We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably last visit.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The San Luis Resort

Save Saved
You added The San Luis Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The San Luis Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5222 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Upgrade your Labor Day
Ranked #17 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Probably last visit.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

The San Luis is a hotel with a lot of potential. Wonderful bell boys/ valet. Loved the front desk people. However, the pool was just a hot mess. The waitresses seemed to intentionally NOT want to make eye contact or take drink/ food orders. They all seemed young, and not properly trained. It was almost comical, yet not.
We waited a half hour to get someone to bring us a menu.... Then they had attitude like we were bothering them.
Also noted many others "trying" to get their attention.
Then to our dismay, we started people watching. Drunk, inappropriate behavior from adults in the pool/ mixed with families with little kids. Water quality, hazy at best.
Steakhouse was excellent, as was the piano bar.
Rooms were clean.
Will probably try one of the other resorts next time especially if I happen to bring my children.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your time in Galveston. We apologize your experience at the pool was not what you had hoped, but are glad to know you enjoyed The Steakhouse. We will certainly pass this feedback along to the respective departments you mention as we always learn from our guest feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    359
    185
    121
    79
    94
See reviews for
232
266
18
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My husband and I made reservations to stay for our anniversary. We did arrive early and were made to wait until exactly 10 minutes until 4 to get into our room on the 11th floor. We must have had the same room as the couple who wrote below. The ceiling near the AC was black from the air coming out of it. There were exposed pipes in the bathroom and the front of one of the cabinets in the bathroom was not attached properly. The AC did cool properly . The bed was comfortable, but not special. The pillows were a mix of a lot of worn out different kinds. They were all different sizes, sofeness, and shapes. They all appeared worn out. My children had ordered flowers through the hotel to be delivered to our room. We waited and waited and waited. We finally went to dinner. The flowers were sitting on the check-in desk down-stairs as if decorating it. The view from our room was beautiful. The food in the steakhouse was great, though I thought the service was a little too fast. We once had to tell them we were not through with the course we were eating. The Steakhouse has a dress code of resort casual which obviously means casual shorts and advertising t-shirts is OK. We were a little overdressed. Their cleaning service is non-existent. We stayed 2 days. We did not see anyone on our floor with a cleaning cart until 1p.m. even though check-out is 11am. By the time they got around to our room at 2:30 pm, I had already made the bed and wiped-up the bathroom. I just asked for clean towels. This is not way to run a hotel. I have stayed at numerous resorts like the Broadmoor in Colorado Springs , the Green Briar in West Virginia, the Grove Park in Asheville, etc. I know what I am talking about. My room rate for 2 nights was $524.70 before taxes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Happy Anniversary! We are so glad you chose to spend it with us and appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay. We welcome the opportunity to speak with you regarding the areas you felt our service is lacking, in hopes that we can learn from this and provide better experiences for our future guests- please email ehimes@ldry.com. Happy Anniversary and we hope you enjoyed your time in Galveston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood Village, Colorado
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

