We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless in Club Ten” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The San Luis Resort

Save Saved
You added The San Luis Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The San Luis Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5222 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$50 Nightly Dining Credit
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Sleepless in Club Ten”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed from March 21st until March 23rd on the adults only 10th floor in a Club Ten room to celebrate my birthday.

The good: The decor is modern and fashionable. The complimentary valet service and daily breakfast were both excellent, the food is really good and the room service staff is attentive. Maintenance were quick to respond to our complaints. The pool stays open until 2 am. It's a very nice pool with a swim up bar.

The bad: The Club Ten room is advertised as having a personal escort to your room. There was no such escort and it took us a few minutes to make the key card work so that we could select the 10th floor in the elevator. When we arrived in the room, there was champagne - but it was room temperature, not chilled. The A/C, The iPod docking station and the lighted vanity mirror were not working. Some of the fixtures in the bathroom were loose. When I went down to the pool the next day, I put my bag on a large lounge bed. A staff person came up to me and asked me if I had reserved the bed. I told him no and he informed me that it cost $100 to reserve the bed for the day. Note: There were no reserved signs on any of the beds. To avoid embarrassing a guest, I think the hotel should put the reserved signs on ALL of the beds, to be removed by the person who reserved it.

The really bad: Doors being slammed from 2 am to about 4 am by other guests. It made getting a restful nights sleep impossible. So much for a "relaxing" weekend. I was exhausted by the time we checked out. It would appear that The San Luis Resort wants Club Ten to mirror some of the better boutique hotel rooms, like Hotel ZaZa - but it misses the mark.

Room Tip: Our friends stayed in a corner suit on the 5th floor, the decor looks 30 years outdated, but the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Happy belated birthday- and thank you for choosing to spend it at The San Luis! We apologize for our Concierge or Front Desk staff not escorting you up to your room, as typically a Manager will escort you and give you a tour of all Club Ten amenities, including icing down the in-room Champagne. I apologize for the confusion at the pool- all lounge beds and cabanas have signs stating they are available for rent; we have hundreds of lounge chairs that are complimentary. If we can be of additional assistance, please reach out to ehimes@ldry.com.

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    188
    123
    81
    97
See reviews for
236
269
19
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I spent one night here, March 29/30, for our wedding Anniversary. Checked in on the friday afternoon, checked out Saturday around Midday. We are regulars to Galveston, but this is our first time staying here as a couple. My wife had previously spent several nights here a few years back on business.
Young gentleman who checked us in at reception was very polite and courteous. Had a great sense of humor and was very helpful. "First impressions last". Room was on the seventh floor with a nice sized balcony over looking the Gulf. Bathroom was very clean and bedroom clean, spacious. We'd booked a Deluxe Gulf view and felt we'd got what we paid for. Loved the noise of the sea at night while sipping on a glass of Champagne. I would advise you go higher than the seventh floor for a better view. Maybe from the 10th upwards. Next morning after a run and check out. We ordered a coffee by the pool. Staff once again were very helpful and polite. Pool area was busy, but Hotel management seemed to have adequate staff to cover all angles. They have nice seating arrangements around the pool to suit all levels.

Will definitely go back. Next time we will bring our kids so that they can enjoy the pool area.

Room Tip: Go higher than the 7th floor for a better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Happy wedding anniversary to you and your wife! We're so pleased to hear you returned to stay with us after staying several years ago and I we hope you'll return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUSTON
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I chose our reception location after months and months of research. We knew we wanted our family and friends to feel like our wedding was going to be a destination as opposed to a chore and wound up selecting the San Luis over many other places in Galveston. First off, The San Luis is large. One of the biggest properties on the Seawall. Second, it can get busy. And I mean no towels at the pool, long wait to get food, an hour to check-in/out busy. We were able to secure a "suite" on the Club 10 level (no kids allowed on this floor, adults only) and I have to say, WOW. The room was amazing. Spacious, beautiful modern decor and best of all, a MASSIVE bathroom. The amenities were second to none. Made dealing with all the pressure of a wedding that much easier.

The grounds are also quite lovely. I will say, be prepared for a beer commercial type atmosphere in the pool. They have a swim up bar and lounge area which all the beautiful people seem to be drawn to. The pool is quite large and also has a great slide for kids. You really can enjoy yourself. We opted for a Cabana and I think that was the right call. We had our own server who kept the drinks flowing, as well as a place to get out of the sun when it got to be too hot. I highly recommend you do this, well worth the $$.

Overall I would have to say that it was close to a perfect weekend. Great room, great ambiance, a great weekend. The wedding was a huge success, due in no small part to the wonderful staff and crew at the San Luis.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get a room on the Club 10 level. Well worth the extra $$ over a standard room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
We are so grateful you chose to hold your wedding reception with us and stay on our VIP adults only Club Ten floor. We are proud to have our dedicated wedding coordinators that provide the excellent service you received. We hope you'll return sooner than your anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This was an amazing resort. The staff is great. Only downside was a cold hot tub on our last night really could have used it after walking all day. Instead curled up in my cozy bed and fell asleep listening to the ocean. Wonderful

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
It certainly sounds like you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay with us. We look forward to having you return and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel, spacious rooms, large pool with small slide for kids, nice decor. One very big positive is that it doesn't have the musty and moldy smell many Galveston hotels have.

