We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The San Luis Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The San Luis Resort to your Saves list
The San Luis Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5222 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Memorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Great get-away spot with your family or friends! It's a beautiful property and the hotel is AWESOME! The tiki bar is is super cool too. Stayed here with my family when I was younger and several times with friends. Family orientated kind of place, so you're guaranteed a good night's sleep. Right across from the beach.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NextStopIsWhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thesanluisresort, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
We are thrilled you always enjoy staying at The San Luis! We look forward to having you stay again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Arlington TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

The hotel is beautiful, especially by the pool. It's heated, and there is a waterfall pool that is also heated too! The daytime staff was great, but not the night staff. Really just one guy.. room service was pretty fast. Housekeeping staff was pretty good, except for a few incidents of them not replacing things like coffee mugs, robes... All in all I don't know if I would stay there again, I usually go with chain hotels who have a great reputation - Holiday Inn Sunspree is nice!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thesanluisresort, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our warm pool over your stay! Please feel free to reach out regarding the incident with a night staff employee as we attempt to correct any issues our guests encounter; my email is ehimes@ldry.com. We would love to welcome you back to our property, or the Holiday Inn Resort on the Beach or Hilton Galveston Island Resort, as they all make-up the 32-acre San Luis Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This place was gorgeous. The pool is a luxorious place to hang out. There are little private cabanas, and swim up bar service, and play upbeat fun music. The rooms are super nice as well. Everything is very close. You can walk right across the street and go to the beach, go to IHOP, Rainforest cafe, etc. We just stayed for the night, but had a blast and definately recommend it to anyone who wants to be pampered and wants to endulge. A little on the pricey side though.

Room Tip: If you are staying here, you may as well upgrade to an oceanview room. It is a little more, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tp5970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thesanluisresort, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
We are warmed to hear you had such an enjoyable time at our property! Please let us know when you plan to return as we hope to WOW you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

There are a lot of hotel options in Galveston but in my opinion none offer the service and experience of the San Luis Resort! This hotel is uniquely crescent shaped so that every room faces the ocean! When they say "ocean view" it isn't the type of view that you get from craning your neck around a wall to see the water. It looks directly over the ocean! The hotel and pool areas are elevated high above Seawall Blvd and offer spectacular views of the water and it has a lot of complimentary parking available for guests. The staff is always ready and willing to help in any way possible to make sure that your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. The breakfast buffet is extensive and the fresh orange juice is delicious. For a special treat I highly recommend dining at The Steakhouse. The name may not be very original but the food is unbelievable!! I don't think you'll find a better steak in Galveston or anwhere else for that matter!

Room Tip: The higher floors offer the best views! The 10th floor is the concierge level and they have complim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeetingsToGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thesanluisresort, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
We pride ourselves on being a Four Diamond oceanfront property, and are so glad you were able to enjoy all that is the San Luis! The Steakhouse was voted #1 Steakhouse in Texas by Tom Horan's America's Top Ten Club for 2012 and is led by an impeccable General Manager and Chef. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We love to get away to the ocean and the San Luis provided a great atmosphere in the heart of the Galveston sea wall area. We only stayed two nights, but could have easily stayed more. The hotel staff was exceptionally pleasant. The common areas were clean and maintained. The pool area had a "resort" feel to it, which was nice. That being said, it is a pretty small area, and if the hotel is near capacity, the pool would be very crowded. This is especially true considering Galveston does not have a really nice beach.

The hotel is conveniently located next to The Rain Forest Cafe and Landry's Seafood (walking distance just across the street). We never ate at the resort, but I will say the steak restaurant smelled amazing.

With regards to Galveston, just know what you should expect. It's a nice little island, often used to port out for cruise ships. It is still trying to recover from hurricane IKE, but making nice progress. The beaches are very sub par, since the island is below sea level. I don't mean to sound critical, because we really enjoyed our time there, but we knew what to expect going in. If you demand crystal clear water and pristine beaches, don't go to Galveston. If you want a quick getaway, then Galveston should do just fine.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikim_OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thesanluisresort, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found our entire 32-acre resort to be clean and well-maintained. We hope to welcome you and your family back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

