We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect winter getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel to your Saves list
The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Ship's Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Marshall, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“The perfect winter getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We went to Galveston to "put our feet up" for a few days in January. Since my wife had never stayed at the Tremont House, we made reservations there. We knew it would be a slow time for them but were surprised that there were almost no tourists - it was too early for Mardi Gras celebrants and too cool for the beach crowd, so we never had to stand in line for anything. The hotel is in walking distance from lots of neat shops and the waterfront with good restaurants and many things to see. The weather was lovely, about 70 degrees in the afternoons. The hotel and the neighborhood were so quiet we could sleep as late as we wanted and never hear anything. Our room was a lovely 2-room corner suite with two large TVs, a dining table, and a couch that was a little worn out. The bedroom was very roomy and light, with 10-foot ceilings. The bathroom was also very large and was clean, though not quite as sparkly clean as you want in a hotel. (The fixtures and countertops are getting old and don't shine up like they once did.) There was a great view from our windows and we could enjoy the beautiful sunsets. The staff, from the doormen to the waiters and maids, to the front desk personnel, were extremely friendly, welcoming, and very helpful. Except, that is, for the front-desk person named Ashley, who is a very bossy, grouchy, and unfriendly bureaucrat who desperately needs some customer-service training. Our bed was extremely comfortable, with plenty of comfortable pillows. There were very nice soaps and shampoos and plenty of big, nice towels. The price was more than fair for this first-class hotel and I will stay there whenever I can get to Galveston (I'll just avoid Ashley).

By the way, if you go to Galveston, don't let anything keep you from eating at Gaidos. It is the best seafood in town.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade. The higher floor, the better. Our room was at the Southwest corner and had a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for you feedback on your "winter getaway" stay at The Tremont House. We are thrilled that you took advantage of our slow time before Mardi Gras. We appreciate all your comments and I'm sorry for any inconveniences that you experienced. We value our guests and monitor reviews so we can continually improve. Hope you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    822
    305
    104
    39
    29
See reviews for
285
572
48
165
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
TX
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here a week in summer of 2012 (late review). Overall, it was a pleasant stay. The walls must be pretty thick because we did not hear any noise from rooms above, below, or beside us (what a pleasant surprise). Room was clean. Fitness room was stocked up with fruit, free bottles of water, and plenty of clean towels. Staff was very courteous and nice. The plumbing was old, so you'll need to flush "often". Parking was not free, but the street parking was free at night (can't remember the hours). It was so easy to walk over to the shops -- we had lots of ice creams and candy from LaKing's Confectionery. There was no swimming pool on site, you'll need to drive to its sister hotel to use it which was not all that convenient. The rooftop was closed during the whole time we were there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We appreciate your positive review on your summer stay at The Tremont House. The hotel is in a wonderful location and we're happy that you enjoyed the Tremont Cafe. My apologies that the Rooftop Bar was closed. The Rooftop Bar is typically open Wednesday through Saturday (weather permitting). Next time, we hope that you ask for a ride to Hotel Galvez via our courtesy shuttle. You can schedule a time to be dropped off and picked up. Hotel Galvez is also just four blocks from the Pleasure Pier which is very popular with visitors. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you visit The Tremont House again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My honey and I stayed at the Tremont House the night before our cruise, and it was beautiful. We didn't get to enjoy much of the area, as we got in after dark, and it was foggy the next day, but what we could see was great. The room we got overlooked the front door, which was a great way to catch glimpses of the city. We ate dinner in the cafe and enjoyed the piano player. We took the complimentary shuttle to the cruise terminal, although we could have easily walked the distance. We were very satisfied with the stay, and if we're in Galveston again, we will stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for staying at The Tremont House before your cruise. We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel. Please stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEXAS
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed there for our family vacation. The only word to describe it is wow! No...it's not a modern holiday inn with a pool...it's a piece of history. The hotel is perfect in that it's antique but with modern amenities. Most "historic" hotels aren't very historic anymore, often they look like a modern day hotel with just a shell of an older building. The Tremont isn't like that. They have retained their high ceilings and beautiful architecture. We Will be staying there again:)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for appreciating the historic feel of The Tremont House. The hotel is housed in a building that dates to 1879 and it really is a treasure. The Toujouse Bar in the lobby actually dates to 1888 has its own unique history. We hope that you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2300 Ship's Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#1 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
#2 Family Hotel in Galveston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#2 Business Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is situated in the heart of the Strand Historic District. The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is located near many attractions such as The Bishop's Palace and Texas Seaport Museum. Taxis and rental cars offer travelers easy access to Galveston points of interest as well as to the airport. All rooms feature hardwood floors, 32" flat-screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Choose from queen or king size beds. Our Galveston hotel provides dinning options that are fresh, distinctive and delicious. On-site is the Tremont Café, which features Starbucks® coffee, pastries, a pizza oven, gourmet sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. The Café serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as provide items for room service. Guests will find ample shopping and dining near the Tremont House Hotel Galveston. The hotel also offers a pool as well as access to the nearby Galveston Health and Racquet Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Hotel
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.