We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised at accommodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The San Luis Resort

Save Saved
You added The San Luis Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The San Luis Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5222 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Upgrade your Labor Day
Ranked #16 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Van Alstyne, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised at accommodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My family (wife + 3 kids) and I decided to go all out for a brief trip to Galveston and we selected the San Luis for its inviting and kid-friendly pool as well as the proximity to the beach. We were pleasantly surprised at the size of the room and our 14th floor view. The beds were mediocre in comfort and the bathroom was exceptionally small. However, the room itself was more spacious than I expected. Our rate as $268/night and didn't include a refrigerator, but we brought a cooler to store drinks. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, so that was a big plus coming from a luxury resort. The pool with slide were great and my kids loved it. Beware adults: the slide gave us hip bruises since the heavier weight pulls you down faster and against the wall harder. It was fun anyway. Better close-by food options would have helped make it easier for us since we didn't eat at the ultra-expensive on-resort restaurants. The IHOP next door was always crowded and not an option with a 1.5 yr old who wants to eat NOW! It seemed that the music was playing constantly at all hours of the day/night and at a volume that's not really kid-friendly. We could hear it well from our 14th floor balcony. It looked like they were trying to attract a younger, single crowd with the H2O bar at the pool, which was connected to the main pool. The clientele was definitely more families than singles from what we saw. I would recommend this resort for families with older children, couples-only or singles who are ready to shell out big bucks for a hotel. All in all, we had a good time at the San Luis and would give it a good rating.

Room Tip: All rooms from what we could tell are ocean-facing with good views. However, since the pool music v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thesanluisresort, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
We're so pleased to hear that you, your wife and your children enjoyed staying with us on our 32-acre resort. We look forward to having you and your family stay with us again soon!
Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    355
    185
    118
    79
    94
See reviews for
228
264
18
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Gorgeous grounds and interior! Everyone we encountered that were employees were very friendly and courteous. My only negative note is that I wish they offered rooms with two queen beds as we traveled with our kids and two double beds are a bit cramped! The pool is awesome.

Room Tip: Stay during the week and spoil yourself with a VIP suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thesanluisresort, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for staying with us for the summer! As you mention, our rooms with two beds are Doubles, not Queens. We are happy to provide an air mattress by requesting one from Housekeeping. Also, the Holiday Inn Resort- On the Beach, located right next door, does have rooms with two Queen beds, rather than Double beds. So glad you enjoyed yourself and we look forward to have you return soon!
Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The facility here is the strong point (wonderful pool with slide for kids and bar for adults). All rooms are large and spacious and well equipped. Great beach access and nearby restaurants. Elevators are frustrating during check in and check out times (not uncommon to wait 3-4 minutes (which seems like an eternity) for a lift). The service is average from the front desk and throughout the facility. Not a vast number of folks that seem to go beyond their core tasks of checking in and responding when asked for a specific request. Hotel would likely be rated as excellent if staff were more thoroughly trained by mgmt to interact more with guests (more conversation more attempts to go above and beyond in terms of serving the guests). In my whole time there I never crossed paths with a member of mgmt. They seemed to be hidden in back rooms rather than getting out and mingling with guests. I'm not saying service was bad but it also wasn't superb across the property. This is a fault of mgmt rather than the staff themselves.

Room Tip: Stay above 9th floor if you want to be able to see pool. The corridors are long so would recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thesanluisresort, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We do apologize for not interacting with you, our guests, as we should. I will certainly share your feedback with all of our staff in hopes to increase the visibility of our Management and interactions with our Guests by all team members. If I can be of further assistance, please email ehimes@ldry.com

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Definitely not a relaxing and restful venue. The hotel seemed to attract inconsiderate guests, strange 'cabanas' around pool that only encouraged some weird and unmentionable behaviour. Loud music around pool seemed to be the norm - I think the sound of the waves crashing would be preferable. Other than that, the hotel is really well situated, beautiful view from all rooms, helpful staff and good service. It's a pity they can't screen their guests.

Room Tip: Avoid holiday weekends!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thesanluisresort, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us when in Galveston. I have shared your feedback about loud music and poolside behavior of other guests with our Management and Security team. Thank you for sharing your experience and if I can be of further assistance, please email ehimes@ldry.com.
Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haltom City
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The staff at the pool was not good at all. We sat for 2 hours and was served two drinks because the boys would only wait on the younger ladies. After we complained to the manager Andrew he was of no help either. He said he would get our next drink on him and never even went to see what the problem was or even let them know about our drinks. If i can pay over 400 a night for the ph suit I think I can afford to buy my own drinks. Also when you see the pictures of the pool you can only use a lounge chair. The nice round sofa's you see can only be used if you pay for them. The pictire of what you get is very misleading. We were on the 15th PH floor and house keeping was was not good either, mold on the bath tub tile, water would not come out of the shower because of low water pressure. and drain was broken to drain thw water out. The room service menu is also very poor in choices of things to get. In all the hotel looks nice in the lobby but not worth the price that we paid for 4 days. After all we were not sleeping in the lobby.

