We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would love to stay again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel to your Saves list
The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Ship's Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Would love to stay again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Got a really good deal off Priceline for staying at this hotel. We were really impressed by the old charm character, but clearly remodeled after Hurricane Ike. Stayed on the first floor. Only complaint was that it was across from elevator. But other than that, this was as good as a bed and breakfast character but at a hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay near elevator lobby due to wooden floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for your review on your stay at The Tremont House. We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    726
    276
    93
    37
    29
See reviews for
252
515
40
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Galveston
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

When I turned the bed down, there were spots on the sheets. I wasn't sure if they were just stained but I called down to ask for them to change the sheets. I didn't expect to have to change them myself but I did after they just dropped them off. Later on, I noticed the same spots on the corner of one of the pillows. Now I know they were not changed before I arrived because all the spots were in the same section of the bed. This was not a cheap hotel. I expect clean sheets.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Please accept our sincere apologies regarding the issues that you mentioned in your review. Our housekeeping staff is typically very attentive so we will make sure that the appropriate manager is aware. Again, our sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed at the Tremont House for only one night before leaving on a cruise. We really wish we could have stayed again when we returned. The hotel is beautiful. The staff was great. Our room was perfect! We had our two sons (12 & 16) and the room had two beds and a pull out couch and we still had room to move.

The hotel is a block off the strand which is a nice street to walk, with plenty of shops and places to eat/drink.

The hotel was in an ideal location for the cruise, we walked out of the lobby, around the building, and about three blocks and we were at the cruise terminal.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
We appreciate your glowing review on your stay at The Tremont House. We hope that you and your family enjoyed your cruise and we look forward to your extended stay next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Remember, this is a historic hotel and will probably have a light bulb out or switch that doesn't work right. It is a beautiful property and the remodel of the restrooms are great. Central to all things The Strand and would love to stay longer next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at The Tremont House. The hotel is located in a former dry goods concern that dates to 1879. We hope that you will look for our new history exhibit on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2300 Ship's Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#1 Business Hotel in Galveston
#2 Family Hotel in Galveston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is situated in the heart of the Strand Historic District. The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is located near many attractions such as The Bishop's Palace and Texas Seaport Museum. Taxis and rental cars offer travelers easy access to Galveston points of interest as well as to the airport. All rooms feature hardwood floors, 32" flat-screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Choose from queen or king size beds. Our Galveston hotel provides dinning options that are fresh, distinctive and delicious. On-site is the Tremont Café, which features Starbucks® coffee, pastries, a pizza oven, gourmet sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. The Café serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as provide items for room service. Guests will find ample shopping and dining near the Tremont House Hotel Galveston. The hotel also offers a pool as well as access to the nearby Galveston Health and Racquet Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Hotel
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.