We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The San Luis Resort

Save Saved
You added The San Luis Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The San Luis Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5222 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$50 nightly credit
Ranked #16 of 49 hotels in Galveston
austinq
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Vacation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The hotel is beautiful. The king size beds a very hard and uncomfortable. They are not plush. We called the front desk and they stated all the beds are the same and sent us a blanket to help with padding. It didnt. The pillows are really small and soft. Very uncomfortable. The Queen size beds look much more comfortable. We saw one as we were leaving but they never offered us a room with the more plush bed. The view from the 6th floor is great for the price of 143.00. As far a the salon, I scheduled an appointment and the stylist was not as professional as I expected for a 4 star hotel. She was not real confident about how i wanted my hair.

Room Tip: Do not get a king size beds and bring your own pillows as they are small and really soft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us. We appreciate your business and hope you enjoyed your time in Galveston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    337
    182
    111
    74
    90
See reviews for
216
255
18
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I have to say first of all that I LOVE Galveston. This was the second year in a row that my organization met in Galveston for our yearly staff development. Last year we stayed at Moody Gardens and had such a wonderful time that we decided to go back to Galveston again this year but stay somewhere different. We decided to try the San Luis Resort. The majority of our group said they had a better time at the San Luis but in my opinion it was due to the activities and not the hotel. the last time I stayed at the San Luis was about ten years ago and it didn't seem that they had even painted the trim in the rooms since then. I was so disappointed. The door to my room stuck every time I opened it because it scraped the floor. The vent in the bathroom was rusted and the tub didn't drain properly. It is an old hotel that needs to be updated or freshened up at the very least. For the price I expect much better. Those are the cons.
The pros... Great view of the ocean and the food was great. The breakfast is a must!

Room Tip: I heard rumor that the upper floors have been remodeled but I was with some associates that were sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Me and my husband used to stay here often and would always stay in the Club 10 rooms. The Club 10 rooms are great and very modern, but this time we stayed in a regular room due to cost and an out of season discount they had. Never realized how much of a drop off there would be. These rooms are old and smelly, in fact the whole floor smells. The walls are paper thin and we could hear every thing. The room service food was nasty, took forever, and tasted old, especially the cookie I had gotten for my daughter. I didn't let her eat it.

The pool area is great and since it was so quiet it was actually nice, not the usual crowds of drunken kids and loud parties. The pool service was good and they all worked hard to make sure you were happy and taken care of. I wish I could remember the name of our waitress but she was very nice and provided good service. However, the waterfall hot tub is nasty. Also, on the first night we were there, me and my daughter were swimming and one of the guests came up to inform us they had just found a possum swimming in the pool, it wasn't dead, but still just letting us know. Gross.

On the day I was checking out my husband was out and I needed help with my family's luggage. I called the front to ask for help and Matt answered. I asked for help with the luggage and he answered, very rude and dryly, "Yeah. I can." And then hung up. Went down to check out and didn't ask what Matt's problem was, didn't really care. Was greeted with fakey niceness when I got down there. Awkward. I had to wait for my husband to pick me up so I decided to leave our bags at the front while me and my daughter got breakfast and hung out at the pool. I probably should have known better. One of my night creams is gone and I am certain I took it with me and put it in a certain bag. I have no proof and so there's really nothing I can do about it but I am certain it had to have been taken when I left my bags. I am very upset about it though. I guess they figured if they took one little thing I would never notice it or just didn't care. But I will probably never see it again and am sure the management will not care anyway.

So, probably won't stay here again. It's a wannabe upscale resort that isn't even that nice. And I kind of had a nice time until that last day with Matt the front desk guy and my cream getting stolen right out of my stuff.

Room Tip: If you're going to stay here, get a club 10 room. They are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for staying with us this fall. If we fail to meet your expectations, we always hope to have the opportunity to remedy the guest situation while you may still be on property. We certainly apologize for the your experiences and do hope you enjoyed your stay in Galveston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The high note of my stay at this resort was the staff. Everyone was friendly and helpful and greeted me pleasantly no matter what they were doing. The resort has a wide variety of restaurants that offer everything from simple meals to more elaborate dinners and prices are very reasonable. Additional restaurants are a short walk. The amusement pier and additional restaurants are a short drive from the resort, The resort itself is across the main road from the beach so access is easy. The rooms are well equipped and very comfortable and all of them face the water and have a small balcony that you can sit out on and enjoy the salt air if so inclined. The higher the floor the better the view (and the higher the per night cost). Floors 5 and below have a partially obstructed view. Overall the facility is well maintained although some of the furnishings in the common areas are a bit worn. There is plenty of free parking behind the resort.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and myself stayed this past weekend for 4 of my lovely friends who turned 40 this month. So to say the least, this was to be a very special event. I will start by saying the only reason I gave The San Luis Resort 2 stars (not 1) is because Filletta (the most outstanding hotel everything super star), Michelle (sweet and very accommodating hotel rep), Stephanie (gold star pool staff) and Simon (rock star hotel food and beverage GM). As hotel employees they truly deserve 5 star ratings. But unfortunately, I am rating our over all experience, not just them.

Friday was a real treat with spa services and pool side fun. We were treated with first class service all day. Then came dinner... The hotel restaurant, The Steakhouse, proudly boasts it is the number one steakhouse in TX. My husband and I ordered the 20oz bone in fillet, medium rare, to split. We love a great steak and can appreciate the fine quality of this cut. However I'm not quite sure the chef knows medium rare from well done, as our steak was way over cooked. After sending it back, the second steak was fine. I have never been to a top steakhouse and had to send my steak back - ever. They made it right, but it took two tries. With that being said, not worth the $$$.

Saturday was so much fun throughout the afternoon. We had a great poolside experience, until I got my things together to leave and noticed someone had stolen my brand new cover up from our reserved area. Bummed, but not willing to let it ruin my great day, my husband and I went up to our room to get ready for dinner. THIS IS WHERE IT WENT ALL WRONG....

See the attached picture from our balcony. Our room was 1426 (yes, that's 14 floors up and the very last room on the left side of the hotel). I was enjoying the last bit of sun in my one piece bathing suit on the balcony and my husband walk up behind me in his underwear (now remember we are 14 floors up and a very large concrete roof is a bit of ways below us, then the pool) to hug me from behind. We enjoyed the view then retreated back to our room. The very next thing we hear is a knock on our door. I opened it and to my surprise there were hotel security, hence RENT-A-COP SWAT TEAM, telling us, not asking us to leave, because they said they had a report of a 5 year old boy at the pool who had seen my husband naked on the balcony and was offended. After telling them they were mistaken and asked to show me proof, they said they didn't have to show me proof and we need to vacate our room and the property immediately. I said no and shut the door. The second knock found us greeted by the same rent-a-cop swat team and this time they had Galveston police. Again, I said there must be some mistake and asked them to come look at our view from our balcony, again they said no we would be taken to jail if we did not leave. I know we did nothing wrong and again said we were not leaving, we were there with a big party and please go get Simon so we could get to the bottom of this. The head rent-a-cop said Simon was not available, even though he did not try to reach him. I shut the door once more, called my friend who was staying at the hotel, explained to her they were threatening to take us to jail and pleeeease find Simon. Finally Simon and my friend came up to our room (hallway). My friend explained that what they were accusing my husband of was TOTALLY out of his character and knew he would have never behaved this way. A real police officer finally came into our room and let my husband explain that yes he was on the balcony, but in his underwear and directly behind me. Finally, the rent-a-cop swat team was called off and we were left to pick up our jaws off the floor and continue our stay. We went to dinner at the Grotto on the property for birthday dinners, including mine. After a mediocre Italian dinner, and drinks at The Hut (poolside bar) our night had been ruin by the hotel's incompetent security team.

The San Luis Resort NEVER apologized for this, NEVER acknowledged this and NEVER spoke to us again, not even our rock star food & beverage GM Simon.This completely ruined our fun, our weekend and our otherwise great stay. I am a business owner, my husband is a business owner and we would NEVER treat our customers this way and then just leave them to feel embarrassed and confused. After all this we still paid the $900 bill with not even a "Thank you & we hope you enjoyed your stay... come again."

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I planned a surprise birthday weekend for my husband with our children and his brothers' families. The staff made the weekend amazing! The rooms were all on one floor and adjacent to each other. The staff had placed extra amenities in each room and met our every need before we knew we needed anything. We had booked a cabana and as it turned out it rained the majority of the day. The pool and wait staff set up the cabana and kept it fully stocked with tasty beverages despite the rainstorm. Best, best weekend ever! We can't wait to return to this resort. A must stay spot for everyone

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I found this place while I was searching for a good restaurant in Galveston. What a find! This is an amazing place. All the staff was really friendly. For $270 I got a room on the 10th floor that was great. It had it's own balcony facing the Gulf, a huge TV, a beautiful bathroom, complimentary champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. The pool is also amazing. It's huge and has a water slide and Jacuzzi. I was very happy that it open until 2:30am. The swim up bar was pretty cool too. I will definitely be back soon.

Room Tip: Go with Club 10!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
Free internet...
Show More
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
Luxury, Quiet...
Show More
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front
Beach, Budget...
Show More
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seawall Inn & Suites by the Beach
Free Parking, B...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The San Luis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The San Luis Resort

Address: 5222 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#8 Business Hotel in Galveston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The San Luis Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Luis Resort, Spa & Conference Center is one of the Gulf Coast's finest beachfront properties offering a variety of luxury options. From Spa San Luis and the heated pool to its 40,000 sq. Ft. IACC conference center and magnificent gulf views, it's an ideal destination for vacationers, business travel and corporate meetings. Our AAA Four Diamond rated resort offers the finest in award-winning dining, overnight accommodations and first-class personalized and professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The San Luis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Luis Resort Galveston Texas
San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Louis Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The San Luis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.