We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with fabulous view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1402 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-8199   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 49 hotels in Galveston
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great hotel with fabulous view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Rooms are very clean, adequate space, excellent service. A great place to enjoy yourself and get away from it all. I personally love this hotel, and cannot wait to go back for more. Reasonably priced for what you get. It is so very nice for a hardworking person to get away and have some peace of mind in an environment suitable for doing just that.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    94
    50
    41
    31
See reviews for
166
66
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granbury, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

OK, from my experiences...beach towns are not like other destinations. We love the "No worries" attitude on vacation, right. Well, I think we may need to remember that when we get grossed out with rusted railings or sandy pools. We have stayed at both East and West locations. West is newer, but the East location is awesome if you want to be in the middle of the island action. The "free" breakfast was not a great experience. Long line....It was a little rundown, but as the title says "Hakuna Matata". Go in knowing this is not the Galvez in Galveston, but La Quinta.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with ocean view. Parking is tight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We arrived in Galveston after taking a shuttle in from George Bush International Airport in Houston. The staff were friendly and the place was situated right across the street from the beach. The rooms were clean but the bathroom smelled of urine and I kept the door closed for the night we were there ! Its a beautiful area and if you can do it a nice walk to see the homes in the historic section is definately a nice way to see the town . The beds were clean and crisp and they serve a breakfast in the morning that isnt bad and if you are on your way out. We were on our way to the Dock the next day for a cruise to the Western Carribean but the hotel has no Shuttle bus so we had to get a cab which was proving difficult as many others vacationers were headed there as well! Its only about 10 mins to the dock so at least it didnt cost us a lot! Galveston at the end of February isnt deserted and in the summer its probably alive with Beach Buffs! For ann overnight stay it filled the need but a long term stay I just couldnt see !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Very clean and comfortable rooms,great location, good service . Close to restaurants and points of interest. Good swimming pool and parking spaces. Good value , very quiet neighborhood. Great view of the coast and attractions
Will definitely come back and stay , good price.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

After checking in on March 1, we headed up to our room on the 3rd floor. This hotel is a '60s style motel with exterior hallways facing the parking lots. Upon arriving at our room, I noticed a styrofoam coffee cup full of cigarette butts just outside our window next to an exit door. Couldn't open the room door with either of our two pass cards. Went back down to the lobby and got the pass cards validated properly.

Entered the room and got hit with a blast of stale cigarette smoke. My wife screamed when she went into the bathroom due to finding a large upside down cockroach on the floor in front of the toilet. As I was brushing it into a garbage can, I noticed it wasn't quite dead as it's legs were moving slightly. Although we never saw another roach, it creeped us out and we kept thinking the place was dirty.

That wasn't the case since the room was clean. We both slept fine but hated coming back into the room and noticing the stale cigarette smoke each time.

The free breakfast was below average. One of the 3 waffle makers was out of order; one of the others only half cooked the waffle batter resulting in a gooey mess. I wound up eating Froot Loops for both mornings that we were there.

It felt like we were staying at an average budget motel but paying too much. Our rate was $109 on Friday and $129 on Saturday. If I had been paying in the $60-80 range, I would have just chalked it up to "you get what you pay for". But no, we were paying much more than that.

We cancelled the last three days on our reservation and moved across town to the Hampton Inn. It was like day and night. The Hampton Inn was like a luxury inn. Everything was newer, brighter and quieter. Bigger bathroom; outstanding breakfast with 3 hot choices in addition to the standard waffles; fresh cookies and fruit; a hot tub. It actually felt like we were on vacation and being pampered as opposed to us putting up with little irritations and "making do".

Although the Hampton Inn costs about $15 more each night, the vast difference between the two properties is worth it if you are on vacation. If you're just looking for a place to crash for a night before a cruise, this La Quinta would fit the bill.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Lots of bang for your buck here, right on 14th and Seawall. While it is an older property, it was spotlessly clean. I'm very picky about the bathrooms in particular and I had no trouble whatsoever going barefoot both in the room and in the bathroom/shower. The mini-fridge worked great, wi-fi reception was 5 bars and it's pet friendly to boot! Beds and pillows were extremely comfortable, A/C worked great and the staff was super friendly and helpful. I'll be back with the family for a weekend this summer!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We traveled to Galveston from the midwest to get away from the cold, snow, and ice for a few days. We always look for La Quinta Inns for lodging when possible because we generally have had very good experiences at them and we travel with our small dog, who is welcome at La Qunita hotels. The hotel we reserved ended up being probably the oldest one we have stayed in and has a problem with german cockroaches. The manager generously offered to comp us the room and move us to another one after the first night, when we found a live cockroach. We moved to another room, and the next morning found a dead cockroach in the bathroom doorway. That was it for us. We had to cut our time on the island short because we could not find another hotel on the weekend that would accept our dog, except for one that charged more than we could afford (retired, on fixed income). The staff was responsive, but we were a little freaked out by the roaches. When we got home, we had to thoroughly clean everything that we had taken with us just in case any roaches had hitchhiked home with us. We do not recommend this hotel, but do appreciate the effort of the staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach

Address: 1402 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-8199
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, LaQuinta, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Galveston Hotel Galveston
La Quinta Hotel Galveston
Galveston La Quinta
La Quinta Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.