We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel to your Saves list
The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Ship's Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oxford
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Went here for some family fun between Christmas and New Year. It was a lovely clean, spacious hotel with friendly staff. The rooms were first class. It is very central for shopping etc. I would love to stay here again sometime.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us during the holiday season. We hope you come back to see us again next year or sooner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    823
    305
    106
    39
    30
See reviews for
286
574
48
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carthage, Texas, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had an amazing stay. Will definitely stay here again. Staff very friendly and so helpful!! The beds were so comfy! This was our first time at the Tremont!! The towel Warner's in the bath room was my favorite!! Very clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive comments on your first stay at The Tremont House. We hope that you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed 1 night after our cruise. Check-in was very good, nice employees, helpful with ideas on what to do in Galveston. Their shuttle service was a added plus!! Christmas Decorations were beautiful! Lobby was very festive!! Our room was so nice! Large room and very high ceiling, sitting area, coffee, water. Only regret - we didnt stay another night!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your feedback on your holiday stay. We hope you'll stay with us an extra night during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here after we got off of a cruise and it was over New Years. We had two rooms and they were both really nice. We had the suite and our children had a double room. The staff was really nice and we enjoyed the restaurant and the bar, too. Food was good for a quick breakfast, too. They did have a "Happy Hour" So many things close by for shopping and for eating. We recommend the M&M Restaurant (walking distance) and also for a really yummy restaurant The Sunflower Cafe http://www.thesunflowerbakeryandcafe.com/. We also used Lady Bird Limousine service for getting us to and from the airport. I highly recommend them, too. Punctual and always showed up. (I was sort of nervous to stay here being that there were mixed reviews..but we had a perfect stay! And, I would definitely stay again!)

Room Tip: Suite 206 was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are happy to hear that you stayed with us after your holiday cruise. It appears that you really got out and enjoyed Galveston's great dining and shopping too. We hope that you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PORTER
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My first trip to The Tremont House was most likely the best stay of all of my travels!
We checked in quickly and the staff was friendly and we were lucky enough to have our room upgraded to a suite on the fourth floor! It was the most elegant room I have ever stayed in. The history of the hotel alone is awesome! The original architecture and hardwood floors were beautiful!
I am looking forward to staying there again on my next trip to Galveston!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at The Tremont House. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel as well as a show at The Grand. Galveston is very lucky to have such a wonderful historic theater and we are thrilled that it's within walking distance of the hotel. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I drove to Galveston for an overnight stay and did not have reservations prior to arriving in town. We found the Tremont online and reserved it sight unseen, based on Tripadvisor recomendations. We were delighted with this Grand Lady of a hotel! It has been beautifully kept and is the perfect combination of old and new . We were also thrilled with the $89 dollars that we paid . I only wish we could have stayed longer !!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the comments on your stay at The Tremont House. We are happy to read that feedback from other guests sold you on the hotel. We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Arrived at the Tremont House after our cruise. The Bellmen quickly took our luggage to storage. The desk agents apologized that our room was not ready, but would try for 1pm. It was ready earlier, but in the meantime they sent us to wait for the shuttle (free) to the Galvez. As the shuttle was busy they took us via towncar. On our return hotel room was ready and we were amazed. Well appointed, spacious, amazing view, big enough for our family of four!!

The staff were ALL helpful, polite, accomodating. AMAZING SERVICE!!

On Dec 31 in the morning we asked for a cab...thrity minutes later and three calls to the cab company, the staff was apologizing profusely, offering to again take us via towncar. While one stayed in the room sick, the housekeeping staff were quick. The soup from the restaurant downstairs was a great dinner.

We had hoped to partake in New Year's Eve festivities, with a lovely lounge party, but with one ill had to watch instead. It looked like fun with live lounge entertainment and well dressed folks enjoying drinks.

Cannot say enough good about this hotel, and incredible staff...it that felt like home for 2.5 days. Looking forward to returning someday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed spending New Year's at The Tremont House. We appreciate the positive feedback on our front desk staff, valet and housekeeping as well as the restaurant. Hope you will visit us again soon when all four can enjoy Galveston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2300 Ship's Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#2 Business Hotel in Galveston
#2 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is situated in the heart of the Strand Historic District. The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is located near many attractions such as The Bishop's Palace and Texas Seaport Museum. Taxis and rental cars offer travelers easy access to Galveston points of interest as well as to the airport. All rooms feature hardwood floors, 32" flat-screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Choose from queen or king size beds. Our Galveston hotel provides dinning options that are fresh, distinctive and delicious. On-site is the Tremont Café, which features Starbucks® coffee, pastries, a pizza oven, gourmet sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. The Café serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as provide items for room service. Guests will find ample shopping and dining near the Tremont House Hotel Galveston. The hotel also offers a pool as well as access to the nearby Galveston Health and Racquet Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Hotel
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.