Room Tip: Check other places to stay before you pay the high price for this hotel. I would only give a 2 star...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thesanluisresort, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We do apologize for the wait at H2o, as we try our best to have enough staff to provide timely service to our guests. As you mention, our poolside lounge chairs are complimentary; cabanas and other private pool seating is available for daily rental. I shared your feedback about the room with Engineering to take a look at the low water pressure and missing bathroom drain in your guest room. Also, we have a brand new room service menu starting this weekend, with hundreds of options to choose from. If I can be of additional assistance, please email ehimes@ldry.com
Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappell Hill, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The view was great! Loved sitting on the balconey overlooking the beach. The room was dated. Carpet had spots and lamps did not work. The bathroom was a little small. Could hear the music from pool - started about 8:00 a.m. and went until midnight.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thesanluisresort, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay with us. We're excited that you enjoyed your oceanfront room and are pleased to let you know our rooms will undergo renovations beginning in the fall- new carpet, bathroom remodel, new lighting and more. We hope you will stay with us again soon.
Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Just stayed at the San Luis the weekend of July 21 with my husband and two children. Hotel is at, at best, a 3 star. It was an OK stay, but I would not return. I'll preface by saying we travel a lot and generally only stay at 4 and 5 star hotels and occasionally the exceptional 3 star. I like comfortable accommodations with great service. This was our first visit to Galveston- it's kind of a dump, but it's the closest beach to us. Not a spectacular beach at that, but still nice to put your toes in the sand- which was clean and a lot of fun.

Pros: Service is great. The bell boys and valet service were wonderful. Those guys are so friendly and helpful, without leaving you feeling like they just want a tip. The hotel has a car and the guys will drive you to any restaurant or location you need. We used it multiple times, great service. The location of the hotel is very nice- close to beach, restaurants, shopping. Pool is nice and clean, the slide was great for the kids and the service at the pool was also great. I left my iphone in the room after checkout. Housekeeping found it and called my husband to return it to me- impressed with the integrity!

Cons: Hotel rooms are run down and need a remodel. The decor doesn't match in the rooms, sheets are scratchy, the marble entries are super slippery, the bathrooms are absurdly small. You can see mold and other water spots throughout corners and crevices. Beds are just OK in comfort- maybe a 2 star quality. We stayed in the penthouse level so we could use the VIP lobby area for snacks and such. Totally not worth the extra cost!!! You do get free bottled water in the VIP lounge, but the snacks consist of water and jars of candy. The breakfast is juice, coffee, fruit and really bad pastries. Not worth it. The pool area during our weekend was overrun with 20 and 30 somethings that looked like strippers and bouncers. Or 40 and 50 somethings trying to look like the 20 year olds. Not exactly kid-friendly. They were drunk and strutting their stuff. In addition, the bar lounge plays really loud music until late (about 2am). We were glad to be on the 15th floor, but we could still hear it. Disappointing as their website markets their hotel as family friendly, when in fact it appeared they were trying for a Vegas-style pool party. Incidentally, it appears that all their money in recent years has gone into the pool area rather than maintaining the rooms.

At any rate, we had fun regardless- try The Original Mexican cafe or the The Spot for food- yummy, casual and family friendly. We built sandcastles, splashed around in the murky gulf water, but it was a nice family weekend. Service was really great at San Luis, but overall, the hotel was not at all worth the cost. We would not return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thesanluisresort, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for your compliments to our valet team, pool area and housekeeping! We're also please to share that our rooms & bathrooms will be remodeled in the fall with new updates. We are also in the process of upgrading our breakfast and snacks on our VIP floors. Our pool area does tend to get crowded during the weekend, and we apologize for you not feeling like it was family-friendly. If I can be of any assistance to you, please email ehimes@ldry.com.

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The San Luis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The San Luis Resort

Address: 5222 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#11 Business Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The San Luis Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Luis Resort, Spa & Conference Center is one of the Gulf Coast's finest beachfront properties offering a variety of luxury options. From Spa San Luis and the heated pool to its 40,000 sq. Ft. IACC conference center and magnificent gulf views, it's an ideal destination for vacationers, business travel and corporate meetings. Our AAA Four Diamond rated resort offers the finest in award-winning dining, overnight accommodations and first-class personalized and professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your The San Luis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Luis Resort Galveston Texas
San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Louis Hotel Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The San Luis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.