We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise! Place seemed to be updated since last stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1402 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-8199   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 49 hotels in Galveston
austin
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nice surprise! Place seemed to be updated since last stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Our room was one of the few accessed via the lobby. Excellent view of the gulf from our room! Room was clean, with cold fridge and comfortable bed. Hot water was plentiful, and good water pressure. Front desk was friendly. We didn't eat the breakfast, but I saw boiled eggs, waffle maker, pastries, yogurt and apples. Due to the proximity of our room to the seawall there was some vehicle traffic noise at night. The view from our room was worth putting up with some noise though! Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    95
    55
    42
    34
See reviews for
173
68
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastland, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We loved opening the door and hearing the ocean waves rolling in. Great view and sound. :)
Breakfast was good with those texas shaped waffles. Love that. We will definitely stay here everytime we return to Galveston beach. Anyone traveling to Galveston Beach needs to go ride the ferry across to Galveston Island. It is free and a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallatin, Tennessee, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Right accross from the gulf. Rooms were much nicer than expected at the beach. Very confortabe. Not very excited about minimum number of characters. If they insist, I will keep typing until I reach 200.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed here waiting for our cruise the next day. Perfect spot to get out and walk along the seawall and see the "pleasure Pier" and restaurants. Not high class but clean and good value. Small outdoor pool. The water and beach aren't beautiful here. That was for the cruise! There was a loud motorcycle rally, so watch out for that weekend!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I come to Galveston every fall for a few days of fishing. This hotel is perfect for me--it's centrally located, inexpensive, fairly clean and has a decent breakfast. I would highly recommend for anyone visiting the area for a short stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

You love our dogs and we love your hotel!!! They are clean and the service is good!! Thanks for being everywhere we want to travel. There was not a restaurant but Denny's was in the parking lot. Parking lot and walk ways needed to be cleaned badly! Close to the beach!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

La Quinta Inns have a large range. This one was decent but not great. It's in a pretty good location, right on the Seawall and directly across from steps down to the beach. It's within walking distance of good restaurants and only a few minutes drive to The Strand or cruise terminal.

The rooms were clean enough but certainly not spotless. Beds were alright, and the room came with a large flatscreen, fridge and microwave. The entire hotel smelled vaguely of something but I chalk that up to the location right on the beach and the incessant Galveston humidity. One unpleasant surprise -- during a shower the large ceramic soap dish normally attached to the shower wall fell off! Almost crushed my foot. Reported it to the front desk and housekeeping cleaned up the mess, but no one came to fix it while we were there or offered anything in the way of compensation. The hotel was completely booked so we couldn't move to a different room.

Watch out for the maid service folks in the morning. Both days we were there, the people cleaning the rooms parked their big dirty laundry receptacle in the parking lot and tossed dirty bed sheets and towels into it over the balcony from the above floors. They didn't always make it in the basket so be aware of falling laundry when you go out to your car in the morning.

Our "ocean view" was seen through the window out onto the walkway that people travel to get to their rooms. We would've been able to enjoy it more if a large group of folks 50+ hadn't chosen to park themselves outside our door to smoke & chat most of the night. I don't blame the hotel for that though.

We didn't use the pool but it was popular with families while we were there. It looked pretty well maintained with a large deck area.

Free continental breakfast - standard cold cereals, yogurts, pastries - with a waffle bar. The two mornings we ate there, it seemed like the front desk clerk also had to manage the breakfast stations so when things went empty or needed refreshing, you had to go up and ask. Response was always pleasant and decently quick, but it's a shame they can't staff a separate attendant to keep an eye on things. The seating area is larger than it looks -- there are more tables and chairs down a little hallway at the back where we easily found a quiet place to sit and eat.

Parking lot requires some attention. Seemed like plenty of spaces if you didn't mind having to park a ways from your room, but the individual spots were small and the lot itself was in pretty rough shape. If you don't drive an SUV, drive slowly going in and out to avoid bottoming out your car - none of the driveways are the same level as the street.

I would stay here again - for the amount we paid per night it was a decent value (Sept 2012). This place has the potential to be pretty great if they spruced it up a bit and paid a bit more attention to maintenance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach

Address: 1402 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-8199
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Galveston Hotel Galveston
La Quinta Hotel Galveston
Galveston La Quinta
La Quinta Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.