We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the off-season” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The San Luis Resort

Save Saved
You added The San Luis Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The San Luis Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5222 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$50 nightly credit
Ranked #16 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Peoria, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the off-season”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a 4 star hotel that was beautifully decorated for the holiday season. However, they were doing construction and our room was near a lot of hammering. We had to be moved to get rest.
The management was very accommodating. The outdoor pool was great or would have been in a warmer time period. The service was very attentive; every staff member went out of their way to be friendly. It would be a wonderful resort for a family or for a romantic getaway for a couple.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us when you were in Galveston. We are currently renovating our Guest accommodations and do apologize for the noise you experienced. Our outdoor pool is heated, so perfect for enjoying in these cooler temperatures. We hope you will return to stay with us again soon.

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    341
    182
    113
    75
    90
See reviews for
218
255
18
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We spent one night here in December to attend a corporate Christmas party. The property had beautiful Christmas decorations on display. Everything was first rate. The staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The only negatives were minor. The bathroom in our room was clearly worn but it was still plenty good. The shower stall with the shower in the ceiling was an unexpected treat. The common areas (ballroom, lobby, hallways) were far too cold, in fact frigid. But the room was nice and cozy. All rooms face the ocean and the view from the balcony was great. Only problem there was that someone was smoking on their balcony and the smoke drifted up to our floor so we had to keep our balcony door closed. The H2O bar was awesome. We sat around the fire pit and enjoyed a drink and was able to sit and relax. It was a humid, almost foggy, evening so the staff had to keep drying off the seats. We ate breakfast at the Cafe and it was also very good and the staff super friendly. Overall I was plenty happy with the San Luis. Would be interesting to see how it goes in the summer when it is full of tourists and kids. We overheard at the front desk that the hotel was booked full for the night, but we were never aware of the crowd.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
We're so glad you enjoyed our Christmas decorations when you stayed with us. Thank you for your feedback about the temperature and we will share that feedback with our Engineers. Happy Holidays and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Took family with me on a weekend business trip. Hotel folks treated the family wonderfully. Pool was excellent and room was spacious. My only negative was very very slow service one morning for the buffet. Other than that, great experience and family already wants to return.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for bringing your family along when you stayed with us this month. We hope you had a successful trip and look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

The San Luis is beautifully decorated for the holidays and very luxe any time if year. We were allowed to check in early and enjoy the pool.Temp was in the 70's so we were able ti enjoy the heated pool, grotto, swim up bar and the (chilly) waterslide. The piano music begins at 8pm. We had the option of ordering from the Steakhouse or the cafe and we ate in the piano bar. Our waitress was very pleasant. Our only problem was getting the additional air mattress brought to the room. Our daughter decided to join us after we reserved a king rm. Even though we called and ordered the day before we arrived it took 5 calls to the desk and my husband finally getting a meeting before the mattress was brought
up about 11pm. Otherwise it was a good stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We're glad you were able to enjoy your stay with us and take in our holiday decorations! We do apologize for the delay in having an air mattress delivered to your room but hope everything else about your stay was fantastic. We look forward to welcoming you, your husband and daughter back soon.

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stay over for Thanksgiving and whole reserved two rooms. The Good - even the lower level cheaper rooms had a nice of the water and beds were comfy and rooms good size and quiet. The Cafe was understaffed but the two servers we had both times tried very hard and were excellent (Juan and Luis I believe), and, the food was fresh and tasty. The bar outside and in had good bartenders, but again, not enough help as you waited a while.
The Bad - they didn't seem prepared for a busy weekend. Yes, check in isn't officially until 4pm, but at before 3 pm, all the generic host could say "rooms aren' ready yet, I'll call you". I got the impression a few minutes, perhaps 10-15; after half hour I asked again "Still not ready". ..."Ok, can you give me an estimate?" "No, but they 'know' room is supposed to be ready by 4pm". Oh ok. After eating we came back after 4pm. "Oh, one is ready, but not the other, sorry. You can go up to room that is ready, and then come down and get key for other which 'should be' ready". After 30 minutes later and 5pm "we are still waiting". Finally at 5:30 pm, room is ready and generic "sorry". I'm easy to please typically, but you could tell they needed more help, as others around me seemed to not be happy either. Check out the next day was quick, except for one problem one elevator not working and other two JAM packed. Simply getting to lobby as about a half hour wait.
Oh well, nice place, nice room, nice food, but....I came away thinking they were understaffed and some at front desk didn't how to communicate and or at least offer a free drink, or perhaps free parking to compensate.....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Happy Thanksgiving! We did have a full house over Thanksgiving weekend and we appreciate your patience at check-in. We hope to be apart of your family traditions for years to come and look forward to welcoming you and your family back next year.

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We've been driving from Houston to Galveston for the San Luis Thanksgiving Brunch periodically for over 10 years. They've been worth every penny--easily one of the best around. This year, the brunch was held at the convention center--the venue was fine. But the quality of the food was so disappointing! Most of the traditional Thanksgiving food was really bland. The cornbread dressing was a mushy mess--and were those carrots in it? Please. Hard rolls only....what happened the softer yeast rolls option? Turkey and ham were ok. Better were the desserts, gumbo, omelettes, and mimosas. The new sushi offering was comparable to grocery store sushi--edible but sushi lovers should take a pass. Seafood tables of the past were much better without sushi attempt. Overall, not worth the money. I hope someone who works there who has had that buffet in past years ate there today. Maybe they can explain to management that it wasn't anywhere near the same. I have no doubt that they made some big behind the scenes food production changes--cooks? food suppliers? I don't know-- only they know what they changed. Whatever it was it was very noticeable and not in a good way. I do hope they return to their former awesome glory. I guess they moved to the convention center to be able to serve more people--but sadly, the quality has really, really suffered in that move. It's not special anymore. Maybe that's inevitable when quantity becomes the focus. We really love the San Luis--and always enjoy our stays at the hotel. But the Thanksgiving Brunch? Not so much.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for making The San Luis your choice for Thanksgiving Brunch over the past 10 years. We are disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your experience this year. I have forwarded your comments on to our Director of Food & Beverage. If you have additional feedback, please email me at ehimes@ldry.com and I'll be glad to pass it along.

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My visit to the San Luis in November was for business. I never get tired of the amazing service, wonderful food, and the cleanliness of the rooms. I love that my view is always of the Gulf which gives me great sunrise photos. Every part of this hotel clicks. I'm looking forward to returning on December 31st with my husband to celebrate New Year's Eve - San Luis style!

Room Tip: Stay on floor 10 or above!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
We can't wait to have you back for New Years Eve! We look forward to seeing you again in a month.

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The San Luis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The San Luis Resort

Address: 5222 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#8 Business Hotel in Galveston
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#11 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The San Luis Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Luis Resort, Spa & Conference Center is one of the Gulf Coast's finest beachfront properties offering a variety of luxury options. From Spa San Luis and the heated pool to its 40,000 sq. Ft. IACC conference center and magnificent gulf views, it's an ideal destination for vacationers, business travel and corporate meetings. Our AAA Four Diamond rated resort offers the finest in award-winning dining, overnight accommodations and first-class personalized and professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The San Luis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Luis Resort Galveston Texas
San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Louis Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The San Luis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.