We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Hot Water Or Customer Service!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6300 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Galveston)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Houston, Texas
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“No Hot Water Or Customer Service!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We checked in on Tuesday and proceeded to the room assigned to us. We had been told the day before that our room was on the first floor; we were put on the third floor. Not a problem, we had better views.
The staff called around 7ish to check on the room; at that time all seem fine and we said so. We proceeded to cook dinner, and when we began washing up we found that we had NO hot water, at best the water was room temperature. I called to the front desk and was told she would have someone up to look at it.
We left the next morning to go to Schlitterbahn Water Park. Upon return to the condo we went to the pool - very nice and then back to the room to cook dinner - a benefit to staying at this property we thought.
When we found that we still had no hot water I called to the front desk again and said the problem had not been fixed. She offered to send someone and I told her that no it was 845 pm now and I had children to get to bed, and that they had had all day to fix the problem.
When I went to check out the following morning - a Thursday, I explained that I was disappointed and that I thought the $159 per night plus taxes and fees was excessive given the situation. The clerk told me there was nothing he could do. I asked to speak to a manager and was told to wait a minute. I did and another clerk told me they didn't have the authority to adjust the bill and that they had no record of my call from Tuesday and that when I called Wednesday I had refused to let them fix the problem.
I again asked for a manager. While I was waiting for Mr. Stacy I was told by another guest that I should quit my 'witching' and find a reason to be greatful, this diatribe went on, in front of staff who did nothing to stop it, for approxiamately five minutes. There was another lady at the desk, an 'owner' complaining about the quality of her pillow.
At that point Mr. Stacy proceeded to have me stand outside his office while he and the second desk clerk stepped into his office and "read what was in the red book" and then proceeded to talk about me and my situation.
I was told that there was nothing they could do. That essentially I should have made myself available to their repair man, and since I had not the issue was on me.
I was angry, but we left.
Upon retuning home I checked with the bank on my ability to dispute the charges and was told I had 48 to do so.
Friday I called the hotel again and this time spoke with the owner, Mr. LaPort's, assistant. I explained the problem and was told how sorry she was. She then put me on hold and went to speak to Mr. LaPort. She came back on the line and said that Mr. LaPort would have the Hotel Manager Tava (sp?) call me when she returned from vacation on Monday and in the meantime would refund $25.00 per night to my card. I agreed, foolishly.
I did not receive a call on Monday. Honestly - I was not concerned. I figured that Tava had lots to get caught up on after returning from vacation. On Tuesday morning I called and spoke with Tava. I explained who I was and what the problem had been. I even explained that I understood why she hadn't called me back. She proceeded to inform me that she had not intended to call me back becasue Mr. LaPort had told her about the situation in the staff meeting Monday and that the problem was settled. ? I explained that this was not what had been indicated to me and she told me that it was done. She then asked if I needed anything else, quite rudely - clearly not an opening to a dialog. I asked if she would consider increasing the discount - she said no. I said that this would be reflected in my review. She said that was fine.
The property itself was, for lack of a better word, tired. It was clean - though the musty smell was strong at times. But, it is an oceanfront property and I understand the constant damp of seaside living.
The view was decent. We had a room at the rear of the property facing the street as opposed to the pool, but we still had a great view of the Gulf, and the WalMart parking lot, quite popular among fools at night.
For us the location was ideal. We were there to go to Schlitterbahn and it is a five minute max drive. The seawall is right across the street. Grocery stores were close by - as were several fast food options. Sitting out on the balcony in the evening was great - it was quiet, you could here the water at times.
All in all it was fine for what we paid for it - with the exception of the hot water problem, and had the hot water worked or I had been treated more fairly, I would have given it a better rating. On a normal day I would say it is a fair price for what you get, especially when you consider the cost of two rooms at a regular hotel.
I have tried to be fair here. I would go back if not for the 'hot water fiasco', and in this I mean the response from the owner and management. I would have been fine with a $100.00 discount on the $379.50 bill. I think that would have been fair. The $50.00 I have been promised seems like "yeah, yeah go away we don't really care", especially with Tava's disregard added to it.
Would I recomend the property to a friend - yes I would! I would just say check everything when you get there and call quickly with any problem.
Also - The pots and pans provided are NOT nonstick. Bring Pam or something. Also dishsoap, sponge, dishwasher soap (well you get one) are not provided. So plan ahead - paper towels, napkins...all that kind of stuff. Also coffee and coffee filters are a good idea.
Hope this helps someone.

Room Tip: Check everything as soon as you get to the room and report any problem immediately. Also bring your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    69
    43
    47
    74
See reviews for
144
52
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Irving, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had considered staying at one of the regular hotels but, with having older children, we would have needed two rooms. Since the cost was comparable AND we would have a small kitchen to utilize, we chose the Victorian. We were able to have breakfast in the room and could have fixed and eaten other meals if we had wanted to do so. Our room was on the 3rd floor of building 8 facing the ocean and Seawall Blvd. The view was wonderful but I would caution light sleepers from having such as room as noise from the traffic on Seawall Blvd. lasts well into the night. We were also near the trash dumpsters (or maybe it was the dumpsters at the Sonic which was across the street to the east) as early the next morning you could hear them being dumped. Moderate to heavy sleepers will not be bothered by the noise though. Having the condo directly across from the beach and near a street corner where you have a light for crossing to avoid getting run over was convenient and our son and daughter loved the Sonic's location as they were able to easily go across the street to get lunch from the beach. The Victorian also has two swimming pools and spas. We used the pool that was closest to our unit, Waterfall Lagoon, which is big enough to really swim in and was very clean. This pool ranged from 3 foot plus to 5 feet deep. The other pool, which we did not visit, has a design for smaller children. We also did not visit the spas. The pool was a nice way to relax and really swim after being at the beach. Outside showers are available to wash off the beach sand and sea salt before entering the pool to keep it clean. If you have forgotten to bring anything with you, there is also a Walmart conveniently located across the side street behind the Sonic. Overall we found the condo to be clean and well kept with lots of towels available for use, bar soap, a small container of conditioning shampoo, a hair dryer under the sink in one of the bathrooms, a broom and ironing board (don't recall seeing the iron but surely it was there!) in one bedroom closet, and one packet of dishwasher detergent for running the dishwasher prior to leaving. The only thing missing was a set of sheets and pillows for the couch bed (converts to a queen). We probably could have called and asked for them but there were 3 pillows on our bed and she had her blanket with her, so we just made do. If you would need more than one room at a hotel, their price is really good!

