We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel to your Saves list
The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Ship's Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    273
    90
    36
    26
See reviews for
242
488
40
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Joinville, SC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The hotel is what you expect from a Wyndham Grand Hotel, beautiful, clean and organized. Everything was perfect for our arrival without any problem. But the hotel is located away from the beach, the only sea view is facing some docks and it is not pretty. The city center is historic and pleasant, but not very busy. The hotel has no restaurant, only a snack bar and a bar, which is somewhat unsatisfactory. We dined at a nearby restaurant, but it was the only one in the region and quite simple. The breakfast is excellent, but it works a la carte, which can be a little frustrating if the number of guests is very large. Parking is expensive, around $ 20, and is on a plot adjacent to the hotel, even better to park on the street. The staff is efficient but not friendly or sympathetic.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your review on your stay at The Tremont House. As you mentioned, Tremont Cafe offers casual dining and is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. While The Tremont House is a mile from the beachfront, it is located in the heart of The Strand Historic District and near Pier 21 and Postoffice Arts and Entertainment District which is home to a great variety of restaurants. I'm sorry that our staff didn't provide better guidance in finding a restaurant. We hope that you'll come back and try one of the many locally owned restaurants that are within walking distance of the hotel. Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had to get a room last minute on a weekend late at night. We also had our dog and she was slightly over their pet weight limit maximum. Regardless of the odds being against us - they were able to get us a handicap room and allowed us to bring our dog. We slept well and had a lovely breakfast at the hotels restaurant. The only thing that could use improvement is the communication from the front desk to the bell-hop. We called down to get our luggage several times. I went downstairs to get the car and get our dog all loaded up in the vehicle and waited downstairs for at least 15 minutes even after informing the people that we had called up and needed someone. They apparently were never told and my husband came down with all our bags on his person: He said the woman at the front desk didn't even look at him. Not sure what happened there but they weren't busy and there wasn't any other excuse other than the people at the front desk did not get the message out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your stay. We're happy that we were able to get you a room at the last minute. Thank you for sharing the issues that you mentioned, we'll make sure that the appropriate managers are aware. We hope that you'll give us another try and we'll promise to make sure that valet takes care of your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My S.O. planned (on his own!) a weekend in Galveston so I knew something was afoot. We checked into the Tremont and commiserated Mr. Mitchell's passing at the jumping bar and sprightly pianist arena, which was packed, by the way. Our suite was in another section of the hotel. Amazing to walk into and see the grandeur of yesterday. We had a dining/living room, bar and kitchenette, 1/2 bath (roomy) tons of closets, a huge master bedroom and generous bath. We have stayed there many times before and done the Mardi Gras Ball events, etc., but I never saw a room this nice - except for the human footprint on the marble tile in the bathroom and a few other cleanliness faux pas. The surprise was Randy Newman's concert at the Grand - love him! Check out the rooftop bar for Brazilian music and fab views. Great Eggs Benedict room service. Please hire more servers in the bars - the place is jumping !

Room Tip: Our suite was actually two adjoining rooms in the corner. Watch the louvered blinds: the maids tur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for the glowing review on your stay at The Tremont House. It sounds like you had a fabulous weekend. We hope that you enjoyed Randy Newman's performance at The Grand 1894 Opera House. Thanks for letting us know about the little issues that you mentioned too. We look forward to your next stay.

By the way, the 30th Annual Mardi Gras Ball is Saturday, March 1 and the theme is "Pearls and Prohibition." We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Lovely clean hotel near The Strand. One person room was nice, bed & pillows were plush. Very small room & bath, with bad lighting. Hard for a lady to do her makeup & hair with no desk or chair and to put in the bathroom. I do like my creature comforts!

Room Tip: Ask for an outside room so you can have more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank for the feedback on your stay. I'm sorry that you had an issue with the lighting. We appreciate your insight and hope that you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2300 Ship's Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Galveston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#2 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is situated in the heart of the Strand Historic District. The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is located near many attractions such as The Bishop's Palace and Texas Seaport Museum. Taxis and rental cars offer travelers easy access to Galveston points of interest as well as to the airport. All rooms feature hardwood floors, 32" flat-screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Choose from queen or king size beds. Our Galveston hotel provides dinning options that are fresh, distinctive and delicious. On-site is the Tremont Café, which features Starbucks® coffee, pastries, a pizza oven, gourmet sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. The Café serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as provide items for room service. Guests will find ample shopping and dining near the Tremont House Hotel Galveston. The hotel also offers a pool as well as access to the nearby Galveston Health and Racquet Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Hotel
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.