We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better experiences on the island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The San Luis Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The San Luis Resort to your Saves list
The San Luis Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5222 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Austin, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the better experiences on the island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I was a bit apprehensive at first staying here as i am new to the island but ice heard ita like the Alamo, you can't visit texas without getting the full effect of actually being there. We called a head to ensure our reservations for me and my elderly mother only to be rudely addressed on the phone by karlesha. She aas very short with me and seemed as if my slightest request was an inconvenience. Her rudness aside, the rest of the staff were amazing. Melanie was attentive, personable, and really wanted our stay to be perfect. We dined at the Grotto were chef K.Carter generously came out to allow my mother to personally compliment him on and excellent job on our food. Room service was excellent and timely although a bit pricey. The stores available are unlike any that we have seen in hotels! Cindy was amazing helping my mother one on one with their jewelry, she made us feel like celebrities! After a disappointing meal at flamingos we stoped in the gift shop and was pleasantly greeted by Melissa. She was very caring and intuitive. You could tell she enjoys what she does and is an excellent pick me up after a sour day. A beautiful play of relaxed and fun atmosphere through the entire hotel, after the first night it quickly became my home away from home! Thak you Tommy for al of you help and suggestions!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thanks for all of the compliments to our staff! We're glad you and your Mom enjoyed yourself and hope you had safe travels back home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    196
    125
    88
    101
See reviews for
244
288
23
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This is a great hotel for a fun getaway to Galveston: business or pleasure. It's right on the Seawall; all rooms overlook the Gulf of Mexico. Rooms are very well appointed: upscale. Bathroom amenities are very nice: robes, upgraded toiletries, coffee maker. Free wifi and parking. The patio offers a great seating area to sit with a glass of wine and watch the world go by. The Staff are extremely pleasant, attentive, and professional. We had dinner at The Grotto in the hotel and enjoyed a fabulous dinner. They're replastering the pool now, just in time for the summer and their swim up bar! Summers require a two night minimum on the weekends. The location is great: walk across the street to the water, or go for a great walk along the Seawall. The way the holtel is situated, you can see amost the entire Galveston Island. From the glass-walled hallway, you can see the Historic Strand District and a cruise ship if it's in.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thanks for staying with us while in Galveston. Hope you tried one of the seasonal dishes at Grotto- they are getting some rave reviews! See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Been there many times but first time my wife and I actually stayed there. I made my reservation a week in advance, and noticed that the rates had dropped the day before we were set to arrive, Normally I would just cancel the reservation then rebook with the lower rates, but they have a 3 day cancellation policy so I couldnt do that. When i arrived I told the desk assistant that the rates were advertised lower after I booked. Without any hesitation she lowered my rate and saved me over 150 dollars. Great feeling to know they did that. The next day we had a small issue with our room and they immediately moved me without question to an upgraded room. From what i could tell, the San Luis Staff are very attentive to the customer and I would definitely stay there again. The restaurants and bars onsite are also awesome. Very enjoyable weekend.

Room Tip: The higher the better as far as views of the Gulf
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
We love to hear that our staff exceeded your expectations! Do keep us in mind the next time you're staying in Galveston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southwest michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel the last long weekend before Halloween. It was still busy the pool was very nice and warm. The resturant was good we only ate breakfast. The front desk was very helpful the key machine was broke they let us in the room and told us it would be a few minutes within 10 minutes we had our keys. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: ask for the adult floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thanks for staying with us this fall. Next year we've got big plans for another Haunted Halloween bash and turning our 13th floor into a haunted floor- so make your plans now to come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, TX USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

LOVE the San Luis... Dee (Reservations) was SOOO personable, professional, & accommodating!!! The Staff is great...We LOVE the ocean views from ALL rooms. It's WONDERFUL sitting on the balcony even when cold/rainy. A LOVELY hotel... The pool area at night is BEAUTIFUL! The Steakhouse is OUTSTANDING... FANTASTIC in warm weather and a SUPER winter GETAWAY!

Room Tip: Higher floors have the BEST views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thanks for sharing the love!! It's always warming to hear when our staff exceeds our guest expectations! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

My husband I have stayed at the San Luis twice in the last month. This is without a doubt our new favorite get-away destination in Galveston. Our first stay was wonderful...from the moment we pulled up to the minute we left we felt appreciated and pampered. We were upgraded to a corner suite and couldn't have been more thrilled! The second visit, we decided to bring our teenage son. We all totally enjoyed the pool area and location of the hotel. We were able to walk to lots of the Galveston destinations! We ate at the hotel Cafe and found the food to be quite good. Room service was wonderful...food was brought promptly to the room, was the perfect temperature and guest service employee was super friendly. LOVE this hotel~~

Room Tip: Try to get a room above the 6th floor for the best ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
And we love you too!!! So glad you brought your son on your second visit. We look forward to welcoming you back for your future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Celebrated 25th anniversary at this place. Honeymoon here 25 yrs ago. Reserved night before. Mgr. Andrew Vogul promised complimentary champagne & chic covered strawberries, rose pedals upon arrival , also told no xtra chg for fridge request.. Check in rep discover no notes indicating such, was promised by ck in clerk (melanie) concierge would arrange within 15 mi. 2 hrs later still not done, called front desk Tashawna said no order for champagne in system and there would be up charge for fridge, finally " non choc covered" strawberries arrived 3 hrs late. Terrible experience, poor service, not what I expected from this overpriced dated hotel.
Avoid staying here, not worth the trouble!!!!!
Never again will I stay here. They don't care about cust service, poorly trained managers and service reps.
Did I mention constant noise above room 1117? Sounds like they are moving furniture across floor all night!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
We appreciate you leaving feedback about your stay. We researched your comments to appropriately respond and learned you notified our staff of your anniversary at 11pm Saturday evening, from an in-room phone call. Andrew gladly spoke with you and orchestrated all details that accompany our Romance package, even though you had not booked a Romance package. I apologize that when our team went to deliver the Champagne and strawberries to your room we did not have your name in our reservations system; since your reservation was booked through a third party, rather than our in-house reservations, your name did not appear in our system until the following morning.
Please do know that Andrew reached out to our neighboring hotels, trying to verify if you were at guest there, since you did not appear in our system- so he did go above and beyond in attempt to help you celebrate your 25th anniversary. We wish you and your wife the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The San Luis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The San Luis Resort

Address: 5222 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#10 Business Hotel in Galveston
#11 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The San Luis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Luis Resort, Spa & Conference Center is one of the Gulf Coast's finest beachfront properties offering a variety of luxury options. From Spa San Luis and the heated pool to its 40,000 sq. Ft. IACC conference center and magnificent gulf views, it's an ideal destination for vacationers, business travel and corporate meetings. Our AAA Four Diamond rated resort offers the finest in award-winning dining, overnight accommodations and first-class personalized and professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The San Luis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Luis Resort Galveston Texas
San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Louis Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The San Luis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.