But a classy beach retreat it is not ( which you may expect at that high price). Music (very cool music according to my teenager) is blaring from the pool area at unduly hours of night and day. It woke us up at 6 am despite the double glazed windows. It's also a very large hotel and although they do their best to keep it very clean (and do a good job at it) it is not immaculate: in 2 days we saw 3 empty cups lying around and 2 plastic bags left there by clients who had a take away meal.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for reviewing you recent stay with us- we're pleased you enjoyed our pool and other outdoor amenities. I do apologize for the volume level of music you experienced at 6am; we do not play music at the pool until 11am, so I'm unsure where the music may have been coming from. We do appreciate you choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the San Luis Resort on March 22 - 24, 2013, for a little get away from Houston.

We were primarily looking for a nice "resort" like hotel where we could relax, have a few drinks (swim up bar helps) and enjoy the sun..

Overall, the San Luis Resort did not disappoint at all - the place was great.

The pool area was as close to a "Miami/Vegas" like pool environment you can get in Texas, minus the crazy drunk 20 somethings.. Our weekend was pretty quiet as it was the weekend after sping break. The weather was good for March, a bit cool and cloudy but still nice to be outside.

No rush to get a chair/lounger each day, probably due to the time of year, but either way was perfect.. It is a "family" hotel so there were ample children running around - note to parents, these are "YOUR" children, please watch over them and ensure they're not left unsupervised.
Lots of running and splashing, but it is a pool so no big deal..

Bartenders were great, friendly and attentive - waitresses for the most part were good, although it was looking for a needle in a haystack on Friday to get service at the chair area..
They play good music, not too loud and have cabanas for those who want less sun and more privacy perhaps..

Steakhouse was amazing - best filet mignon I've had in years, actually any steak, cooked right, great trimmings and the bread was warm, crispy with a soft center..! The ambiance at 'The Steakhouse' was great too - cozy, intimate yet inviting - slip over to the bar for some more quiet time and/or listen to the piano guy stroke up some sounds..

Then... if so inclined the outdoor pool lounge at night is super cool - nice setting, fire pits and a cool crowd is a great way to end the night. Happy hour on Friday appeared to go all night, which was a nice surprise seeing a much lower bill than expected - way to go!

As for the rooms - they are pretty standard, we stayed in a normal room, was older, but so is the hotel. If you want updated decor etc. - try the Club 10 rooms - didn't see them but heard they're more modern. But not disappointed at all with room (well... bed was WAY too soft for me..) - perhaps a mattress upgrade for those of us that like firmer beds..

The other intangibles - parking was fine, not a far walk from the back 40... Hotel actually had vending machines which charged only $1.50 for a 20oz drink - almost cheaper than the grocery store prices.. We didn't use room service, valet or the like but the valet guys were cheery everytime people passed by..

Overall was a great experience and would go back again.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms are better - if you're too low, you see the top of the roof of convention hall a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. It sure sounds like you had a picturesque weekend with us. We look forward to having you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Very disappointed in our stay. Music was so loud we had to go out and purchase ear plugs to sleep. No mini-fridge, microwave, very small room, a lamp not working, no bedside table, almost nude people at swimming area behaving VERY inappropriately around the children, smoking all over around the children, children's pool with slide was not heated as described (one of the main reasons we wanted to stay at this hotel), requested items that we never received. All I can say is that the staff was very friendly to us. This seemed more like some type of party resort for swingers, spring breakers, nudists, and whatnot. I have nothing against that, but I won't be bringing my children to a place like that or around that type of environment. Don't claim to be a family resort if you are not, and make us waste our money, time, and make our kids see things they should not. By the way, this was AFTER Spring Break. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for the compliments about our friendly staff and leaving feedback about your recent visit. As you mention, our standard hotel rooms do not come with a fridge or microwave. However, we are pleased to rent one to you during your stay, or guests can upgrade to a deluxe room that is fully equipped with these appliances, to enjoy a longer stay. Each of our guest rooms does have atleast 1 bedside table as well as a desk and sitting area. If yours did not, I hope our Front Desk team was able to correct that. Our large pool is heated for all to enjoy and our facility is non-smoking; we have a designated smoking area near our Valet drop off area. If I can be of further assistance, please email ehimes@ldry.com

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The San Luis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The San Luis Resort

Address: 5222 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#11 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#11 Business Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The San Luis Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Luis Resort, Spa & Conference Center is one of the Gulf Coast's finest beachfront properties offering a variety of luxury options. From Spa San Luis and the heated pool to its 40,000 sq. Ft. IACC conference center and magnificent gulf views, it's an ideal destination for vacationers, business travel and corporate meetings. Our AAA Four Diamond rated resort offers the finest in award-winning dining, overnight accommodations and first-class personalized and professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel and Venere so you can book your The San Luis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Luis Resort Galveston Texas
San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Louis Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The San Luis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.