We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel I've Ever Been To” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The San Luis Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The San Luis Resort to your Saves list
The San Luis Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5222 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Cirque du San Luis
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Burbank, California
1 review
“Best Hotel I've Ever Been To”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I found this place while I was searching for a good restaurant in Galveston. What a find! This is an amazing place. All the staff was really friendly. For $270 I got a room on the 10th floor that was great. It had it's own balcony facing the Gulf, a huge TV, a beautiful bathroom, complimentary champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. The pool is also amazing. It's huge and has a water slide and Jacuzzi. I was very happy that it open until 2:30am. The swim up bar was pretty cool too. I will definitely be back soon.

Room Tip: Go with Club 10!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    191
    123
    82
    97
See reviews for
239
274
23
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, Texas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Really beautiful hotel with great amenities. The staff is excellent and extremely accommodating. The rooms were clean and spacious and the gulf view amazing. There are several excellent restaurants, shops and a spa on the premises. We loved every minute and look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: Go for the premium king. It is worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. We're glad you enjoyed our restaurants and all of the amenities on property and we look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I had told not a soul what exact hotel we would be staying in for our honeymoon. We had purchased a lesser room for two nights to have more money to spend while at the resort. During this purchasing process I noted under requests that I wanted rose petals on the bed due to us spending our honeymoon there, so the resort was aware of the reason of our stay. Well, when checking in at the front desk we were told that we would be staying in club 10 and were given special access keys (club 10 is the resorts sort of premier rooms for guests 21 and older and is furnished to the tee with other great, free amenities)! We were just floored by such a selfless act by the resort! Our time there was unbelievable with no complaints to offer. It also must be stated that the bar tender at the H20 bar lounge was phenomenal. Needless to say, we will be returning!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Congratulations on your wedding and we're so happy to now be apart of your new tradition! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you sooner than your 1 year anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I had a quick 2 day stay at the San Louis and it was wonderful. Tons of amenities, Jacuzzi, pool slide, near lots of restaurants and across from the gulf. staff was quite friendly. Newspaper delivered daily. We stayed on the 14th floor which is one below the penthouse, and the views where breath taking. highly recommend staying here again.....

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
It's so great to hear when our guests enjoy their stay with us! Thanks for leaving a review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Recently stayed on business with a coworker. We booked a room with two doubles and for whatever reason we were upgraded to a two bedroom condo... it was a pleasant suprise. The room itself was great and the view was awesome plus we loved having our own rooms and bathrooms. Service at the front desk, room service, valet and the new italian restaurant was wonderful! Only negative was tht our suite is in dire need of an update, not sure if that falls on the hotel or a private owner but there needs to be a standard. I would go back with my family!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Went here for a work retreat -- really nice experience. Good service in the room and the cafe, and the pool and swim-up bar were a lot of fun. A little heavy on the chlorine, but oh well. Clean, right? The conference area was way too cold, but at least we had our own thermostat and could make our room feel OK.

Room Tip: All rooms face the Gulf, but the top two floors are extra nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a very well run and maintained property. Short wait in line, but it was a large conference. Front Desk at check in and checkout was VERY friendly, efficient and welcoming. Thanks to Darby for her hard work, smile and humor, you made my stay exactly what I would expect.

Room Tip: On busy check-ins, they may upgrade using Condos - depending on occupancy. Great views, balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The San Luis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The San Luis Resort

Address: 5222 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#9 Business Hotel in Galveston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The San Luis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Luis Resort, Spa & Conference Center is one of the Gulf Coast's finest beachfront properties offering a variety of luxury options. From Spa San Luis and the heated pool to its 40,000 sq. Ft. IACC conference center and magnificent gulf views, it's an ideal destination for vacationers, business travel and corporate meetings. Our AAA Four Diamond rated resort offers the finest in award-winning dining, overnight accommodations and first-class personalized and professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The San Luis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Luis Resort Galveston Texas
San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Louis Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The San Luis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.