We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Relaxing Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The San Luis Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The San Luis Resort to your Saves list
The San Luis Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5222 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun Relaxing Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the San Luis Resort on March 22 - 24, 2013, for a little get away from Houston.

We were primarily looking for a nice "resort" like hotel where we could relax, have a few drinks (swim up bar helps) and enjoy the sun..

Overall, the San Luis Resort did not disappoint at all - the place was great.

The pool area was as close to a "Miami/Vegas" like pool environment you can get in Texas, minus the crazy drunk 20 somethings.. Our weekend was pretty quiet as it was the weekend after sping break. The weather was good for March, a bit cool and cloudy but still nice to be outside.

No rush to get a chair/lounger each day, probably due to the time of year, but either way was perfect.. It is a "family" hotel so there were ample children running around - note to parents, these are "YOUR" children, please watch over them and ensure they're not left unsupervised.
Lots of running and splashing, but it is a pool so no big deal..

Bartenders were great, friendly and attentive - waitresses for the most part were good, although it was looking for a needle in a haystack on Friday to get service at the chair area..
They play good music, not too loud and have cabanas for those who want less sun and more privacy perhaps..

Steakhouse was amazing - best filet mignon I've had in years, actually any steak, cooked right, great trimmings and the bread was warm, crispy with a soft center..! The ambiance at 'The Steakhouse' was great too - cozy, intimate yet inviting - slip over to the bar for some more quiet time and/or listen to the piano guy stroke up some sounds..

Then... if so inclined the outdoor pool lounge at night is super cool - nice setting, fire pits and a cool crowd is a great way to end the night. Happy hour on Friday appeared to go all night, which was a nice surprise seeing a much lower bill than expected - way to go!

As for the rooms - they are pretty standard, we stayed in a normal room, was older, but so is the hotel. If you want updated decor etc. - try the Club 10 rooms - didn't see them but heard they're more modern. But not disappointed at all with room (well... bed was WAY too soft for me..) - perhaps a mattress upgrade for those of us that like firmer beds..

The other intangibles - parking was fine, not a far walk from the back 40... Hotel actually had vending machines which charged only $1.50 for a 20oz drink - almost cheaper than the grocery store prices.. We didn't use room service, valet or the like but the valet guys were cheery everytime people passed by..

Overall was a great experience and would go back again.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms are better - if you're too low, you see the top of the roof of convention hall a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. It sure sounds like you had a picturesque weekend with us. We look forward to having you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    221
    132
    92
    107
See reviews for
275
342
27
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Very disappointed in our stay. Music was so loud we had to go out and purchase ear plugs to sleep. No mini-fridge, microwave, very small room, a lamp not working, no bedside table, almost nude people at swimming area behaving VERY inappropriately around the children, smoking all over around the children, children's pool with slide was not heated as described (one of the main reasons we wanted to stay at this hotel), requested items that we never received. All I can say is that the staff was very friendly to us. This seemed more like some type of party resort for swingers, spring breakers, nudists, and whatnot. I have nothing against that, but I won't be bringing my children to a place like that or around that type of environment. Don't claim to be a family resort if you are not, and make us waste our money, time, and make our kids see things they should not. By the way, this was AFTER Spring Break. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for the compliments about our friendly staff and leaving feedback about your recent visit. As you mention, our standard hotel rooms do not come with a fridge or microwave. However, we are pleased to rent one to you during your stay, or guests can upgrade to a deluxe room that is fully equipped with these appliances, to enjoy a longer stay. Each of our guest rooms does have atleast 1 bedside table as well as a desk and sitting area. If yours did not, I hope our Front Desk team was able to correct that. Our large pool is heated for all to enjoy and our facility is non-smoking; we have a designated smoking area near our Valet drop off area. If I can be of further assistance, please email ehimes@ldry.com

