We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and elegant with excellent service. Located in heart...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Ship's Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #2 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Write a Review

1,027 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    633
    251
    86
    33
    24
See reviews for
230
438
35
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southeast Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is an update from previous review, and the Tremont House is still the place to stay in Galveston. We went for a quick trip to celebrate my wife's birthday. Booked the room through the AARP Expedia site. The room was quiet, cool and comfortable. We got a late night brownie and ice cream from the restaurant by the lobby to take up to our room. But the real surprise came when we got home and found we still had one of the keys to the room. Okay, now we've all stayed at places that charge a fee if you forget to turn in the key. So I called the hotel told them of my discovery and double checked the address so I could mail the key back to them. The girl at the front desk verified that I had the right address but then added, "There's no charge for the key...just keep it till you come back." Service at the Tremont is wonderful--before, during, and after your stay. We'll be back.

Room Tip: If possible, ask to stay on the 3rd or 4th floor if you are a light sleeper--and try not to stay ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your positive review on your stay to The Tremont House. We are happy that you chose our hotel to celebrate your wife's birthday. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

An excellent hotel in an excellent location. We were determined not to do any driving this holiday and we found The Tremont to be perfectly placed for exploring Galveston by foot, and the very occasional taxi. Local shops and restaurants are just round the corner but beware, most shops do not open until after 10:00, they say they open at 10:00 but they don't really mean it. If you don't want to breakfast in the hotel try The Sunflower Bakery & Cafe at the corner of Postoffice and 14th, a nice morning walk away.

The best map we found of Galveston was free from Cool Tours on Seawall Blvd. near the Pleasure Pier. The tour guide was great, we were soaking wet with the rain and she gave us blankets and towels and then dropped us back at our hotel after the tour.

The hotel staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. They arranged transport for us to our next hotel at Houston International Airport that was cheaper than the taxi we used to get there from Downtown Houston. I suspect this may only be possible if there is a cruise ship in dock.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the front street are very quiet. I cannot speak for the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your positive review on your stay at The Tremont House. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed the how walkable the hotel is to nearby attractions, shopping and dining. The hotel also offers a courtesy shuttle to our sister hotel - Hotel Galvez which is located on the beachfront near the Galveston Island Historic Pleasure Pier. During your next visit, you should see a show at The Grand 1894 Opera House which is just four blocks from the hotel. Travel tip: The Grand just announced its summer season. Happy Travels and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Texas, Usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Our son and daughter-in-law chose the Tremont for their wedding and reception. Family and friends traveled miles for the special event. Intialing we were told the hotel did not have the type of handicap room needed for the grandparents of the groom so we made other arrangements. Upon arrival for check-in our other son was placed in an exact handicap room we were told did not exist.We then requested from the hotel if they could switch rooms around so that we could share a room with our son in a double and give his room to the grandparents but we were told no; not even attempt to accomidate andt in fact told us they had overbooked. Well then when the bride arrives, the hotel does not have a room for her. So her mother had to move to the the Galvez. We then gave our room to our son; the grandparents moved into the handicap room and we (parents of the groom) had to find a room at the Hampton Inn. For an event that was to be so special; the Tremont was not even apologetic for the unorginized handling of reservations.

The wedding turned out beautiful anyway. But I will never recommend this hotel for anything.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at The Tremont House. I'm very sorry for any inconvenience that you experienced regarding your room reservations. I will make sure that the general manager is aware of your comments. Again, please accept my apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2300 Ship's Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#2 Family Hotel in Galveston
#2 Business Hotel in Galveston
#4 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is situated in the heart of the Strand Historic District. The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is located near many attractions such as The Bishop's Palace and Texas Seaport Museum. Taxis and rental cars offer travelers easy access to Galveston points of interest as well as to the airport. All rooms feature hardwood floors, 32" flat-screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Choose from queen or king size beds. Our Galveston hotel provides dinning options that are fresh, distinctive and delicious. On-site is the Tremont Café, which features Starbucks® coffee, pastries, a pizza oven, gourmet sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. The Café serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as provide items for room service. Guests will find ample shopping and dining near the Tremont House Hotel Galveston. The hotel also offers a pool as well as access to the nearby Galveston Health and Racquet Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Hotel
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.