Room Tip: Certain rooms have ocean views as they are along Seawall Boulevard but be aware that the street stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

The condos are well located. Not too close to pleasure pier but right across the street from the beach. It wasn't spotlessly clean. It did fit my entire family of 5 comfortably. Shower had good pressure but not the bathroom sink. We had enough towels and linens for all the beds. The pools are great. We a view of the ocean. .. and Wally world. I liked the layout of the room. Just wish it had been a little more updated.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlett, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We usually stay at Casa Del Mar for a low price suite in Galveston. The kids have gotten too big for the bunk beds there, so we tried the Victorian. The suite was larger than the ones at Casa Del Mar. Our first room had a toilet that didnt fill right, the maintenance was there very quickly to fix it, but it malfunctioned again, they fixed it again, but still not right. So we requested they move us to a different room, which they did. We had requested a 3rd floor room because we don't like to hear people walking above us, but the room they had available to move us to was on the 1st floor. We did not hear anyone anywhere around us, to the sides, above, outside, nothing, although people were obviously next to us 'cause their stuff was in the landing. Very good sound insulation. We had a very nice ocean/pool view, which was a free upgrade they gave to us. A large pantry/closet was near the kitchen which was large enough for our food (on shelves) and also to stow our extra suitcase. There was a mini fridge, stove, microwave, coffeemaker, dishwasher. Nice seating area for 4 with a barstool at the kitchen bar also. Not super new or fancy, but we werent looking for a 5 star hotel, we were looking for somewhere inexpensive near the beach to shower and sleep and eat breakfast, which was exactly what we got. The daybed nook area was a big hit with my teenage daughter, plenty big enough for her to sleep and she hung out there reading, too. Also there was room for bags under the daybed, which was handy. The balcony was good for drying our beach stuff and sitting and enjoying the ocean view. The pool looked really cool, but we didn't go, we went to the beach instead.

Room Tip: There are some rooms that do not have an ocean view. We were in building 5 and had a nice one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I had put a three bedroom condo on reserve for my daughter and three of her friends for a weekend of summer fun. I had stayed here back in High school and college (80s and 90's). The check in area had been updated and looked nice. Once we got to the elevator all of the facilities true colors started to appear. The elevator was a mess with coke and chips stuck on the floor. The air conditioning vents on each floor were rusted through and a personal hazard if someone was to grab a vent on accident. We got in the room and the rooms had not been updated in years. The walls had door knob holes and the frames had been put together haphazardly with putty and paint. By 10:20 pm, the kids had settled in when they came out of the room and they had been invaded by flying termites. They brought out a white facecloth with 32 flying termites they collected off the bed. I called the front desk and all they had was one room condos to swap out for us. Im not letting 12 and 13 yr old girls stay in a one bedroom condo by themselves (call me over protective). They cleaned the room and bed and left quickly. Upon checkout they just wanted my cash and I didnt even get an apology when I addressed the problem after Management asked me about my stay. I would NEVER RECOMMEND this to anyone!!. I am a world traveler and have stayed in some crappy places, and this is one of them. For $383.00 / night, it was a complete ripoff!!

Room Tip: We had a Gulf view room, but not worth the headaches!!. Avoid this place!!!. The pictures below ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

They ask for a 2 day minimum, I figured out why once you pass through the front gate you can't turn around, walking to your room wondering why every room has iron bars you finally figure out you in da hood. I will not ever be back I will spend 500 a night elsewhere to make sure I feel safe.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Upon driving up the hotel looks really pretty and exciting. But once you are inside it is nothing special. When we arrived to our room, it was completely in the back of the hotel facing the dumpsters with a view of dirty old mattresses and trash. We could not see the gulf. The room was tolerable. 2 young adults and one middle aged adult were not easily accommodated in this hotel. There was one bedroom and a set of NARROW bunk beds in a wall. I did not have the "luxury" of getting to sleep on the hard bed in the bedroom. I slept on the bottom bunk of the bunkbed in the hall. The "mattresses" were more like thin pads that you might find in a shelter. The entire bunk bed was so cheaply made it felt as if my sister was going to fall from the top bunk on top of me. It was incredibly uncomfortable and I would had rather stayed in my car. The bunks may have been ok for young kids but not an average sized adult. The room was very far from the breakfast room. And the breakfast that was only included for 2 people was crap. We ended up feeding our gross waffles to the seagulls. Our kitchen had spiders in the cabinets. and the bathroom was sub par with dingy towels. I don't plan on staying here again and I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center

Address: 6300 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Galveston)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort And Conference Center
Hawthorn Suites Galveston
The Victorian Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hawthorn Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.