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here over the weekend hoping for a nice quiet getaway. I have stayed here a million times growing up and have never been SO DISAPPOINTED in my life. When we checked in , we were not given the room promised and had to have a manager fix that problem. When we went to the pool , we were having lunch at the H20 Bar and you would have thought we were on Spring Break at the Super 8. There was a guest at the hotel that decided to go on her balcony and flash herself to the entire pool including several children and families. Then had the audacity to come down after nothing was done and wear next to nothing at the pool, got drunk and was all over her female friend. Several guests were very offended and left the pool as did we. Once back in our room we called management and was told she had been asked to leave the hotel but saw her once again start an argument with another guest at the pool.When i followed up with the manager the next am i was once again told she had been asked to leave the hotel . We went to the pool thinking all was ok and agreed to stay another night and then the same " guest that had been asked to leave the hotel" comes down to the pool , wears the next to nothing swimsuit she had on the day before and start acting inappropriate, I went and told the same manager who lied to me and told me she left and made it clear she HAD NOT. He said he was going to deal with it and didnt so we left and checked out, I WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN AND HAVE NEVER SEEN SUCH LOW CLASS AT THE SAN LUIS.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. We apologize you were offended by one of our guests and hope you were able to resolve this during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed here with my daughter, sister and niece for spring Break. I was really impressed with their service. From the bellhop, pool waitress to front desk we had nothing but great service. Rooms were clean and fresh, however, the beds were no super comfy. Beach is across the street - short walk. Being that it was spring break there were lots of famiies. The hotel def catered to those of us with small kids. Only down side is the pool fills up very quickly and runs out of chairs fast!!! You have to get down there around 10, during their busy season anyway, to get enough chairs. Def will stay here again. I plan to come back with the whole family next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thanks for choosing to stay with us over spring break. We hope you enjoyed our family friendly activities- from t-shirt tye dying to poolside hula hoop contests to cookie decorating with our pastry chef. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days and had a great time. We enjoyed the tropical pool everyday which stays open until 2am. The atmosphere around the pool is great. We all enjoyed the short walk to the beach and several restaurants. We stayed on the 12th floor in a room with two double beds. The view was awesome. The showers stayed hot with excellent water pressure. Room decor was very nice. Negatives: The bed linens were not great, they gave us two sheets and a blanket for each bed that did not fit. The blankets had several holes in them and one of the sheets had some visible stains. The bathroom fan was not working and there appeared to be mold build up on the ceiling that was painted over. Movie rental is expensive ($14.99 for new releases). We rented "life of pi' and the picture was fuzzy with no sound. The charge was removed from our bill without any problems but with no DVD player in the room, we were unable to have a lazy movie night as planned. The AC worked fine but the heater was very noisy. We enjoyed playing tennis but the court needs maintenence.

Room Tip: Great view on the 12th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
We love it when our guests rave about the time they had with us! Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us. I will pass along your feedback regarding the worn bed linens. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Let me start by saying that the San Luis has some wonderful people working at this beautiful property. It is a sister property to the Golden Nugget in Vegas. Everyone we came in contact with at the hotel was very friendly and outgoing.

Now for the major negative. Sleep was virtually impossible every night in the room due to the noise coming from slamming doors and yelling people. I realize that it was Spring Break week, the hotel staff seemed unable to control the environment from those wishing to get some sleep. The culmination was our last night there (March 15) when we were unable to go to bed until 3 a.m. Te noise was unlike any I have heard in a hotel and numerous calls to the front desk (by those in many rooms) did nothing to quiet the noise. To his credit, the front desk manager did credit us with $150 the next morning off the room rate. However, because of all the things that you must agree to and check on your check in papers (don't remove your pool wrist band, no towels on the railings of balconies, no lost towel cards, etc) it would seem the San Luis could also require civilized behavior.

One other negative was the "express facial" in the spa. The facial lasted 12 minutes for my wife and not the promised 30 minutes. It consisted of nothing more than washing her face and applying cream. The massages we both received were great.

Room Tip: For a better view (and probably better sleep) get a VIP room which is higher up and probably less li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for complimenting our staff during your recent stay with us. We were fully occupied during the week you stayed with us of spring break and certainly apologize for the noise you experienced. I have passed your feedback regarding your express facial along to our spa staff. If there is anything I can do to enhance a future stay with us, please email ehimes@ldry.com

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

I had another fabulous weekend at San Luis. Courtney, the H2O waitress, is fabulous and made our time by the pool seamless. Our only snafu was valet - they were highly disorganized and lost one of our bags. This is totally unusual in my experience. It took two trips down to valet and two phone calls to make something happen - we kept hearing they would call us "if" they found it. It was lost somewhere in the bell room or another guest room. Again, not a huge ordeal but the inconvenience of the situation was an issue. It took nearly three hours to figure it out. Our cabana attendant was spot on - especially given the busy weekend. She was quite busy shoo-ing people out of our space.

I will be back again in two weeks :-)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We're so grateful you choose to stay with us time and time again- we love our repeat guests! Thank you for your continued patronage and we look forward to seeing you again in 2 weeks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The San Luis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The San Luis Resort

Address: 5222 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#7 Business Hotel in Galveston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The San Luis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Luis Resort, Spa & Conference Center is one of the Gulf Coast's finest beachfront properties offering a variety of luxury options. From Spa San Luis and the heated pool to its 40,000 sq. Ft. IACC conference center and magnificent gulf views, it's an ideal destination for vacationers, business travel and corporate meetings. Our AAA Four Diamond rated resort offers the finest in award-winning dining, overnight accommodations and first-class personalized and professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The San Luis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Luis Resort Galveston Texas
San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Louis Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The San Luis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.