We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5002 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Galveston
Covington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Decided to try something different this year, so headed West to Galveston Island. We have never been here before. After we booked the rooms we saw on the National news the mountains of seaweed on Galveston Beach. Too late to book anything else a week before in the Summer,and the fact I got a non refundable booking to save a few bucks( won't happen again) we were on our way to Galveston. Our Summer vacations always include the beach.

When we arrived the first thing you noticed was the smell. It was not overwhelming and depended on which way the wind was blowing. There was noticable piles of seaweed on the beach. The Hotel was actually very nice and we arrived a bit early so decided to go have some Pho at a Vietnamese place I found on the Internet nearby. I paid extra for a room with a "view" so we had to wait. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Room was clean although a bit on the small side. Location was excellent right on Beach of course and right in the middle of the main strip with a lot of restaraunts and things nearby. Pool was nice and kid friendly, Poolside bar, wife was miffed because they asked her for an ID even though she is in her mid thirties. didn't have ID in her Bikini.

Ordered some food at Poolside it was very good, better than I would expect at a Hotel. The first night at around 2 AM the A/C started making a loud wa wa wa wa sound. I called down at the front desk and politely complained. The next morning a very nice maintainence Mr. Benjamin knocked on our door to check the A/C. We had turned it off and when it was turned back on it hadn't got up to speed on the wawa. I convinced him that there was something wrong with the A/C and told him that I would call back. About a half hour later he showed up at our door with a brand new A/C unit on a cart. We were just leaving to go to the "Beach". I have to say that I was very impressed at this level of service . I have had this experience before just recently at another up market beachfront hotel in Florida, and was told sorry there were no other rooms available. Mr. Benjamin and the Holiday Inn made it right for us. When we returned the New A/C was on and so so quiet.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LLSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for the comments on our Engineering team- we love to hear when associates exceed our guest expectations. We're glad the new A/C resolved the issue and we hope you enjoyed your time in Galveston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My daughter, granddaughter, and I have visited this resort on two separate occasions recently and loved it each time. The facility/rooms are awesome and have everything you need if you decide to cook or just sit back and relax. I love that they have washer/dryers right outside the room! Beach access is awesome and the beach is very private! Parking is close to the rooms and carts are readily available to carry your luggage to the room! The balcony or even the window in the room have a beautiful view of the Gulf!! We loved it and hope to visit again in the near future!!!!!

Room Tip: Our room was on the east side facing out (not facing the pool) and was so much more private and quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnafromTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
We love hearing when our guests had a fantastic stay. Thanks for choosing to bring your family to stay with us- we hope you'll return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Had to wait over an hour for checking in .....after 4pm when tried to check in.. Supposedly for an upgraded room... Room was pretty good..bathroom had a smell to it...beds nice.. Great location..next door to San Louis hotel..no bottle water in room... Complimentary shuttle to pleasure pier...

