We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing pool area!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The San Luis Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The San Luis Resort to your Saves list
The San Luis Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5222 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing pool area!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We loved spending hours at the pool, enjoying several rounds of cocktails and appetizers. We felt like we were on a tropical island. The room was underwhelming. It is in desperate need of renovating. The paisley pinks and greens are in much need of updating. The hotel doors were a struggle to open and close but once we had it open, the view was great.

The location was convenient. Right outside the hotel gates, we walked to a vendor on the beach to rent jet skis.

We will be back with a group of friends to a rent a tent/bungalow in the pool area and splurge on bottle service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time spent poolside! We are updating many of our guest rooms to have a more residential and modern feel- thanks for the feedback. We look forward to having you return soon to rent a poolside cabana. When you make your room reservation, you can also reserve one of our poolside cabanas. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    215
    130
    92
    107
See reviews for
271
328
27
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Went for a wedding in early March and had a great stay. Somehow was upgraded to the Club Level and the rooms were nice (a little cramped) and a great view of the gulf. Great service at H20, breakfast (both food and service) were ok at best. All in all a great stay and if back in the area would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We hope your entire wedding group enjoyed staying with us in March! Thanks for the feedback and we look forward to having you return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walburg, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Loved this resort! One of the best places to stay. Beautiful hotel, excellent service, comfortable suites, great spa. This hotel offers a nice dress shop, gift shop, restaurant, bar, pool, two hot tubs, swim bar, towel service, incredible staff and wonderful view. A must stay while visiting Galveston.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thanks for staying with us during your visit to Galveston. We look forward to having you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Beautiful Room, Great View, Great Drinks at H2O. The thing that really shocked me was that the hotel allows the saving of chairs by pool. At 7 in morning everyone starts laying towels on chairs or sending their child to. Some had 10 chairs saved. I go out to pool at 9:30 first day and while only a few chairs left not saved..no people..some chairs were empty till 1pm! At about 1 a woman yelled at me because I had one of her 10 chairs her kid had saved that morning. Next day I go out at 7 trying to get a decent chair actually um near the water..and a woman screams from her balcony for me to get away from her chairs..not kidding. This is rediculous when there are hundreds of chairs out there. It should be 1st come 1st serve. I will probably never go back because of this. I paid 269 per nite plus tax and never had a chair by pool. also small children down by bar end not a good idea. One more thing..someone from balcony was throwing soap and candy and actually hit one woman in head. she cried and had a huge knot on her head. This shocked me, I had never seen anything like that happen in my travels. people all arond me had been hit also. Beautiful Hotel. Maid was not great but all other employees were nice.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for leaving feedback about your recent stay. Our poolside lounge chairs are available first come, first serve. Might I suggest renting one of our covered cabanas or a lounge bed- that will guarantee you have a reserved sitting area. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future. If I can be of assistance, please email ehimes@ldry.com

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed another great stay at the San Luis. Off season is my favorite time to relax & enjoy the resort. I was thrilled to see Angelo has gotten his REAL piano back!!! Really enjoyed the music. The service continues to be great!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Angelo performs nightly in The Lobby Bar- and we're pleased to know you enjoy him! Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

we stayed at the san luis on valentines day the hotel was beautiful staff was very nice and attentive ....upon arrival room was not rdy but we had no problem waiting in the bar we had complimentary champagne for our wait....we decided to upgrade and do the club level well worth the money the club level came with breakfast and valet parking ...we will be makin a trip back to the san luis in the summer time with the kids ....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Club Ten is our premier adults-only VIP floor, and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay in February with us. We'll have lots of activities for the whole family this summer, so we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hands down best hotel in the area. Great dining facility with a wonderful service department. The outside bar by the pool was wonderfully staffed and warmly lit. Great location for taking a significant other. Breakfast in bed the next morning was a great way to start the day.

Room Tip: Get the executive package deal with the club level, which includes complimentary breakfast and valet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We appreciate your great feedback about your recent stay with us and look forward to having you return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The San Luis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The San Luis Resort

Address: 5222 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#9 Business Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The San Luis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Luis Resort, Spa & Conference Center is one of the Gulf Coast's finest beachfront properties offering a variety of luxury options. From Spa San Luis and the heated pool to its 40,000 sq. Ft. IACC conference center and magnificent gulf views, it's an ideal destination for vacationers, business travel and corporate meetings. Our AAA Four Diamond rated resort offers the finest in award-winning dining, overnight accommodations and first-class personalized and professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The San Luis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Luis Resort Galveston Texas
San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Louis Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The San Luis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.