We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are going to Galveston, you must stay here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The San Luis Resort

Save Saved
You added The San Luis Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The San Luis Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5222 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Labor Day Weekend!
Ranked #17 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Greenville, SC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“If you are going to Galveston, you must stay here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

What a beautiful hotel....country french, beautiful pool and bar area with fire pit, and the attention! We switched rooms twice, just because my mom wanted the "perfect room" and the staff was just absolutely lovely about it - everyone from the valet to the gift shop attendant to the spa personnel called us by name. The breakfast was so lovely. It was just a great stay - would definitely recommend, would definitely stay again. It's not glitzy and flashy - it's elegant and inviting and warm. Kudos to the staff!

Room Tip: They are all good rooms - all rooms face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We're so pleased to hear you and you Mom enjoyed your stay with us- and found the perfect room with a perfect view! We're planning lots of activities for spring break and summer, so you'll have a great reason to return soon.

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    359
    186
    122
    80
    94
See reviews for
234
266
18
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Spent two nights here with kids and couldn't ask for better service. Arrived late and they upgraded our room to two bedroom suite. Pool is heated, so great winter destination. 11 am check-out, but allowed us to extend to noon. Staff was over-the-top friendly. We'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Our pool does heat up nicely in the winter, and still allows for the fantastic Gulf views. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Nice accommodations. Staff was well trained and attentive. Pool/bar had great atmosphere both day and evening however, the appetizers were too small, expensive and pretty average. On the whole, I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thanks for reviewing your stay with us. We're glad to hear our staff provided great service to you and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
expensive and pretty average. On the whole, I would definitely stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We had our wedding at the resort June 30th 2012 and Michelle Beckwith was with us the entire way. From the first meeting, to the samples for the reception dinner, everything was outstanding. Michelle gave us the local vendors for the wedding flowers (Island Flowers) and the cake bakery, she had all of the answers. When we arrived and the view for the rooms were not up to my brides liking, the staff did not hesitate to ensure we were satisfied. I would recommend this resort to any one that is looking to have a ceremony, birthday or just looking to have a party, reach out the Michelle B, she will make your day perfect...........Thank you San Luis!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for the great comments about hosting your wedding at San Luis! I've passed along your feedback to Michelle- it's always great to hear fabulous feedback about our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I've been here twice over the past few months and enjoyed the stay both times. On this last visit we were "upgraded" to a suite. The room was huge, but the Murphy beds were not as nice as a full size bed. Also it was on the fourth floor so we basically looked out over the roof of the lobby. On a previous visit we were on the penthouse level and loved the views from there. The rooms are very nicely appointed and the furnishing and amenities are pretty much what you would expect from a hotel of this caliber. It does seem popular with wedding parties and we had a little trouble with party-goers hanging out in the elevator lobby near our room well after midnight. With a call to the front desk the problem was quickly resolved. The HVAC unit is a little noisy when it starts up but then quickly quiets down. The business center charges to get on the Internet and to print, but if you need to print boarding passes, the concierge will do that for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your most recent stay with us! Our 4th floor suites are quite spacious and provide great room for a family to spread out. We look forward to having you return again soon to stay with us.

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Upon arriving at the San Luis Resort; I was wonderfully pleased by the most helpful valet & bellman staff. I did not have to ask for a thing the wonderful staff was earner to take care of our every need. Check in was a breeze! While on our visit to the San Luis Resort we stayed on the Club Ten level. I highly recommend this level if you are not traveling with children, since they are not allowed on this floor (this helps when on a romantic get away).

We did not get to experience the spa; however we had the spa brought to us and enjoyed one of the most relaxing couples massages ever. I too highly recommend this option, getting to relax in your own room after a wonderful massage is the way to go.

The pool is the happening place at this resort! Get to the pool early or reserve a cabana, because all of the chairs close to the pool are taken quickly. Luckily for us, we rented cabanas and large poolside beds; because we quickly found out that the younger crowd would somehow get the exclusive San Luis bracelet which allowed you pool access without actually staying at the resort. I am unsure how this took place. But you can bet the six am guests putting towels down on the pool chairs were not in fact guests of the hotel. They would save chairs, leave and bring family and/or friends back later in the morning. The poolside bar and wait staff were impeccable. I highly recommend ordering drinks from the candy menu...yum! The pool was sectioned off into two different areas an adult area with bar and a section for everyone complete with a fun waterside!
At night the pool bar becomes a lounge with seating near fire pits with almost an Asian feel. It did not over excite us, so we opted for other places outside of the property. The hotel staff was very helpful in choosing places to dine. We were also able to see the amazing fireworks display from our hotel balcony!!
And don't forget to enjoy the breakfast in the main level restaurant, the food is priced well and very tasty with lots of variety.
This is a fun, easy going resort, the rooms are large and clean and have oversized bathrooms.I recommend this resort to couples, families, friends, business events and even solo. Great, over all A++ experience!

Room Tip: Book the Club 10 level!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience! Were pleased you enjoyed your in-room spa services, poolside cabana rental and Club Ten experience and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed almost everything the hotel had to offer, save the spa (although i have done a full day at the spa previously and it was fabulous). My husband and I stayed on the Club Ten level and will definitely be back. It was well worth it. The bartenders were fabulous, The Steakhouse was fabulous, and the concierge was amazing. Our one complaint was the near hour and a half wait at our table at The Cafe when the waitress forgot to put in our order. She was caught up in socializing and apologized. We probably will skip that next time. See you soon!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in May! We look forward to having you back soon- and make time for Spa San Luis your next trip!

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The San Luis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The San Luis Resort

Address: 5222 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#11 Business Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The San Luis Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Luis Resort, Spa & Conference Center is one of the Gulf Coast's finest beachfront properties offering a variety of luxury options. From Spa San Luis and the heated pool to its 40,000 sq. Ft. IACC conference center and magnificent gulf views, it's an ideal destination for vacationers, business travel and corporate meetings. Our AAA Four Diamond rated resort offers the finest in award-winning dining, overnight accommodations and first-class personalized and professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your The San Luis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Luis Resort Galveston Texas
San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Louis Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The San Luis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.