We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice views, nice place for a group, but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The San Luis Resort

Save Saved
You added The San Luis Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The San Luis Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5222 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$50 nightly credit
Ranked #16 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice views, nice place for a group, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The San Luis offers all the things one needs for several days stay, and is well located on the island. However, rooms are pretty basic to be calling this a resort. Plus, the entire property could use some refreshing. We had to call maintenance to manually switch from a/c to heat, then again a couple days later to switch back to a/c. The level of quality service from housekeeping is abysmal. Including one of my pet peeves of only rinsing glasses and cups in bathroom sink before returning them to service. If this were not the host hotel for our event, we'd have stayed elsewhere.

Room Tip: All rooms have great gulf views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We appreciate your feedback about your stay and hope your conference was a success. Housekeeping removes all glassware from our Guest rooms and sanitizes them before returning the glasses to another Guest room, rather than rinse them in the sink. We hope you were able to enjoy the 32-acre Resort during your stay.

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    338
    182
    112
    74
    90
See reviews for
217
255
18
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We initally went to the Stockman for dinner and it was SOOOOO good, we decided to spend the night. Our water was just the best and even checked to see if there were rooms available. There were and we jumped at the chance to stay. It was perfect. Would stay time and time again! Breakfast in our room was as good as dinner the night before and our roomservice attendent was helpful and worth the extra tipping.

Room Tip: All the rooms over look the Gulf. We stayed on the 10th floor and it was awesome! The balcony was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Happy Birthday! We're glad you enjoyed our award-winning The Steakhouse for dinner and took the opportunity to stay the night with us! We look forward to having you back soon.

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

She was still in the room getting dressed when we got there, so I went to see her. I was surprised at the room. While it did have a balcony with an ocean view, it was still very basic with two beds, and a small bathroom. Seems to me that a hotel as expensive as this one is, it would have a more fancy room. I didn't see anything special about the room. She got married under the gazebo; the hotel's sound system wasn't working, so no microphone to hear the ceremony. Then we returned to the inside of the hotel, near the bar area for the reception. The pasta buffet was actually pretty good - two types of pasta/sauces with the option of sausage, chicken, shrimp or veggies to put on top, as well as a salad and breadsticks. The bar was right next to the buffet, so the option to purchase a drink was available. The dance floor was tiny to say the least, no more than 4 or 5 couples could dance at a time. Overall it was a nice wedding, but I think the hotel itself was overpriced. We looked at staying here, but opted to stay somewhere more affordable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
It sounds like your friends wedding was wonderful and we're glad you were able to visit our property. We are currently remodeling our bathrooms- adding a sliding door, additional shelving, glass shower door and other enhancements for our Guests. We hope you'll choose to stay with us the next time you're in Galveston.

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I were married at this hotel 27 years ago last Friday. When we arrived they poured us a glass of champagne and were excited for us. The concierge sent a bottle up to our room with chocolate covered strawberries that night. Sweet! Everyone as super friendly. Both the steakhouse and the cafe had great food and ambience. The h2o bar is awesome with heaters and a fire pit which we needed when the cold front blew thru. The hot tub was great but needed to be hotter the second night. Our bed was comfortable and everything was super clean. A refrigerator in the room would be nice but you can get one but you have to pay extra. Galveston has made a lot of improvements and is more friendly to men. Not just ladies shopping. We will be back.

Room Tip: Use your AARP card if you have one
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Congratulations on celebrating your 27th wedding anniversary- and we're delighted you chose to stay with us! We're so pleased to hear that it was a fabulous weekend and we look forward to having you return for your 28th anniversary, if not sooner!

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Rather than call to clarify a nice reservation the hotel unilaterally cancelled our important reservation rather than contacting us, causing great disruption. Even worse, the manager was unapologetic. Of course I got angry - wouldn't you?


  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We apologize for the mix-up regarding your reservation and do hope our staff was able to correct it. Feel free to email ehimes@ldry.com and I'd be glad to look further into this mix-up.

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in October of 2012 for our honeymoon. This was the downside of our week. The pictures from outside were amazing, and it was instantly obvious that all the money goes to the outside of the resort. It was way overpriced for what you get. This is the first hotel I've ever stayed in that does not have a small refrigerator, so if you like to wake up to a cold energy drink, juice, or water, then prepare to make a lot of trips to the ice machine. My wife also noticed it's the only place she's ever stayed without a hair dryer. The resort isn't aware that everybody has phones or computers that need to be charged, and therefore finding an outlet to charge these things is quite the task, and you will have to choose which lamp to unplug once you find an outlet. The towels are like drying off with a rough carpet. We tried the Cafe inside for breakfast and for $40, after waiting about 30 minutes after ordering, we recieved our waffle and eggs that aren't even Mcdonald's quality (needless to say we didn't try any other meals there). The room is about 20 years past the point it needs renovation. I will say the staff is nice, the landscape is great, and the pool bar was very nice (though at $10 a drink it's also empty, go two blocks and drink for much cheaper). There is also a $300 charge to your bank account on top of what you pay for your room "just in case you charge something to the room" so be ready to have that money tied up and unavailable to you for your vacation, and returned AFTER your vacation. The tv picture looks like they sliced the cable about 50 times too much, but if you want to rent a movie with that kind of quality then it's only a mere $16 a movie. Great city to visit, nice beaches, but please stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Congratulations on your wedding and we're thankful you chose to stay with us. We are glad to provide our guests with a mini-fridge, you'll just need to ask Housekeeping. We also do provide hair dryers in each of our rooms- in the basket just below the sink. We provide 4 bath towels in each Guest room and replace worn out towels on a daily basis. We do place a hold on debit cards, to ensure the entire room bill can be covered; we do not place a hold on reservations secured with a credit card. If I can be of further assistance, please email ehimes@ldry.com

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The best hotel on the Island! It is so worth the price!
Stay in Club 10...great for those special times, like an Anniversary! Pool is just wonderful and the spa is fabulous...very clean hotel, and a very professional staff. You cannot beat the view! Stay on a high floor. This is my favorite place to get away from it all! Love it!

Room Tip: Stay on a high floor, Great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We think our Club Ten rooms are pretty phenomenal too! We're so glad you enjoyed everything about your recent visit and hope you will return again soon.

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The San Luis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The San Luis Resort

Address: 5222 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#8 Business Hotel in Galveston
#11 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The San Luis Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Luis Resort, Spa & Conference Center is one of the Gulf Coast's finest beachfront properties offering a variety of luxury options. From Spa San Luis and the heated pool to its 40,000 sq. Ft. IACC conference center and magnificent gulf views, it's an ideal destination for vacationers, business travel and corporate meetings. Our AAA Four Diamond rated resort offers the finest in award-winning dining, overnight accommodations and first-class personalized and professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your The San Luis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Luis Resort Galveston Texas
San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Louis Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The San Luis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.