We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it is” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Ship's Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #2 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Write a Review

1,033 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    637
    252
    87
    33
    24
See reviews for
230
442
35
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I attended a class in Texas City for work and decided to stay at the Tremont House. I chose this hotel based on it's reviews, hotel photos, and location near the Strand.

I found the hotel to be very clean and beautiful. l loved the vaulted ceilings. The furnishings and decor were upscale and elegant.

The location itself wasn't very exciting. The Strand wasn't quite as thriving as I expected but I did enjoy some of the nearby restaurants (namely Rudy and Paco as well as the Sky Bar Steak and Sushi.)

I have stayed in Galveston once before in the Hilton Island Resort. I did prefer staying on the Seawall but found the Tremont House to be a much nicer hotel. My husband visited the Galvez, the Tremont's sister resort, and I think we might try that resort the next time business brings us to Galveston.

Overall, I was pleased with the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review on your stay at The Tremont House. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel. The Strand District can be quiet during the week but on weekends there a lot of free events to enjoy including ArtWalk, Movie Nite and Music Nite. The Tremont House is also within walking distance to The Grand 1894 Opera House. We hope that you will stay with us again or experience our sister hotel, Hotel Galvez..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We have been trying to sleep for the last 2 hours (it's midnight now), but it's impossible because of the blaring music. I think it's coming from the roof, but I can't be sure. If you want to sleep, DO NOT stay here!!!!! We paid almost $500 to stay here on Valentines.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Please accept my apologies that your stay did not meet your expectations. The Rooftop Bar is open from 5 p.m. to midnight Wednesday through Saturday. While, I'm not sure if you were on the fourth floor, please know that you can always contact the front desk with any concerns with your room. We hope that you give us another chance in the future and try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is the second year I've don the Big Mardi Gras Party at the Tremont, and so glad I got a room there. The hotel's common areas are far smaller than their sister property (Galvez) but perfectly adequate. The rooms are nice and the bed very comfy. The only critic I would have is the shower head is pretty low on the wall, if you're tall it would be fairly comical. Staff are extremely nice, in particular the chef who came out to greet people during the awesome buffet. I really like this place and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for joining us again for The Tremont House Ball. We are thrilled that you enjoyed it. You mentioned our Executive Chef Michael Jacobson in your comments. He was named our executive chef in December and we are thrilled to have him as part of our team. Mark your calendar for next year! The 30th Annual Tremont House Ball is on Saturday, March 1, 2014. Our weekend package should go live for reservations approximately six months in advance. Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Tremont hotel, Galveston
Here I am, in my room at the Tremont, sitting in a very comfy bed, with fluffy pillows supporting me. Ahhhh, very nice! We are here for the weekend, to celebrate mardi gras Galveston style, mostly to attend the balk on Saturday night, but also to enjoy the festivities. We bought a package which includes the room, access to mardi gras on the strand, the ball Saturday night with balcony parade viewing and breakfast Sunday morning.
Valets parking is included and due to the closed roads, we find the valet stand down the road from the hotel, just being set up at 5pm when we arrive. Check in is easy, the front desk is easy access, people very polite and welcoming, we receive our packet including beads and tickets for the ball. The lobby is a small area with one side the bar and the opposite end a small restaurant. At our arrival people are already filling the area, dressed in various mardi gra garb. There is always a door man to greet us.
Our room is on the second floor and is an inner room, which means we have a Juliet balcony overlooking the lobby. When we open the balcony doors, we can view down to the lobby and hear the jazz band playing, nice background music for us. The room itself is quite large, two queen beds, two comfy chairs and a sofa. Small desk, large closet and a coffee maker. The bathroom is large and the best part is the towel warmer, which keeps even your Jammie's warm when placed on it!! So neat! Nice toiletries, a regular tub with shower. Tall ceilings and calming prints with striped walls, all very nicely done. The entire hotel speaks of another era when comfort was a key.
Ordered room service this am for a pot of coffee, only took about 10 mins and it was here. Enjoyed our coffee while in bed, ahhhhh.
The bathroom is well equipped but older, the tub is tired looking and has marks, the shower head is low (ok for my height of 5.3' but if you're taller...). Spray works well but touchy to adjust water temps. Lots of stripes throughout the room, can make you feel dizzy, don't stare!
With our room overlooking the cafe area, we get smells of the kitchen which is a downside as obviously whe the fryers are going, the room starts smelling like fried chicken, which is not a bad smell...but who wants they're clothing smelling like this?
Breakfast this a.m. In the cafe, we barely made it in the door before it was closed. Put in our order of fruit plate and panini, took 25 mins before our food arrived. Starbucks is served and only one cup per order....
Staff so Far has been very friendly, no gluten free menu or suggestions.
The main reason we have come to the Tremont this time is to celebrate Galvestons mardi gras, we are part of a package that includes entry to all the outside parades, etc. private viewing of the strand parades, entry into the ball which takes place at the Tremont and breakfast the following morning. So after check in on Friday and enjoying ourselves watching parades and being part of the merriment, we enjoy a leisurely start to Saturday, then venture out for more parades, which start about noon. We choose a seat outside at one resurant on the strand, yagas (again no GF menu) but it is good viewing for the parade and live music outside in the park. Lots of people and after lunch we join others to listen to a good band. Since we plan to stay up late at the ball, we head back to our room for a quick nap, very convenient with the hotel being a block from the strand! Then it is time for getting all dressed up for the ball! Staff has been working hard all day with bringing in all the decor for the ball. It is country themed and there are large silhouettes of cowboys and table decor made for hats, piles of hay with bandanas outside for sitting on and viewing. They really go all out. Strolling food trays and speciality drinks are passed out upon arrival, full bar, a lavish buffet with lots if shrimp, meat carvings, and the dessert bar is fab. A jazz band brought over from New Orleans plays on the hotel lobby, and after dining we walk outside to view the parade before walking across the street to the grand ballroom for dancing with a love band. Lots of fun and everyone is happy and dancing. The evening ends with a breakfast buffet starting at 11 pm, lots of food and fun!
Check out the following day is very easy. We call the valet to advise our timing and our car is waiting for us at the curb. Good bye Galveston and the Tremont, see ya real soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the cafe to avoid smells and noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a descriptive narrative on your stay with us during Mardi Gras. We are absolutely thrilled that you experienced Mardi Gras - Galveston style and Tremont House style. The weekend package that you enjoyed offers a great value with ball tickets, accommodations, valet and breakfast on Sunday. We also hope that you enjoyed our custom Mardi Gras beads and turn down gifts. The Tremont House really does put you in the heart of the Mardi Gras festivities making it both convenient and fun. Mark your calendar for next year - the 30th Annual Tremont House Mardi Gras Ball is Saturday, March 1, 2014. We hope that you will join us again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Truly a piece of history, beautiful structure. When you walk into your room with what may be 14 foot tall ceilings with windows from top to bottom it truly is majestic. Classy rooms, bar and public areas are done very well. Large palms in the lobby set the tropical feel. Fast and efficient valet service, convenient location a block off the strand and a really nice breakfast lounge serving starbucks in the morning. Just about everything a business traveler needs to start the day off properly. Have spent a great deal of time in Galveston, but this was my first time staying off the seawall and in the strand. Really nice stay, and will certainly look to the Tremont upon my return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your stay at The Tremont House. We appreciate your positive comments regarding the decor and service as well as The Tremont Cafe. We do our best to cater to the business traveler as well as leisure traveler which is why we offer complimentary Wi-Fi in the Tremont Cafe, lobby and guest rooms. The TV-PCs in the Cafe are also convenient for a quick check on email or Facebook. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2300 Ship's Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#2 Business Hotel in Galveston
#2 Family Hotel in Galveston
#4 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is situated in the heart of the Strand Historic District. The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is located near many attractions such as The Bishop's Palace and Texas Seaport Museum. Taxis and rental cars offer travelers easy access to Galveston points of interest as well as to the airport. All rooms feature hardwood floors, 32" flat-screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Choose from queen or king size beds. Our Galveston hotel provides dinning options that are fresh, distinctive and delicious. On-site is the Tremont Café, which features Starbucks® coffee, pastries, a pizza oven, gourmet sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. The Café serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as provide items for room service. Guests will find ample shopping and dining near the Tremont House Hotel Galveston. The hotel also offers a pool as well as access to the nearby Galveston Health and Racquet Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Hotel
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.