We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Historical Landmark” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel to your Saves list
The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Ship's Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sugar Land, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful Historical Landmark”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is not just the prettiest hotel in Galveston, it's the prettiest hotel in Texas. Authentic Victorian ambiance. Just walking down the hallways makes you feel like you've gone back in time. Brass beds, cut glass in hall ceilings, gorgeous exposed iron elevator, high ceilings in rooms, crystal door knobs, French doors in room that open up to lobby below. Lots of wicker and ferns. They've just opened a rooftop bar that looks over The Strand. Beautiful at night. Pool privileges at The Galvez. The Ttremont is great for a romantic night...It's one of my all time favorites.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    822
    305
    106
    39
    29
See reviews for
286
573
48
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Which was very annoying considering we were here for 3 days working w/a client in the area (hotel was the client's choice, btw). Pulled a small glass top table out of the corner to use, but very frustrating trying to work. Hotel's wifi was being replaced while we were there-the Free Galveston city wifi signal was much stronger & more reliable. Otherwise, this is a historic hotel-ceilings in the rooms are easily 12 feet w/windows to match, though nicely soundproofed even though my room was on the 2nd floor overlooking the hotel entrance. Bathroom was actually quite spacious, though the sink counter is low. Interestingly, they have motion sensors in the guest rooms to turn off the AC when the sensor feels the room is empty, but yet the towel warmer in the bathroom runs constantly w/no way to turn it off. Not only does this waste energy, but since there is no source of ventilation, the bathroom is always warmer than one may want. Guest room does have a ceiling fan, which is a nice touch, except that it only seems to have 2 settings-off & gale force. The area is not the greatest though & actually felt very empty as we walked to/from dinner at night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The rooms are so beautiful and romantic. The service is amazing, they make guests feel really special. My stay was equal to a cruise experience. I had a business trip at this hotel, was supposed to be staying at the Galvez where the conference took place. They ran out of rooms and boy am I glad. At first, I was a little dissapointed thinking that it would not be fun since we were away from the beach, it would be a hassle to use the pool at the Galvez, yada yada.

I was wrong, it was not a hassle, we were able to use the services easily, and if we didn't want to drive they would take us to the other hotel, never had to wait more than 10 minutes.

As for the rooms, they are beautiful and clean. I can't wait to go back. The only thing that I didn't like was that I really had to use the treadmill instead of a run on the beach in the morning. But, I can easliy get over that.

Room Tip: Pick a room that faces the inside of the hotel for less available light in the morning if you want t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This hotel should be highly commended for it's excellent staff. From the parking valets to the maids, each one was extremely nice & accomodating. The first thing you notice when you open the door of your room is the lovely fragrence - clean & soothing. The bed has it's own reputation for good reason. Typically, the first night in a hotel I do not sleep well because I'm not used to the bed. But this one lived up to it's name - "heavenly".
The only recommendation I have is that the install some sort of awnings or umbrellas in the rooftop bar area. Searing summer sun makes it a bit unpleasant in the late afternoon. The bar is great - good background music and perfect drinks. Patrons just need some respite from the sun in the summer.

Room Tip: Interior rooms look out onto the lobby & outside rooms have the outside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The Tremont House is located right next to The Strand and very close to some of the best restaurants on the island. I got a great deal on the room through expedia and when I got there, my room ended up getting upgraded from a single queen to a double. The ceiling was an impressive 14 feet tall; they don't build things like they used to. Beds were superb. Overall, a great place to be.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My friend and I took a cruise out of Galveston and stayed the night before at the Treemont House. It was conveniently located near the Historic Strand. The room was just beautiful and the staff friendly and helpful. Nice restaurant in the hotel. In the morning, the Hotel Galvez allowed Treemont House guests to park in their garage for free. Parking for cruise costs $50.00. The Hotel Galvez then shuttled us to the cruise ship, unloaded our luggage and when we arrived back after our cruise the shuttle was just a few minutes wait. I presented our car claim ticket and when we got back to Hotel Galvez, our car was waiting with the trunk popped and they loaded our luggage and we were off! Absolutely wonderful experience!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I booked a room at the Tremont House two days in advance of a convention at Moody Gardens. I shopped rates and this hotel actually was less than a nearby Quality Inn so I immediately booked it for three nights. Extremely happy with my decision. The room was spacious, luxurious, clean and comfortable. The decor in the lobby and bars are hip and stylish. The elevator whispers your floor arrival. The doormen are courteous at all hours, the bartenders pour good drinks. The location is central to the tourist section of Galveston and there is interesting walking to be done there (even though that section of town seems to zip shut around 7pm). The drive to Moody Gardens was maybe 15 minutes. I would not hesitate to bring my family here, in fact, it would be my primary destination.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2300 Ship's Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#2 Family Hotel in Galveston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#2 Business Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is situated in the heart of the Strand Historic District. The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is located near many attractions such as The Bishop's Palace and Texas Seaport Museum. Taxis and rental cars offer travelers easy access to Galveston points of interest as well as to the airport. All rooms feature hardwood floors, 32" flat-screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Choose from queen or king size beds. Our Galveston hotel provides dinning options that are fresh, distinctive and delicious. On-site is the Tremont Café, which features Starbucks® coffee, pastries, a pizza oven, gourmet sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. The Café serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as provide items for room service. Guests will find ample shopping and dining near the Tremont House Hotel Galveston. The hotel also offers a pool as well as access to the nearby Galveston Health and Racquet Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Hotel
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.