We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service prosecutors” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The San Luis Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The San Luis Resort to your Saves list
The San Luis Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5222 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
1 review
“Customer service prosecutors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

I have been here a couple times and I absolutely love it. They have great ammenities and the customer service is outstanding. From the moment you drive up to the time you leave you are constantly greeted by enthusiastic staff members who want to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. I definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your review about our "enthusiastic staff members." We are grateful you chose to stay with us and look forward to having you return again soon.

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    196
    125
    88
    101
See reviews for
244
288
23
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Every member of the management team was extremely helpful and insightful with our college class about tourism and destination management. I was very impressed with the lengths that they went to for college kids - we were treated as VIP corporate guests with respect from all levels of employees. I loved the pool cabanas, and the cocktail waitresses were very friendly and helpful to everyone in the pool area -- not just cabana holders.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your time with us and our poolside cabanas. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We went for a class to learn about tourism, and they set the bar high for resorts! The food was wonderful, and the staff loved their jobs. Philett is the Director of Guest Relations and the nicest person you will ever meet! If you ever have any problems, she is the person to see! The pool was wonderful, and you can rent a cabana - they're really nice! Wonderful staff, and we had a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for mentioning Philett, our Director of Guest Relations. She is certainly an asset to our property and we're glad to know she made your stay the memory of a lifetime.

Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I recently stayed at the San Luis Resort in Galveston and was very impressed. The rooms and amenities are top rate and the service was exceptional. The staff makes every guest feel important and create a very welcoming atmosphere. Overall, it is a bit pricy, but you stay right on the beach and you really gain an incredible experience that can't be rivaled on the island.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
You say, "You stay right on the beach"- we couldn't have put it better ourselves. Thanks for staying with us and we hope you'll return again soon!

Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I loved my stay here! The staff was so accomodating and everyone was always smiling. You can tell the San Luis staff have a high level of customer service. The pool was also very cool, and the view from my hotel room was perfect! I'll definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
We're so grateful your group chose to stay with us this week. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a great place in a great location on the Island. The main thing that stands out is the service you get from the time you pull up to the hotel. I asked the front desk for a bag to put a wet swimsuit in, and they had three sent to my room. This is just one of the many example of the over-the-top service here. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay and for your specific comments about the service our staff provided during your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I searched online for the best resort to spend a week vacation on the Gulf. We wanted to find a warm and fun destination near the ocean (and not Florida) where we could get some well deserved rest & relaxation. We researched #1 resorts online and kept getting website hits for the San Luis resort on Galveston Island in TX. We wanted something special and unique and we certainly could NOT have made a better selection as the San Luis met all our expectations.

The location, accommodations, staff, and atmosphere are absolutely top notch at the resort. There are several excellent restaurant venues and plenty of leisure time activities that kept us busy for a full week on the island. For great food, you don't have to travel far as the Steakhouse at the resort serves excellent steak and seafood meals.

Without a doubt, the San Luis resort pool is first class and worth the booking alone!! We befriended other couples at the resort and enjoyed hanging with them at the pool during the day and at night. We soaked every minute we could from the pool and hot tubs. Never before had I stayed at a resort with a swim up bar that overlooked the gorgeous ocean where I was mesmerized by dolphins diving in and out of the water as I sipped on my favorite cocktail!!

Lastly, the staff at the hotel treated us like kings and the service was top notch. Even a request for something like coconut water had the staff leave the resort to retrieve and bring back for us poolside. We will definitely be back! I encourage a visit for all age types for a great getaway.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean and have balconies. Any choice is great... the higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
We are so appreciative that you chose the San Luis Resort for your vacation destination. A dolphin sighting certainly is a rarity and we know you will cherish those moments forever. Thank for you for your feedback and we truly look forward to welcoming you back to the Gulf Coast soon!

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The San Luis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The San Luis Resort

Address: 5222 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#10 Business Hotel in Galveston
#11 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The San Luis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Luis Resort, Spa & Conference Center is one of the Gulf Coast's finest beachfront properties offering a variety of luxury options. From Spa San Luis and the heated pool to its 40,000 sq. Ft. IACC conference center and magnificent gulf views, it's an ideal destination for vacationers, business travel and corporate meetings. Our AAA Four Diamond rated resort offers the finest in award-winning dining, overnight accommodations and first-class personalized and professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The San Luis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Luis Resort Galveston Texas
San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Louis Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The San Luis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.