The San Luis is a great hotel and resort to stay for a getaway from Houston! My wife and I stayed March 19 and were treated to a fabulous upgrade( which I asked for and received) We stayed on the top floor over looking the water. The club floors 10, 15,16 are great because they have snacks and water out all day as well as continental breakfast out until 10am each morning. At night we went to the H2O bar which was a GREAT pool bar atmosphere. If you like mojitos ask the bartender to make HER mojito. It is stronger and better than the original blackberry mojito. If I could critic the pool bar at all was it takes 10 minutes to get your drink after you order it. The service is great so it did not bother us. Try the filet at The Steakhouse and if you are in the mood for seafood try Landrys next door for the blackened tuna (Superb).Overall great night stay if you are looking to get away from the hussle and bussle of Houston for a day or week for that matter. We will certainly go back again!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chadspencer08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thesanluisresort, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Great discovery on the personalized blackberry mojito at our extensive mojito bar! We are pleased you and your wife enjoyed a great escape to Galveston Island and chose to stay with us. If we can be of further assistance for your future stays, please reach out to me, ehimes@ldry.com. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We just got back from this hotel yesterday and I have to say I feel a bit ripped off. I always try to book a concierge level room since it seems to be a little easier with two kids. Usually.... this type of room level provides light breakfast, sodas, cookies, fruit, cheese sometimes a Honor bar or free wine. When calling the resort I asked this question. After being transfered to several people to answer my question I WAS TOLD YES THEY DID have a lounge with the following. I booked the hotel and paid $229 plus tax verses $180 plus tax for the basic room. When we stepped off the elevator I noticed a small table with a few pieces of fruit some candy and bottled water. When I called down to ask where the concierge lounge was I was told that was it. Really???? So I asked about breakfast? I was told they will put a few items on the same table. I asked well where do my children eat if that is the spot. I was told on the couch. Really... small children eating cereal on a couch and not a table. Well needless to say we did not eat breakfast. They did have something that seemed to taste a little like coffee, orange juice, a few tiny pastries (really a few), a bowl of yogurt opened and not chilled, and cereal with raisins that was poured in a large bowl for you to scoop it out. I think for the difference in price.... I would have rathered saved the money and walked down to the IHOP that was located in the parking lot. The IHOP sits just across the street from the Rainforest Cafe for a refrence point. I must say that the children did enjoy the pool area. It was large with a pool slide and two hot tub areas. The children did have fun swimming but OH MY the chlorine in the pool was so strong. I guess this beats swimming in a pool full of germs though. Ok so would I stay here again... Lets see... I had to go down to the front desk three times because the keys were not working right. The rooms were nice but still old. We had a room with two double beds that were really small. I can say that we did not have a good nights sleep. Oh and I must add.... if you want to stay at this hotel so you can sleep in the next morning.... forget it. The curtains are a sheer beige curtain that keeps no light out. In review, I guess I would go back just because of the pool area for the kids but believe me I would pay no more than the $180 rate for the basic room that I saw listed.

Room Tip: Do not pay for upgraded room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cconnor31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thesanluisresort, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Our concierge level is exactly as you describe, an open-lobby area as you exit the elevators, that has a variety of candy bars in the afternoon and is filled with fresh juice and coffee as well as an assortment of breakfast items. We don't offer a full breakfast on our VIP floors as so many of our guests choose to dine in our restaurants throughout the propert. I am sorry your keys did not work and we should have sent a staff member to assist. As all of our rooms are ocean front, facing south and are equipped with a sheer curtain as well as a black-out curtain. Please feel free to reach out and I am happy to look further into your stay with us. I can be reached at ehimes@ldry.com.

Regards,
Elizabeth Himes
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.7 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
3.0 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#3 of 49 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 stars 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The San Luis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The San Luis Resort

Address: 5222 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Business Hotel in Galveston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#10 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The San Luis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Luis Resort, Spa & Conference Center is one of the Gulf Coast's finest beachfront properties offering a variety of luxury options. From Spa San Luis and the heated pool to its 40,000 sq. Ft. IACC conference center and magnificent gulf views, it's an ideal destination for vacationers, business travel and corporate meetings. Our AAA Four Diamond rated resort offers the finest in award-winning dining, overnight accommodations and first-class personalized and professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The San Luis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Luis Resort Galveston Texas
San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Louis Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing