We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel to your Saves list
The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Ship's Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We only stayed one night, but totally enjoyed it. Nice service and enjoyed the rooftop bar which was toasty with the heat lamps. We would definitely come back. We only had a queen bed, but with the high ceilings it felt roomy enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for posting feedback on your stay. We hope that you can extend your stay past one night on your next visit. By the way, we also offer Snuggies on The Rooftop for those cold days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    726
    276
    93
    37
    29
See reviews for
252
515
40
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had a wonderful one-night stay during the Christmas holiday season to show my toddler son the sights of Galveston. Grandparents were in a room on the second floor, and we had a room on the 4th with a peek-a-boo view of the bay and cruise ships. Both rooms exceeded our expectations, especially for an older hotel. The rooms were large and clean, and the bathrooms were larger than expected for a historic hotel. Although I was a little nervous about how kid-friendly this hotel would be, I was pleasantly surprised that my toddler was welcomed as well. Note- there is a happy hour (great prices on food) in the afternoon in the lobby that children are welcome to attend, but starting at 6pm the rooftop bar also opens, which the grandparents got to check out! The hotel was decorated nicely for the holidays- Christmas tree, lights, and a gingerbread house. There was also free wifi. The staff also provided some great restaurant recommendations- Olympia Grill on the Bay for an early dinner/happy hour, and Star Drug for breakfast. Both are walking distance from the hotel. We also had a great time at the train museum (across the street), Moody Gardens Trail of Lights (about a 10-minute drive), and the boat and submarine tours (not really toddler friendly though). Overall, great short trip that I plan to do again soon.

Room Tip: Although the "standard" rooms appear to be mostly queens, we were upgraded to kings at no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We appreciate the positive feedback on your stay and we look forward to your next visit. The Tremont House really is a wonderful example of an alternative use of a historic building. Plus, it's location is ideal for multi-generational trips like yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We've stayed at the Tremont on numerous occasions over the past few years. The last time we hosted a family reunion and couldn't have been more pleased. Our suite was wonderfully comfortable and the service as ever perfect and attentive. Car Valet service, Room service. We had Christmas dinner at the sister hotel Galves and they organised a personal shuttle service at the drop of a hat for all of us. All in all the perfect hotel in Galveston.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELLVILLE
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Although it seems like each and everyone of our trips to Galveston, whether for one night or an entire week are always memorable. Over the years we have stayed at numerous hotels but our absolute favorite is the Tremont House on Mechanic in the down town area. Luxury is the word that best describes the facility but, in addition to the beautiful and spacious rooms, the hotel staff is excellent; always courteous and going the extra mile to ensure customers receive the absolute best in service and attention. In addition to all of the other benefits the convenient location is an added bonus, making it possible to take a nice morning stroll along to the dock area nearby.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We visit Galveston every year for Dickens on the Strand which is the first weekend in December, and after dithering for a few years, we decided to stay at The Tremont.

Note... The Tremont is inside the area which is blocked off for Dickens on the Strand, which is great if you are visiting the festival, however, it means its extremely difficult to get your car since there are no cars allowed in that area. Also, if driving, there is a daily fee for your vehicle.

The Tremont House was one of the few hotels which survived the Galveston Hurricane, but I'm sorry to report, this is not it. That Tremont was demolished in 1928. An old warehouse from the era was purchased a few doors down from the original hotel, and the owners have done an excellent job of maintaining the flavor of Victorian architecture inside and out.

The doorman and bellmen seemed a bit overwhelmed when we arrived on Friday evening. We checked in quickly without an issue, and were taken to our room on the third floor. Upon entry, the bellman realized the tray with water contained empty water bottles and did not appear to be cleaned. He apologized, and removed the tray, said he would send up another set and get us some ice. He disappeared, and we were rather apprehensive, as we tend to be cleanliness nuts, I border on being a germaphobe. I immediately began a closer inspection of the room for fear what else had not been cleaned? After about thirty minutes, a maid knocked on the door with a new tray set, fresh bottles of water. About thirty minutes after that, the bellman returned with another tray set and more bottles of water. A little confusion, but we can't complain that the problem was fixed. As much as I feared there was a problem wtih housekeeping, there was none.

There are large air shafts in the center of the building, interior rooms face each other with large windows. This creates quite an airy and open feeling even though the room is on the inside, but also with a view of other rooms, so don't forget to draw the drapes, even though you are on an upper floor. The bathroom is in black and white decor with ample towels hanging over a towel warmer. Robes are also available in the closet. The bed was extremely comfortable with sufficient pillows and bedding. Flat screen TV with large selection of cable channels are also provided. There is an in room safe available for an additional fee.

The next morning, we had dawdled getting ready for the festival, and we left our room after 10:30. We noticed one of the maids in a room down from ours, and we assumed she had passed over our room since we had the do not disturb sign out. I asked if it would be possible to get the room cleaned, she said she would attend to it. About 45 minutes later, after sweltering in the heat in our costumes, we decided we needed to go back to the room and cool off for a few minutes. I told my husband, the room is probably not done yet, he said it was okay, when and if the maid showed up, we would just leave. To our pleasant surprise, the room had already been immaculately attended to. The next morning when we left our room, we saw the same maid, she smiled and said, I will ensure your room is done next. I found her quick action to be impressive, but also that she remembered us from the previous day and proactively addressed us, to be even more impressive.

We had breakfast downstairs at the The Tremont Cafe. This is mostly a Starbucks in disguise. They serve Starbucks coffee with limited breakfast menu, mostly prepackaged items or items heatable in a microwave. You are not going to get eggs and sausage here but mostly cereal, pastries, etc. Lunch provides little more fare with pizza and gourmet sandwiches. We are people who believe in a big breakfast so we were unimpressed with breakfast but found the lunch menu to be adequate. For those of you who do not tuck into a plate of sausage and eggs for breakfast, the Tremont Cafe breakfast will be adequate.

Overall, the stay was extremely pleasant and enjoyable, we plan on returning next year. I am giving them Average for value because this is an expensive hotel and we found the amenties to be on par with other hotels in this price range.

The staff are wonderful. The accomodations are very pleasant, and we will stay there again next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your detailed review on The Tremont House. We are pleased to know that despite the initial issue with the water that you were pleased with the cleanliness of the hotel. During your next stay, we encourage you to try the oatmeal which is made fresh daily, our delicious breakfast panini or breakfast pizza in the Tremont Cafe. The frittata and waffles are also quite popular. We apologize if our staff didn't show you our freshly prepared items that are available for breakfast. By the way, we're adding some new items for lunch and dinner in January.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2300 Ship's Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#1 Business Hotel in Galveston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#2 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is situated in the heart of the Strand Historic District. The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is located near many attractions such as The Bishop's Palace and Texas Seaport Museum. Taxis and rental cars offer travelers easy access to Galveston points of interest as well as to the airport. All rooms feature hardwood floors, 32" flat-screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Choose from queen or king size beds. Our Galveston hotel provides dinning options that are fresh, distinctive and delicious. On-site is the Tremont Café, which features Starbucks® coffee, pastries, a pizza oven, gourmet sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. The Café serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as provide items for room service. Guests will find ample shopping and dining near the Tremont House Hotel Galveston. The hotel also offers a pool as well as access to the nearby Galveston Health and Racquet Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Hotel
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.