We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice night away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5002 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Nice night away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Went for a quick close overnight trip with my daughter and grandchildren. We all enjoyed the pool. It was nice having the swim up pool bar for drinks and the outside grill for a quick bite. Landry's restuarant was right next door which has wonderful seafood. Didn't have to get back in the car to go eat. The only negative was that the waitstaff at the breakfast in the hotel is VERY slow.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    209
    108
    63
    51
See reviews for
265
160
17
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
EL PASO, TEXAS
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

this hotel has it all. nice bar, good food at the restaurant, every room faces the ocean. you need to stay in the upper floors to get the best views and the rooms have balconies. the staff is nice and its close to the rainforest cafe. and it has a gameroom. its kid friendly.

Room Tip: get 5th floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

OK so I realize it's Galveston Texas it's not Manhattan and I shouldn't be expecting the Ritz Carlton. But at the fine price of almost $300 a night for 3 nights I would at least expect what I requested when I made my reservation. Got there at 9:30 very tired and ready to get in our room. We were immediately told that my room was not available but they did have another room they could offer me. It was a disabled room on the first floor that had no bathtub (even though the concierge said it did have one) and a bathtub was a big deal to me at that time after flying half a day and driving down to Galveston. So after going to the room and discovering the concierge was incorrect. No tub we held out and pressed on and we got the manager involved and they got us into a room at the bathtub. Now here is where things get interesting. Not only have we had to pitch a fit to get our room we are now in a room that has a view of the roof of the building in front of us. And while I think we've all had that happen to us at least once the things we could see from our room were not OK. Just to list a few there was a man's pair of underwear a credit card a dead bird some kind of electrical box that had clearly at some point caught on fire. It looked as though management thought that if they just put maybe 2 x 4 between the electrical box and The air-conditioner it would solve the shorting problem. Whatever they were trying to accomplish is no doubt not up to code. So our three day beach vacation was spent with no view of the beach sitting directly over the service entry so we could see the service people smoking cigarettes bringing laundry in and out and doing all kinds of other things. Not to mention that they had a free standing ladder right there that anybody at any moment could've turned around and simply climbed up to the balcony on any one of the rooms on our floor. Which for sine reason house keeping never managed to lock back up when they left (coincidence?? I dunno). To be fair the room was nice inside. It was clean and it was comfortable. But I don't vacation at the beach so that I can look at air-conditioners from my balcony. And I certainly plan my vacation with enough advance notice that that shouldn't of happened. Those rooms should be reserved for the people who just walk in off the street needing a place to stay for the night. Not the ones who book in advance and plan on staying for more than one night. Please take a look at the lovely pictures I'm posting they will give you a great idea of how our weekend was. In short. Tillman Fertitta (the owner of MOST of Galveston island. The San Luis included) has failed miserably. He should consider just shutting down that entire floor. It's a disgrace. Oh. And we won't even get into the 12 elevator rides I took just to get a bottle of water

Stayed August 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for staying with us. We want to apologize that you had a poor experience with our resort. It is not the standard of our hotel. Our hotel takes pride in providing a quality product, a well-maintained and clean hotel, and friendly & courteous service. We again apologize for your inconvenience. We would welcome the opportunity to speak with you about your stay, please email higv@ldry.com. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed here for the weekend. Rooms were clean and very nice. We stayed on the 5th floor and had a view of the beach. For a beach view, I would suggest 4th floor or higher. Bed were a little hard for our liking, but that is minor. We would stay there again. We were without kids, but noticed they had several kid areas and activities.

Room Tip: 4th floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location - beach across the street, next to the Rainforest Cafe, shopping center/fast food within walking distance. Restaurant and Bar on property. Good full breakfast buffet (can either be paid per person or as part of a room package). Nice pool area. **Request a room that is 3rd floor or above, otherwise you will not have a pleasant view and also rooms around the elevators and drink/ice machines can be noisy.

Room Tip: Choose a room on floor 3 or above (otherwise you will have a bad view from your patio/balcony).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay. Thank you for choosing us and hope to see you on your next visit to Galveston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lady at the front desk Amy was very kind and helpful. Kids are having a blast! I will be back!!! The view is great too! I am looking forward to the rest of the evening. I hope everyone has the experience that we have had. God is good!

Stayed August 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for staying with us at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston- On the Beach. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed every part of our resort and our great views. We have a great family friendly resort with many activities for adults and children to enjoy and love hearing your kids are having a blast! Thank you for staying with us. We will share your great feedback with Amy and the entire team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great guest services experience. Parking was easy, we were warmly greeted upon arrival, and everything was clean and smelling good. Later in the day, we were handed cold bottles of water and the hotel staff gave our kids some video game tokens and popcorn. It was greatly appreciated.

Staff was very friendly, and it was genuine. Thanks!

Room Tip: Half the hotel has a nice view of the gulf. Lots of traffic on the elevators, so choose a lower flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for choosing our resort. Our entire team strives to provide the best customer service and am glad to hear that they met your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Galveston
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seawall Inn & Suites by the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel
2.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach

Address: 5002 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston- On the Beach features 8 stories of Gulfview rooms on beautiful Galveston Island. We are located at the premier San Luis Resort in the heart of the Texas Gulf Coast! Most of our 178 rooms have private balconies that overlook the Gulf or our sparkling outdoor pool. The Jetty Restaurant located in our lobby area provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner, as well as, room service. The famous B Jiggers Lounge is also located in our lobby offering live entertainment on the weekends and Happy Hour specials. Our hotel is centrally located to many Galveston attractions. Bring your sun block for your trip to the beach or Schlitterbahn Water Park. Go for a wild ride on the Rainforest Cafe and Adventure Ride, or if shopping is more your style spend the day at the Historical Strand Shopping District. Stay before a cruise on Royal Caribbean or Carnival Cruise Lines, and park your car with us, we provide transportation to and from the cruise terminals. Whether you want to take a historic home tour at Bishop s Palace, Moody Mansion or Ashton Villa or catch a play at The Grand 1894 Opera House we are the place to stay. The Galveston Island Convention Center is only blocks away, as well as prominent universities, UTMB and Texas A & M University. Upcoming Special Events: Lone Star Motorcycle Rally, and Mardi Gras. Now come Explore Galveston! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach Hotel Galveston
Holiday Inn Galveston
Galveston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.