We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front desk staff was very personable. Called me by name...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel to your Saves list
The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Ship's Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    726
    276
    93
    37
    29
See reviews for
252
515
40
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Each year we stay at the Tremont Hotel and every time we are extremely happy with the experience. Our room again this year was clean and very comfortable with high ceilings. We have learned to book between Thurs - Sun because this is when the rooftop bar is open. The rooftop bar always has a breeze and it's nice to see the view on top. The staff was very friendly and we also had use of the Galvez' pool which we could drive to or take the Tremont shuttle. We will be visiting again next year! Also, it was nice that they had free wi-fi!

Room Tip: We always ask for an outside facing room. Otherwise you might get one facing the lobby. All rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your loyalty to The Tremont House. We are pleased that you plan your visit around The Rooftop Bar and that you also took advantage of access to the pool at Hotel Galvez & Spa. We hope that you will try the new Galvez Bar & Grill during your next visit. Please stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here recently on a Friday night. Very nice exterior, elegant lobby, historic feel. Check-in went smoothly. Staff was pleasant and helpful.

Had king size "pure air" room on second floor facing Ship's Mechanic Row street. Room was large with eclectic furnishings. Bed was comfortable with many pillows. Hardwood floor underfoot. That was the best part. Now, the not-so-best part. Desk lamp was unplugged because it didn't work when plugged in. Veil curtains were not sufficient to block out bright sign right outside. Regular, light-blocking curtains were obviously not intended to be closed and it took awhile to figure out how to unhook them. Single pane windows allowed in significant amount of street noise. TV worked well but only received about half of the channels the room guide said were available. Digital thermostat had a mind of it's own and eventually drifted back to it's higher, uncomfortable temperature. This made for a long night having to get up and lower temp again. Room never felt like the humidity was being reduced and in Galveston, that's a must. A/C fan setting was loud, louder or roaring. No little fridge that I could find.

Bathroom tile on wall was a visual assault to the eyes. Modern pattern was out of context with the rest of the hotel. Several floor tiles were chipped and needed replacing. Toilet flushed itself every half hour or so. Tub/Shower seemed fairly plain considering how swanky the Tremont poses to be. There were however, plenty of soft towels and lots of hot water.

Room service was prompt, still warm and tasty. However, required $2.50 delivery charge + 20% gratuity seemed a little steep. Crab cakes were good and bread pudding was traditional, Southern style. Easy to mess up but they nailed it. Little card on tray admonished guests to call for tray pickup. Okay, so I called and they told me to put it outside in the hallway and it would be picked up. It was still there when I returned 4 hours later, after midnight.

Check out went smoothly. Valet service was prompt.

The problem here is that this could have been a better experience and should have been considering the price. In this price range, the big and little annoyances should have been taken care of long before I walked in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is opposite entrance side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
I'm so sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at the hotel. Thank you for sharing your feedback on the room. Your comments are very helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royse City, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

What I loved about this hotel:

1. Great service
2. Valet was speedy
3. Beds and pillows were comfortable
5. Room service did not disappoint
6. The bread pudding is to die for
7. Loved the decor of the hotel
8. Room felt very cozy and homey

I have no complaints to report. After I checked in, I received a phone call from the front desk asking how everything was. It really seems that they care about their hotel and guests. I cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for the glowing review on your stay at The Tremont House. We appreciate that you loved the hotel and the service. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2300 Ship's Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#1 Business Hotel in Galveston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#2 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is situated in the heart of the Strand Historic District. The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is located near many attractions such as The Bishop's Palace and Texas Seaport Museum. Taxis and rental cars offer travelers easy access to Galveston points of interest as well as to the airport. All rooms feature hardwood floors, 32" flat-screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Choose from queen or king size beds. Our Galveston hotel provides dinning options that are fresh, distinctive and delicious. On-site is the Tremont Café, which features Starbucks® coffee, pastries, a pizza oven, gourmet sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. The Café serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as provide items for room service. Guests will find ample shopping and dining near the Tremont House Hotel Galveston. The hotel also offers a pool as well as access to the nearby Galveston Health and Racquet Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Hotel
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.