We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View Great Staff Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1402 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-8199   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Austin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great View Great Staff Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed over the weekend for a friend's wedding and had an excellent visit. Check in was a breeze. I requested to be near friends and even though the hotel was sold out, they were able to get me right next door to them. My room had a view of the seawall and Galveston Beach. Beautiful view. The room overlooked the pool and beach. My room was clean and neatly appointed. The in room coffee was so great that I requested more and Sharon from the front desk was kind enough to bring it up for me. I have only been to Galveston a couple times so I had lots of direction questions for the desk and every time I needed help, Sharon was there to assist me. She helped me locate the wedding reception venue, helped me with maps of the area, and was able to give me directions to a pedicure place nearby. Thanks and I will absolutely be back.

Room Tip: My third floor room with two beds faced the beach. Great view. Walking distance to lots of fun stu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    94
    50
    40
    31
See reviews for
166
66
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I just wanted to write since we had read a couple of bad reviews re dirty rooms, urine smell and cockroaches. We were a bit apprehensive checking in, but were very pleasantly surprised. Clean rooms, friendly service, good breakfast. I would say it was great for what it is, a clean and convenient motel in Galveston. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Great price and location. I'm glade I chose to send less on the hotel and have more money for fun. Older hotel but nice and clean, good breakfast, nice staff. We had a great time in in Galveston. It was nice to have a hotel so close to everything.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed in the Full bed suite with the gulf view, which also had 2 sofas that pulled out into beds. Large and open with mini kitchen, mini fridge, microwave, quiet, next to Denny's restaurant, great staff, free breakfast and wifi, great location! I'm not sure how quiet the rooms are in the outside rooms, but ours was located inside and we very much enjoyed it. We went after Spring Break so it wouldn't be loud or crowded. Room was clean and comfortable. Plan on staying again soon (in the same room) for my girls birthday trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Josette Kuykendall:

In response to your e-mail inquiring about our recent stay at La Quinta: We stayed from Friday 3/22/2013 to 3/24/2013. Upon arrival to our room (311), we noticed a dog/cigarette smell. After febreezing the room it was somewhat better and it was late so we decided to bathe the children. We found the bathroom to be dirty with hair and mildew in the tub and hair on the toliet seat. We cleaned and sanitized the bathroom and sink, and bathed the children and to our dismay, when we went to take them out the tub would not drain. I poured a coke down it to see if it would drain, but it did not help. The toilet would only flush when you hold down the lever all the way. Every one else needed a bath, it was late and we were disgusted in our choice of hotels at this point. The night clerk, Steve came and pulled enough hair out of the drain to cover a small dog. We re-cleanedand re-sanitized everything so everybody could shower.The next morning we reported everything to mgmt. The base of the toilet had several layers of filthe and hair on it as well as the base of the walls and inside the bathroom door. We were told the room would be cleaned and that they were going to discount the bill. We just wanted to enjoy our trip to Galveston to celebrate our daughter's birthday. The room was still not cleaned properly, they did discount our bill, but our trip was continually interrupted because we were cleaning the room we paid for to be clean. Am I suppose to be happy because you discounted our bill? I have one word for you NASTY!

Room Tip: Don't stay here unless you have nothing else to do but clean your room you paid them for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We booked the parlor suite. Which is two full beds and a king bed. I thought it was a good deal.
Once you arrive, you will notice that the parking lot is super crowded and tight. With a full size truck, it's a difficult task to park. The room smelled like stale urine. There was a red leather love seat that was torn and covered with duct tape.
The room was very outdated. The shower head needs to be replaced. The mattresses appear old and worn. Yes I checked the mattress for bed bugs. None were found. The breakfast is subpar.
Honestly the smell of urine was the worst issue for me. Who wants to smell urine all night? I will never book there again. The owner needs to do some major updating.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach

Address: 1402 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-8199
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, LaQuinta, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Galveston Hotel Galveston
La Quinta Hotel Galveston
Galveston La Quinta
La Quinta Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.