We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Galveston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel to your Saves list
The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Ship's Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    273
    90
    36
    26
See reviews for
242
488
40
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Galveston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The beds and pillows were extremely comfortable. I appreciated being upgraded to a suite, which was big enough to get lost in. I wish the rooms had a refrigerator and the hotel didn't file my tax exempt status correctly, but the staff were friendly and did take care of it when I brought it to their attention. Room and bathroom were very clean and it's close proximity to The Strand was great.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We are glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay at The Tremont House. We are pleased that you enjoyed your suite and happy to hear that our staff was able to correct the issue that you mentioned. Please stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Wonderful old style boutique hotel in downtown just off the Strand, with turn of the century charm and architecture. We stayed one night while looking at property on the island; it's one of the few Galveston hotels that will book shorter stays in summer. Off the beach, so it's quiet and less gritty. Old style lobby with smallish bar at one end and jazz trio playing most nights. Rooms are smaller but very clean, quiet, comfortable and well furnished. Walk to the Strand, opera house, and several nice restaurants and bars. Rooftop bar is a nice touch for an evening cocktail We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for the complimentary review on your stay at The Tremont House. We hope you had luck in your property search. Thank you for mentioning our jazz and rooftop bar. We offer live jazz on Friday and Saturday nights and the rooftop is open Tuesday through Saturday, weather permitting. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here for a quick overnight getaway, the lobby and bar were very nice but our room was not the best. Bathroom was older and room service messed up our order. Overlooking an ugly structure that was up for a town event, towered outside our window. Also we had to take a shuttle to the sister hotel in order to enjoy a pool. Over all it was just ok for the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay. We hope that you did enjoy the pool at the Galvez as well as our Rooftop Bar and Toujouse Bar. Our apologies regarding room service. We hope that you will give us another try in the future and request an atrium room so you can enjoy the live jazz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed at The Tremont Hotel in Galveston, Tx. Service was very good and the room was really comfortable. They do not have a pool but run a shuttle to their sister hotel The Galvez, only takes a few minutes to get there. The roof top bar is very nice and you can watch beautiful sunsets. It is centrally located within walking distance to restaurants and the Strand.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your weekend getaway at The Tremont House. And, we are glad that you had the chance to enjoy our Rooftop Bar. It is open Tuesday through Saturday, weather permitting. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised to find my boss had booked us at this nice of a hotel for a one-night business trip. He must have gotten a decent deal...

Pros: The room. Oh my, the adorable room. I was just enamored with the decor - just enough historical charm mixed with the expected modern conveniences. The bed was clean and super comfy. The bathroom was spotless. Wi-fi is free (as it should be) and fast. There was an open electrical outlet just above the nightstand for me to plug in my phone and laptop (when I was working). It's a huge pet peeve of mine when hotels don't have enough easily accessible outlets in this day and age. Honestly there isn't much more I could ask for in a hotel room. That said...

Cons: The reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 - The toilet in the bathroom ran very loudly about once every couple of hours in the night and woke me up. For one night it wasn't worth complaining, but if I had been staying longer I would've needed that fixed. Also, the AC unit was pretty loud when it kicked on. I imagine this has something to do with the older building. When we arrived at the hotel by car, we were coming from the wrong direction for the valet. The valet politely informed us we needed to be on the other side of the street, but it would've been helpful to have a sign or something to let us know that ahead of time. Lastly, the water pressure in the shower left a lot to be desired.

All in all it was a nice stay and I would stay again if affordable and ever found myself in Galveston.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We appreciate the feedback on your stay at The Tremont House. We hope that you'll have more time to enjoy the area and the hotel on your next visit. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your room and the conveniences that you mentioned. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The hotel staff met every need. My first room had a large electric pole situated outside the window. The staff changed it at our request without any problem.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your "trip to Galveston" and service at The Tremont House. We hope that you will stay with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2300 Ship's Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Galveston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#2 Family Hotel in Galveston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is situated in the heart of the Strand Historic District. The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is located near many attractions such as The Bishop's Palace and Texas Seaport Museum. Taxis and rental cars offer travelers easy access to Galveston points of interest as well as to the airport. All rooms feature hardwood floors, 32" flat-screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Choose from queen or king size beds. Our Galveston hotel provides dinning options that are fresh, distinctive and delicious. On-site is the Tremont Café, which features Starbucks® coffee, pastries, a pizza oven, gourmet sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. The Café serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as provide items for room service. Guests will find ample shopping and dining near the Tremont House Hotel Galveston. The hotel also offers a pool as well as access to the nearby Galveston Health and Racquet Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Hotel
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.