We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a luxury accommodation we had!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The San Luis Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The San Luis Resort to your Saves list
The San Luis Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5222 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“What a luxury accommodation we had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We booked this hotel online and didn't know what to expect. We arrived and there we nice lady who gave us room's keycards and poolpasses. She was nice and polite.
Room was deluxe room!!! :)
There were kitchen, bathroom, common area and balcony. Everything was clean and amazing! I just loved it!
Parking and wifi were free.
Cleaning staff was nice.
There is nice pool area in front and restaurants in the same building and also little bit further ahead.

Stay here if you are in Galveston!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thesanluisresort, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay. We are glad you enjoyed everything and look forward to having you return again soon.

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    196
    125
    87
    99
See reviews for
243
286
23
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Jackson, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My girlfriend and I booked a room to get away for the weekend. We arrived at the resort around 3pm thinking we could check in. Our room was not ready so we went down to the H2o pool and had a drink to kill some time. We were told our room would be ready at 4pm. We went back at 4 and our room still was not ready. I asked why is wasn't and asked if any other room was avaliable and was told no. The front desk girl told me she would ask if she could upgrade our room.......she came back from talking to her supervisor and said had a nice room for us. She gave us our room key and told us to enjoy our stay. Much to our surprise we opened our room on the top floor and it was the presidential suite.........wow!! The room had a bedroom, living room with a bar and a full dinning room. The San Luis Resort ROCKS!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thesanluisresort, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in our Presidential Suite. Thank you for your review and we look forward to having you back soon.

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Worth, TX
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at the hotel two nights. The first night was great...great and friendly service. We especially liked the pool bar, where service was prompt and the venue is just beautiful. The next night had a few problems. When our room was cleaned, we did not get any coffee or fresh towels. I called the next morning to request some coffee, and after a half hour wait called again. And at dinner in the much renowned steak house, we were not served our sides with the meal, Service was poor there, too, althogh it was a very expensive meal..
Still, I would go there again, just to enjoy the beautiful view of the gulf and the really fun pool bar.

Room Tip: The view of the gulf, off the balconies, is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thesanluisresort, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your comments about your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Galveston.

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Yes, beach hotels are always a little "worn", with the sand and salt air. The San Luis is Tillman's little vegas hotel in Galveston. The pool bar and cabanas are straigh out of Vegas, and he has spent alot of money over the years in order to make it the best in Galveston.

Room Tip: Pay for an upper floor room to be away from the families
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thesanluisresort, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
We're so glad you chose to stay with us in Galveston. Thanks for your review and we look forward to having you back soon.

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We went here as part of a group work event. In the luck of the draw, we were given a room on the executive level (15th & 16th floors) which is probably the same as others except that they offer coffee, juice, fruit & pastries in the morning, chocolates from afternoon to evening.
The room is large and roomy. Amenities include a safe, hair dryer, coffee maker, desk, but lacks a refrigerator or microwave. Each room includes a balcony, and in our case, with a great view of the Gulf. (Note: balcony door does not lock.) The room looks somewhat dated but more significantly, a new mattress is desperately needed as the bed concaved in the middle. Another badly needed update is that the windows are all single pane so no additional noise or weather protection are offered. (Note: they often have pool parties with very loud music.). The front desk did confirm that our room was scheduled for an update but were vague about what that would include.
We had a number of things that needed addressing and they were prompt about repair plus the added touch of leaving a box of truffles to indicate they’ve been there. We accrued three boxes during our five day stay!
Someone in our group commented that service has gone downhill. Being our first visit, I can’t comment on how it has changed over time, but something is amiss. Service seemed disjointed, inconsistent. Example: Being on the Executive Level, our room was supposed to have turndown service. No one ever came. Another person in our group said that no one came to perform the daily cleaning unless/until they called. I had a great Spa pedicure and my provider was great. When I walked down the Promenade, the cleaner turned off the vacuum cleaner as I approached and turned it on again after I passed. When calling the Front Desk, however, they seemed confused who was calling and it took three days and multiple requests to get the message light turned off.

Room Tip: highest floor possible, Gulf side. NOT condominiums!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thesanluisresort, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for feedback of your recent stay on our Executive Level VIP floor. Upon request, we are glad to install a refrigerator and or microwave in your guest room for a $10 daily rental fee. Thank you for sharing that our Engineering team was prompt and courteous when correcting the issues you reported. We do offer complimentary turndown service upon request to all of our nightly guests. If I can be of assistance, please email ehimes@ldry.com

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, TX
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Hotel was fairly nice, but not fantastic. The music at the pool was WAY too loud and was hardcore thumping club music. There was also a lot of smoking outside but I don't think technically smoking was allowed...however no one was ever told to stop.

The room was nice, but bathroom was fairly small. I got a low price on Priceline so I was pretty satisfied, but had I paid full price I would have been disappointed. The good part was that we were able to park our car there for free during a cruise and they provided free shuttle transportation. However, the shuttle was CRAMMED. One person even had to sit on another's lap.

The room was cool, but the hallway was terribly hot.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a view of the ocean, and that's nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thesanluisresort, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for choosing The San Luis hotel while staying in Galveston. Over the past months we have been much more cognizant of the music levels at our pool and keeping the volume at an appropriate level. Additonally we are a non-smoking property and the only smoking allowed is near valet parking and at our lower level northside hotel entrance; we are quite strick on enforcing our non-smoking policy. Thank you for staying with us before your cruise and if I can be of further assistance you can email ehimes@ldry.com

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My family booked massages at the spa. For the property being owned by the Landry Corporation (and that it is a "luxury" hote), I was shocked by the condition of the spa. The robes were tattered, and the spa shoes were flip flops that appeared to come from a discount store. The worst was the "relaxation" area. The carpets are faded, the chairs are very dirty and worn. The service was ok- but not as "special" as I was expecting from this property. I was also surprised by the disorganization at the reception area. In fact, the employee who checked us out was very rude. I was also surprised at the condition on the woman's changing area. It was not maintained. There were used robes, towels and shoes lying and hanging around the changing area. Very unsightly. There was also used toilletry items and stem wear that were left by previous customers. Although my step daughter and I were escorted into the room by an employee when we checked in, these items were not noticed and/or the workers did not care about the condition of this space. When I finished my massage, an hour later, the items were still there. Next time I'm going to the Galvez or Moody Gardens. Not impressed!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else for spa services!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thesanluisresort, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thanks for reviewing your stay with us. I apologize your experience at Spa San Luis did not meet your expectations. I have shared your comments with the Spa staff to ensure we are monitoring the cleanliness of the locker rooms as well as all areas. I do hope the rest of your stay was enjoyable and relaxing. If I can be of further assistance, please email ehimes@ldry.com

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The San Luis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The San Luis Resort

Address: 5222 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#9 Business Hotel in Galveston
#11 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The San Luis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Luis Resort, Spa & Conference Center is one of the Gulf Coast's finest beachfront properties offering a variety of luxury options. From Spa San Luis and the heated pool to its 40,000 sq. Ft. IACC conference center and magnificent gulf views, it's an ideal destination for vacationers, business travel and corporate meetings. Our AAA Four Diamond rated resort offers the finest in award-winning dining, overnight accommodations and first-class personalized and professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The San Luis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Luis Resort Galveston Texas
San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Louis Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The San Luis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.