We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexperienced (?) staff and other problems” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5002 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #20 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
New Orleans
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Inexperienced (?) staff and other problems”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just came back from this hotel. First night, watched a wierd black wormy bug crawling around on the bathroom wall while I took a bath. (really creepy...) Was glad when it got washed down the drain when my son took a shower in the morning. Carpets on ground floor were obviously dirty. Room lock, for key entry, worked sporadically. (about 30% of the time..) Safe in room was non-functional, but was impossible to close and blocked the way when passing in and out of the room door. Second day, staff kept asking us if we were checking out. Repeatedly informed them that we were booked for another day. Maid came to make up our room a 2nd time at 4:00PM, when we were in it, because she claimed it was "vacant". Found out on the 3rd day, that they needed our room the day before for a large party they were putting on our floor. I'm not sure if they were trying to harass us until we left, or what??? We had an "executive" room, which meant we spent more, but overlooked the roof of the lobby and resturant. A view of multiple roof airconditioners and random wires did not seem very, "executive". Paid twice as much for this room as we should have. Feel taken advantage of. I'm willing to write off Holiday Inns as poorly maintained with questionable help after this trip. One bright note, Ed, one of the shuttle drivers, was great. The way you expect everyone to be when you spend a forture for a weekend at the beach. I'll never trust this hotel again.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
This is not the quality or service at our hotel. We apologize for your poor experience. Please contact me directly and I would be happy to provide you with a discount on your next stay.

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    185
    92
    56
    43
See reviews for
214
137
15
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

It has been several years since visiting the Holiday Inn on the Beach, and unfortunately the hotel is not what it used to be. We booked a room on the Holiday Inn website. Upon arrival I asked for a room up high - the response was, we have you on the 2nd floor -if you want to move higher you can upgrade for $20/floor per night. Nothing about this on the website, and I did not feel it was worth the extra $$ to be on a higher floor. Fortunately we were on the end of the floor and not over the front of the building.. The bar was loud and overcrowded, we did not go there but listened to the music and drunk clients until about midnight each night. The pool was nice - on Saturday afternoon they had a DJ doing Kareoke which was a little cheesy, I think a DJ would have been better received.. No washcloths in the room, and the coffee cups had not been washed. The property had obviously settled because the doors did not open or close without extra effort. The A/C unit in the room worked well but was very loud. We will probably not stay at this "resort" again..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
We apologize for your poor experience. This is not our standard of service. I will ensure that we correct the issues mentioned in your review. Please contact me directly and I would be happy to provide you with a discount on your next stay with us.

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport LA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We booked this room the night before our cruise. It's only a 5 minute drive to the port. We enjoyed the view from our room. It is across the street from the beach. Our room had a balcony facing the beach.
It is close to some restaurants so you can park and walk. The hotel restaurant is nice and the staff was very friendly.
My only complaint is that I could not find a coke machine that worked.
I don't understand the bad reviews for this hotel. No it's not a brand new building but I would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your review and your feedback. It is our team goal to provide both a quality product and exceptional guest service. We are in the process of switching our vending machine contract due to lack of service. We do apologize but it is being corrected. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again very soon!

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My husband and I moved to this hotel for our last night in Galveston because we wanted an ocean view. We called around and moved here. We were on the "executive floor" - 8th.... the reservationist said this was a bigger, nicer room with 600 thread count sheets and more extras... NOT. The bed was good, sheets okay... but I don't think they were 600 count. The rooms are all the same size... the view was GREAT This is an older hotel... the bathroom is small... but it was CLEAN. The pool was nice, lots of towels and drink service was available.

The nicest thing is you have access to the San Luis next door... their pool was fantastic!

We might have stayed a second night, but the price went up from $161 to over $240 for the Saturday night.... we choose to just drive home. This room was fine... but not worth $240!

I'd probably stay here again if the price was right. The service was great. Everyone was super nice. But if I'm going to spend $200+..... I'd go to the San Luis next door.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less road noise and have GREAT views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is our team's goal to provide both a quality product as well as friendly and courteous service. We thank you for your business and we hope that you will visit us again in Galveston soon.

