We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent price for a decent place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6300 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Galveston)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Paris, Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Decent price for a decent place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was a last minute trip over Labor Day weekend. We rented directly from the owner and got a better deal. The room was clean and comfortable but nothing fancy. Our particular room had updated floors, counters, and TV. We were on the outside of the building so the view wasn't great but we could still see the gulf. Each room is different so make sure you see pictures of the room you are renting.

Some of the guests were a little on the rough side and we could smell aromatic smoke coming from a room near the elevator. At the pool, we ran into some rather drunk and loud guests. Their is a separate kiddie pool which didn't seem to have the drinking.

The location was good with beach access directly across the street (there are few places on the beach). The Victorian is close to downtown and all of the activities on the seawall. Issac had just passed so the water was rough and dirty.

Wal-Mart is right there so we bought some food and cooked a little in the room (mostly breakfast) so that saved our $$ for eating out later.

Overall, this was okay but don't expect anything fancy.

Room Tip: Make sure you see photos for the room you are renting as they are all different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda H, Front Office Manager at The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
We appreciate your comments concerning your stay at The Victorian. We hope, however, that you will return and stay in one of our rental pool units. While a private rental may sometimes seem like "a better deal," the owners who place their condos in the rental pool must abide by strict standards set by our management. Guests renting through the rental pool are provided daily towel exchanges, daily trash pick-up and, depending on the length of stay, housekeeping services. Our experienced maintenance staff is also available to these guests. If there is a concern with the condo, the guest can pick up the phone, dial "0," and request help. Not so for the private owner guests.
The Victorian has a strict no-smoking policy. We wish that you had called the Front Desk to report the "aromatic smoke" so that we could have taken action.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    65
    41
    46
    73
See reviews for
142
50
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, TX
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

We know an owner at this condo and have stayed in their room multiple times. The location is great and the pools and hot tubs are nice. The condo we stay in has great furniture and is well kept. The only bad experience we've had is maintenance. We have had issues with our cards opening the door every single time. Normally they come replace a battery or re encode the door and were good for the week. This last weekend they had to come help us out once every day for three days straight, but the condos and staff have always been a nice vac for us.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My family had the pleasure to stay at The Victorian Condo Hotel in Galveston Texas and it was the best 3 nights we have ever had. The staff in the office was great at check in time, explaining everything to us as we checked in and the hotel grounds were well maintained. Our condo which was a 1 bedroom 1 bath condo was excellent. It had a view from the balcony and it was very clean. The kitchen had all we needed and the refrigerator and microwave were very, very useful as we had 4 children with us. The pools were great for our kids and the ocean was very conveniently across the street and so was Wal-Mart. And we cannot forget the washers and dryers which were great for the towels. My husband and I will stay there again next August and would definitely recommend it to everyone. Thank You, Mary/Larry Henley, El Paso, Texas

Room Tip: If you have children, more than 2, for sure stay in a two bedroom. The condo is very spacious and if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda H, Front Office Manager at The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We are extremely pleased that you and your family had such a good experience while at our property. We take pride in our maintenance and housekeeping staffs and the tremendous jobs they perform keeping everything clean and well-maintained. And our location is definitely a plus for everyone!
We look forward to having you back with us again next August!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, TX
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My family and I try to get to Galveston at least once every summer. We always stay at The Victorian and we are never disappointed!! The staff was friendly and helpful and the condo-style hotel rooms are perfect for our family!! The property was clean and the 2 pools are fantastic! My husband even grilled burgers on one of their many outside grills....saved us a little money by not having to eat out every meal, too ;)
My family had a great stay here just a few weeks ago. I HIGHLY reccomend this property for your next beach getaway!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We went on a family weekend trip to galveston I reserved two rooms. The check in time is at 4pm pretty late so we get there at 4pm and one of our rooms was not ready yet. We had to wait about an hour until it was "ready" we get there check everything the room had no towels and no bedding for the sofa bed I try calling the front desk no one is picking up the phone. What really disappointed me was the staff, the people working there are so rude. I do think this hotel is overpriced for the service and the quality the offer. We will never be staying at the Victorian again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda H, Front Office Manager at The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and apologize for any inconvenience you feel you experienced.

Our check-in time is any time after 4:00 p.m. Our top-notch housekeeping staff works diligently to ensure that all of our units are clean and well-stocked at, or as soon after, that time as possible. Our Front Desk is manned 24/7 with friendly, professional staff, and a PBX operator is always on duty. Our goal, as always, is to ensure that each guest has the most enjoyable stay possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eunice, Louisiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Great place to stay! will definately stay again! My family of 4 had a 1 bedroom condo & it was perfect. Clean & plenty of room. would recommend staying here if visiting Galveston! we will be back next summer only to stay at The Victorian again!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wylie, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were very disappointed with our stay in this condo. The room was very old, ugly and outdated. The carpet looks like it hasn't been changed from the 70's. Same with the wallpaper. The bed was horrible and uncomfortable, the couch bed was awful and we were unable sleep on it. We don't get to take vacations but every 3 or 4 years and we saved for a while to be able to take this one. I feel for the money we spent ($435.00 for 2 nights), we should have had at least a bed that was decent. Needless to say, we will NEVER go back to the Victorian. Their website is very deceiving with its pictures of beautiful rooms. Also, the girls at the front desk are very rude and not very helpful. When we checked out I feel like someone should have asked if we enjoyed our stay or "We hope you enjoyed your stay". Not good customer service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center

Address: 6300 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Galveston)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort And Conference Center
Hawthorn Suites Galveston
The Victorian Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hawthorn Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.