Room Tip: At least 6th floor above pool... 5th floor air conditioners above lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleJeff101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Found a very good deal directly on the IHG website. When we checked in we were greeted right away and they were very friendly and easy to talk to. Since we were early the room wasn't ready, but she told us that she would call us as soon as it was ready. She certainly did call just 30 minutes later, it was nice to actually have someone do what they say they will. The beds were very comfortable and fluffy and each bed had four fluffy pillows. Everything was clean...EXCEPT that there were mold spots in the corners of the bathtub. The whole experience would have been rated a 10 all the way around if it weren't for the mold spots. There just isn't any reason for a hotel bathroom to have mold, not acceptable. Other than that, the rooms were so quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jens_kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We have shared your comments about the bathroom and will have our team look into this. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We booked this hotel to make a weekend trip while picking up our daughter from sea camp. This hotel has customer service down to an art! Checking in was a snap. Every staff member that we were in contact with from the time we checked in to the time we left was ready to do whatever they could to make our stay great! I am ready to stay here again! The pool area was just like being on a cruise ship! Here are some of the great things:
Great location, within walking distance of many places and the beach/seawall are right across the street
Beach umbrellas, chairs, and boogie board rentals (and a snow cone stand) within walking distance on the beach
Lots of daily kid activities for all ages: (this varies day to day and is complimentary)
By the pool: snow cones, decorate your own cookie, activities and contests, karaoke, smores at night with a big screen movie
Icee pops, popcorn, fresh iced strawberry/cantelope water, and coffee in the lobby during certain times
a 24 kid arcade (this does cost money)
pool side waitservice for drinks and fast food snacks
complimentary snack bar with peanuts, goldfish, and pretzels
entertainment entertainment entertainment- on Saturday we had a karaoke DJ, a dance party DJ and then a live band in the great bar
Great and friendly bartenders
You call for towels and they are delivered to the room extra fast and actually, within 15 minutes, two guys showed up with towels :)
Friendly housekeeping staff that do a super job
Comfy beds
Ed, the great shuttle driver that will take you anywhere in Galveston in a nice shuttle that feels like a big limo
I would so quickly give this hotel a 5 star rating, the staff is the best I have seen, but the building could use renovating. The lobby is very nice, but our room had elements that showed wear and tear, our beach view was blocked by roof top vents (the room location was my fault for accidentally booked smoking rooms :( - my bad) and our A/C struggled during the day because our intake air pulled straight from the dryer venting area - it was comfy cool at night though.
The facility needs to provide the staff a building that matches their service and they would be 5 stars all the way! Lovely place! Great for parents needing a break and kids to have fun! Thank you for a great weekend trip!

Room Tip: Make sure you book a non-smoking room. Most of the bottom floor room open onto the area that is near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lollie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
We love hearing when our guests enjoy their stay with us! Thanks for the review and we're glad you enjoyed Galveston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Spent Two days at the Hotel prior to leaving on a family cruise. Great location with a view to the ocean. Restaurant was good but a little pricy. Hotel needs a good cleaning but not in bad shape. Front desk was not friendly at all, but Debbie made up for that with her smile and energy at the concierge desk. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leepfrog66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thanks for staying with us before your cruise, and for letting us know Debbie made your stay enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weimar
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Very good place to take your family for a weekend getaway. They do a wonderful job with the pool area, you almost feel like you are on a cruise ship with the constant entertainment. Friendly and helpful staff. Our rooms were not the best our view was overlooking a rooftop. Pool area made up for the rooms.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Flossyh1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
We're glad your entire family enjoyed all of the activities we have each day during the summer months. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel
2.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach

Address: 5002 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston- On the Beach features 8 stories of Gulfview rooms on beautiful Galveston Island. We are located at the premier San Luis Resort in the heart of the Texas Gulf Coast! Most of our 178 rooms have private balconies that overlook the Gulf or our sparkling outdoor pool. The Jetty Restaurant located in our lobby area provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner, as well as, room service. The famous B Jiggers Lounge is also located in our lobby offering live entertainment on the weekends and Happy Hour specials. Our hotel is centrally located to many Galveston attractions. Bring your sun block for your trip to the beach or Schlitterbahn Water Park. Go for a wild ride on the Rainforest Cafe and Adventure Ride, or if shopping is more your style spend the day at the Historical Strand Shopping District. Stay before a cruise on Royal Caribbean or Carnival Cruise Lines, and park your car with us, we provide transportation to and from the cruise terminals. Whether you want to take a historic home tour at Bishop s Palace, Moody Mansion or Ashton Villa or catch a play at The Grand 1894 Opera House we are the place to stay. The Galveston Island Convention Center is only blocks away, as well as prominent universities, UTMB and Texas A & M University. Upcoming Special Events: Lone Star Motorcycle Rally, and Mardi Gras. Now come Explore Galveston! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach Hotel Galveston
Holiday Inn Galveston
Galveston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing