We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE SERVICE, DIRTY ROOM, FILTHY POOL” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6300 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Galveston)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“TERRIBLE SERVICE, DIRTY ROOM, FILTHY POOL”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We visited this hotel last year during high summer season. We reserved 2 suites on the phone and when we got there our reservation was not in the system. We ended up with 2 smaller rooms than what we had wanted. When we complained with the manager she just told us since it was high season, we could take it or leave, there would surely be more customers taking the rooms. The rooms were in good condition, but dirty, the mades were made, but the floors seemed dirty, and a couple of hairs in the bath tub.

The water on the pool was soo cloudy you couldn't see your feet.

it was disgusting. I would never ever return to this hotel. the only reason we stayed was because we already paid our deposit and there were no available rooms in other hotels we looked.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    69
    43
    47
    74
See reviews for
144
52
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I volunteered to chaperone my son and some boys in his class on a trip to Galveston.
We checked in that afternoon and there was not enough towels in the room to accommodate the kids for which they were coming months prior to our arrival. The front desk clerk said that she did not have access to the linen closet and no one else could get in there. Who says that....?
After changing rooms 3 times within the same night, we gave up...
There were roaches in the bed, blood on the pullout sofa mattress, the towels had hair in them, the air conditioner did not work, and blood on the bedspread.
I only wish there was an option to upload pictures to show you what I saw.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I booked this hotel for 56 students who worked hard to earn an end of the year trip. When we pulled up to the property we were so excited because it looked so nice. We loved that we were right across from the beach. When we checked in and began to walk to our rooms we couldn't believe that this was the same place. We were walking down the hall and it literally looked like a prison ward. All of the students commented about this. We then got in our rooms and were extremely disappointed. All of the rooms except one were so outdated and the rooms smelled. After further inspection we noticed so many things wrong. Two rooms had dried blood on the pull out mattress (different rooms). Roaches found in one of the bunk beds. Two broken AC's and it was very muggy that night. Musty smell in pretty much all of the rooms. Also, the people who stayed there were not the most law abiding looking citizens. One of my students took out the sheets from the closet to make their bed and they noticed that on the blanket there were a lot of hairs trapped on the blanket (obviously not washed). Also, we noticed that one of the rooms had a pull out bed that was broken. I will say that the manager was very gracious and refunded us 6 of the 13 rooms we rented and refunded us for the 2nd night for all the rooms. We refused to stay another day!! We tried to not stay that first night but not able to talk to manager until the next morning. This hotel is so horrible, I can't believe that there are so many good reviews. This hotel is absolutely horrible and disgusting!!! Don't waste your money!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My wife and decided to get away from it all for an early anniversary weekend in Galveston and chose to spend a couple nights at The Victorian on the Galveston Seawall. We had a great time and really enjoyed the hotel. We had a great view of the ocean as well as the pool and the size of the room for the price was really great! It's nice to stay in a place that has more to offer than four walls and a bathroom. We had a kitchen area and living room as well as the bedroom and bath. It was like staying in an apartment right on the beach! Also, compared to other hotels in the same area, the rates were much more affordable. We would definitely return to Galveston and The Victorian would be the first choice of hotels for us.

Room Tip: Request ocean or pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayling, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed at the Victorian for our Spring Break. The girls loved the pool and hot tubs...they said it was the best ever. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained with many flowers in bloom.
The Seaside Bistro is conveniently located on the premises and we all enjoyed a wonderful breakfast on our final day. Our Condo was gorgeous and had a lot of personal touches. This property is a great place to stay if you have a family. The staff is very friendly and if you need any help, they are very responsive to your requests. All in all, we would recommend the Victorian for your next stay in Galveston !!!

Room Tip: If you want more room with a large balcony, request a first floor unit. If you want a large, 46 &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, TX
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My family and I stayed here AGAIN for our spring break and we had a wonderful time!! The front desk staff was very helpful and our one-bedroom condo was awesome!! We will definitley be back again next year!!!! Thank you Victorian Galveston!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at The Victorian many times fifteen years ago and had not been back until last weekend. The place is stuck in time. The rooms look exactly the same. The exterior of the property is well kept, and updated with paint. The interior is very clean, but needs updating. There is rust on metal, peeling paint, and a musty smell. The room was very clean, but the outdated look, rust, and smell overshadowed the cleanliness. The bunk beds were fun for the kids. The property has two pools and two hot tubs. One of the pools is heated and the kids loved it. The room was reasonable for a very busy weekend on the island. I would not stay there for more than one night and it would not be my first, or even third, choice. Sonia at the front desk was great. Very helpful, and great customer service.

Room Tip: 1692 - view of Walmart parking lot and some of the gulf
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center

Address: 6300 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Galveston)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort And Conference Center
Hawthorn Suites Galveston
The Victorian Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hawthorn Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.