Hotel side of the property. Since all of our condos are individually owned and decorated, some have full time owners residing. Some owners also rent out their condos (not thru the hotel) either by the owner or through a third party. If you have rented thru the Hotel, we encourage you to call the Hotel Manager to address your issues further. If you rented a unit from a private owner, please contact that booking agent to discuss your complaints. The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort and Conference Center is not responsible for the interior upkeep and cleanliness of non-hotel units. For our hotel guests we offer daily towel and trash service, full housekeeping services every third day, a green initiative, and during your stay encourage every hotel guest to let our staff know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable. We hope you consider staying with us again in the future as a guest of the Hotel so we can prove we are worthy of your business. Let us take care of you on your next visit to Galveston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center

Address: 6300 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Galveston)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort And Conference Center
Hawthorn Suites Galveston
The Victorian Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hawthorn Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.