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

thank goodness we paid a low priceline price for this hotel, or I would have felt very ripped off. For the price (relatively cheap compared to "retail" price"), it was just barely OK. First, the door lock on the door leading to the balcony was difficult to figure out. Second, the carpet was stained, though rest of room was adequately clean. Third, we wanted to use the room safe, but no, it was shut, which means we'd have to get maintenance to reset the safe. Fourth, there was a live band (on a Thursday night) which played loud thumping music (with loud patrons by the pool) until after midnight. Fifth, the pool was closed the next morning when we tried to swim at 10 am. "we had a problem" says the management (maybe vomit from the drunk band patrons?).
Management was willing shuttle guests to the nearby Hilton, but this wasn't doing us much good, as check-out time was 12 noon.
The food at the hotel restaurant was adequate, but nothing special. Check-in was a bit slow, "we're training today", i.e. every action the clerk did was being explained to new personnel, so seems like getting us to our room took a long time.
When pool was open, it was warm and inviting, with plenty of pool toys for the kids. View of the ocean was great; we watched a lightening storm from the balcony which was fun.
All said, we would NOT go back, even at the lower priceline cost.

Room Tip: ask for floor 2 or above for view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
I am sorry to hear that you had a poor experience at our property. Your feedback is appreciated and the comments are not our standard. We are in the process of Holi-Caring all of our guestrooms and we will ensure that your issues are noted. We do also apologize that our pool was under repair on the day of your visit but as noted we did arrange for guests to use the pool at our sister property. We are sorry for your inconvenience. We hope that you will give us a second chance. Contact me directly and I would be happy to arrange for a discount on your future stay with us.

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed here during the labor day weekend and everyone was so helpful. Paul Jones the engineering person at the hotel went out of his way several times to help us figure out fun things to do. Nice places to dine, paddle boat trip. I left my phone at the restaurant and he called and had them hold it for me. We had a fabulous time and it was so nice to be treated nice.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on facing the water, was very beautiful. Paul Jones the hotel engineer was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff provided quality service including Paul. Thank you for your business and we hope that you can make a return trip to Galveston soon!

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Mississippi, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I loved being able to sit out on our balcony and see the beach. The room was very clean. Great amenities including fridge and microwave. Front desk staff always awesome! Will stay here again!! Enjoyed the bar both inside and out. Pool was clean with plenty of chase lounges.

Room Tip: We were very fortunate and got an upgrade to the 8th floor, we were there weeknights. I think all r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and your view from your guestroom balcony as well as lounging by our pool and having a few drinks. We are also happy to hear that we provided you with a clean hotel and friendly service. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again very soon!

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach

Address: 5002 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston- On the Beach features 8 stories of Gulfview rooms on beautiful Galveston Island. We are located at the premier San Luis Resort in the heart of the Texas Gulf Coast! Most of our 178 rooms have private balconies that overlook the Gulf or our sparkling outdoor pool. The Jetty Restaurant located in our lobby area provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner, as well as, room service. The famous B Jiggers Lounge is also located in our lobby offering live entertainment on the weekends and Happy Hour specials. Our hotel is centrally located to many Galveston attractions. Bring your sun block for your trip to the beach or Schlitterbahn Water Park. Go for a wild ride on the Rainforest Cafe and Adventure Ride, or if shopping is more your style spend the day at the Historical Strand Shopping District. Stay before a cruise on Royal Caribbean or Carnival Cruise Lines, and park your car with us, we provide transportation to and from the cruise terminals. Whether you want to take a historic home tour at Bishop s Palace, Moody Mansion or Ashton Villa or catch a play at The Grand 1894 Opera House we are the place to stay. The Galveston Island Convention Center is only blocks away, as well as prominent universities, UTMB and Texas A & M University. Upcoming Special Events: Lone Star Motorcycle Rally, and Mardi Gras. Now come Explore Galveston! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach Hotel Galveston
Holiday Inn Galveston
Galveston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.