They have a beautiful resort building. The pool is great, with a view overlooking the beach. The balcony is very nice. I think that every room has a balcony. The pool staff is all over you just like on a cruise ship, so if you like to drink, they will make sure you are never without one. Drinks are expensive, as you would expect.
But, the management is horrible to work with. They agreed on one price, as we were walk-ins, but when our bill appeared under the door, it was a totally different higher price. It took threats of calling our credit card company to put a hold on the bill to get them to make it right, which they finally did. It took hours to get them to make it right.
When we checked in, they said that they had roll away beds, but when they brought it to our room the first night, they brought a blow up mattress, which leaked out the air overnight. The next day, after promising to bring the roll away bed, they then said that they had none. We would not even have checked in if we had known that. For $200 a night, we do not expect an air mattress. Every time we called about this issue, they were rude. They lied.
When we checked in, the bath tub had not been cleaned. It was full of sand and hair. When we moved the chair in the room, there were gum wrappers under it. They room was not cleaned well. We would see Kleenex's and dirty dishes from room service sitting in the hall for multiple days. Come on now. You get the drift. We generally stay in Marriott's, and they have a standard. If you decide to stay in this resort, be ready to pay, and ready to argue. You are on your own. Again, they have a beautiful facility, and if someone like Marriott ran it, I would say go for it. It is the nicest place on the beach. But from there on, it was nothing but trouble to us.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a prettier view. Middle of the building is also better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for the comments about our resort and location to the beach! We do apologize for the lack of cleanliness you express, and welcome the opportunity to speak with you- if you will email ehimes@ldry.com. Thank you for staying with us while in Galveston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I have been familiar with this property since it was under construction, have stayed many times and have never been disappointed. Restaurants and spa are world class and the pool is the best on the island. Service is always warm and attentive. From a balcony it is entertaining to watch the seawall cruisers go by, and the beach umbrellas/chairs are relaxing. Fun in summer, the San Luis is also a great winter destination, first class service and amenities.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view and quieter the room is. Lower floor rooms are better able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thanks for always choosing to stay with us! We love to hear when past guests return again and again. We hope you'll return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston-Tx
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

San Luis Resort is an excellent resort, with nice restaurant (steak house five stars, and Grotto, plus excellent bar. The beach is nice to view from the room (180 degrees view). Weekend is so crowded but during the week is better.We spent two nights and enjoyed the area restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We love hearing when our guests enjoy their time with us! Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here in June and were persuaded to stay on the 10th floor being a mature couple. Very impressive from the outside and a great view from the balcony. Felt a little let down by the room though - comfortable but 'worn' and no fridge??? Although the reception staff were friendly and professional our complementary glasses of champagne were forgotten about - we had to ask and there was only half a bottle waiting in the room. The extra 'perks' were small packets of M&M's, fresh fruit and morning coffee in the communal area by the elevators .......although there were some on check in these had still not been replenished when we checked out he following day. Service at the pool was excellent although plenty of people in the pool even late at night!!! which gave for a nice party atmosphere. Extremely crowded in the day. Breakfast was a disappointment - the hot food looked as though it had been sitting on the heat trays for a while and was greasy and unappetising, there was a nice range of fresh fruit and breads. Although the staff and particularly the car valets were very helpful and friendly I probably would not return and I didnt think it represented value for money.

Room Tip: Great views from the upper floors although too humid to spend much time on the balcony....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thanks for leaving comments about your recent stay with us on Club Ten. We're glad you enjoyed the complementary Champagne at check-in as well as in-room. The in-room Champagne is a small bottle, but an added amenity nonetheless. Thanks for choosing Galveston and we hope you'll return and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Spent a night and a full day. The day started out rainy but ended up just beautiful. We had a cabana which was amazing and made our time at the gorgeous pool so much better. Our servers name was Margaret. She was so sweet, and polite. Stayed very professional but at the same time was a lot of fun and really added to our environment. Wonderful server. She had to check out at one point so then one of the pool boys name Augustine helped us out while she was gone. He was fabulous as well. He exchanged all of outset towels for fresh dry new ones, cleaned up all of our trash. FOLDED our clothes for us. The customer service was just excellent and I will 100% be back many times!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thanks for your feedback and the positive comments about Margaret & Augustine! We hope you'll return again soon- we have a cabana waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The San Luis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The San Luis Resort

Address: 5222 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#11 Business Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The San Luis Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Luis Resort, Spa & Conference Center is one of the Gulf Coast's finest beachfront properties offering a variety of luxury options. From Spa San Luis and the heated pool to its 40,000 sq. Ft. IACC conference center and magnificent gulf views, it's an ideal destination for vacationers, business travel and corporate meetings. Our AAA Four Diamond rated resort offers the finest in award-winning dining, overnight accommodations and first-class personalized and professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your The San Luis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Luis Resort Galveston Texas
San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Louis Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The San Luis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.