We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the room and the decor. I left my makeup bag on th...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel to your Saves list
The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Ship's Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    276
    93
    37
    29
See reviews for
253
515
40
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

You can feel the history as soon as you enter the grand old hotel! Very comfortable, quiet & clean. The staff was excellent. It was close to every thing that we wanted to do.
My wife & I loved it, can't wait go back! Everything was clean and neat.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your positive review on The Tremont House and our staff. We are thrilled that you and your wife enjoyed the hotel. Please stay with us again soon. This is the time of year when Galveston offers events nearly every weekend and many are held in the Historic Strand District.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed at Tremont Wyndam after cruise but spent the day at pool and spa at their sister hotel, the Galvez.. Kids spent the day on the beach. Stayed here because of location. My daughter was disappointed as we did not see the ghosts that we read about online! ; )

Room Tip: Would stay here again Tremont has shuttle service to Galvez, Beach and cruise ships here on the hour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your review on The Tremont House. As you mentioned, Tremont House guests have access to our sister hotel - Hotel Galvez & Spa. We also offer a courtesy shuttle. It is great to read that you enjoyed the pool and the beach. And sorry but we don't have control on the ghosts. Please stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos Hills, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It's hard to find a decent place to stay in Galveston. There are those big chain hotels on the island along with the small seedy ones. So when I went to visit family after their recent relocation I wanted something with the remnant of what the island used to be before it became the redneck riviera.

The best thing about the Tremont is its history. The bar on the lobby level is also nice. My room had a window, covered only with a sheer curtain, that looked into the main lobby. Not only did it let in light and noise but I had to change in the bathroom for privacy. It was also extremely noisy. There seems to be no sound insulation and it sounded like the wedding party that celebrated into the wee hours was in the room with me.

Most of the employees were friendly and helpful but had limited information on what to recommend. The so-called hotel cafe is the kind of Starbucks you find in Barnes and Nobles bookstores.

If you have smart phone, you can locate locally owned restaurants, cafes, a used bookstore and a few other interesting points to the area. It seems that the employees of the Tremont are familiar only with the chain restaurants and stores that have destroyed the erstwhile ambience that was Galveston.

I won't stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your insight on your stay at The Tremont House. We are very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. As you mentioned The Tremont House is located in the heart of The Strand Historic District. Some restaurants that you may want to add to your list in case you visit again include Luigi's, Yaga's Cafe, Mediterranean Chef (one block over); Nonno Tony's, and Olympia Grill (at Pier 21); and Star Drug Store, Gumbo Bar, SkyBar, Rudy & Paco's, Saltwater Grill (all on Postoffice). All the restaurants that are mentioned are locally owned and operated. There are others as well. Some nearby chains for people who prefer familiar restaurants include Willie G's, Fuddruckers and Joe's Crab Shack. We'll work with our staff to make sure that they are more informed about what's available nearby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Booked a suite for three women planning on one sleeping on the sleeper sofa for $429 ($500 plus with tax) for a Thursday night. After going out for dinner and drinks, we got back only to find no sheets for the sleeper sofa. Called and waited for sheets. Don't most people use a top and a bottom sheet? They only brought one and it even had holes in it! Yes, we took a photo! Waited and finally got a second sheet. Then we realized there were only two bath towels... Are times so tough you A) can't keep sheets in the room for the sleeper sofa and preferably on the sleeper sofa especially when the suite is booked for three people, B) can't have sheets without holes if I have to make my own bed, and C) can't have at least three towels in a suite? The employees were great though! So try to plan ahead and request how many sheets and towels you would like ahead of time! Oh, yeah, emailed them Thursday night and haven't received a return email or phone call as of Saturday night! But this is one of the best hotels on the island!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at The Tremont House. Please accept my apologies regarding the issue with the pull-out bed. Typically, the extra sheets for the pull-out sofa are stored in the armoire rather than on the bed. I apologize that this wasn't the case. In the future, you can put a call into the front desk and request that the bedding be put on the bed while you are at dinner. I will share your comments with the front desk staff so they are aware. We hope that you give us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2300 Ship's Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#1 Business Hotel in Galveston
#2 Family Hotel in Galveston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#4 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is situated in the heart of the Strand Historic District. The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is located near many attractions such as The Bishop's Palace and Texas Seaport Museum. Taxis and rental cars offer travelers easy access to Galveston points of interest as well as to the airport. All rooms feature hardwood floors, 32" flat-screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Choose from queen or king size beds. Our Galveston hotel provides dinning options that are fresh, distinctive and delicious. On-site is the Tremont Café, which features Starbucks® coffee, pastries, a pizza oven, gourmet sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. The Café serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as provide items for room service. Guests will find ample shopping and dining near the Tremont House Hotel Galveston. The hotel also offers a pool as well as access to the nearby Galveston Health and Racquet Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Hotel
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.