We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much potential” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5002 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Grass Valley, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“So much potential”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed with my family in one of the upper level "executive view" rooms. The bedding and towels looked very new. The rest of the room was below par. There were so many small things that could be repaired to make it much more enjoyable. The bathroom fixtures were falling off. The bathroom had no exhaust fan!!. In a sub-tropic environment, that should be essential.
The staff was friendly and responsive. A major plus that helped overlook the smaller details.
Oh, and they do not seem to enforce the No Smoking policy. We could smell smoke in our room from a previous occupant.
The location is good, across from the beach. Unfortunately, the City of Galveston doesn't put crosswalks other than at intersections. This makes it a rather long walk to get across the street. Especially with kids and all their gear.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level room for the best view. All rooms open toward the Gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your review and your comments. We are glad that our hotel team provided you with friendly service and that your room was clean. Our hotel completed a renovation of all the the guestrooms in 2010-11. We are starting a second round of renovations in the Fall/Winter 2013-14 which includes a renovation of the guestroom bathrooms as well as other guestroom and public space renovations. We are continually worknig to improve the quality of our product, cleanliness and service. Thank you for your business and we hope that you visit us again soon!

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    146
    67
    45
    38
See reviews for
167
105
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We were in Houston in business and decided to drive down to Galveston for a one night stay at the last minute. I checked pricing for other "lesser chain hotels" nearby. This hotel was only $10 more and is loaded with amenities. The staff was very friendly at check in. It's an older hotel but does not look old or drab. We just got a small two bed room. The beds were doubles and not queens but were very comfortable. The pool is very nice and they had free snow cones for the kids when we arrived (probably a special event for that day)
We had room service for dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. Food was great.
We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay at our hotel. It is our goal to provide friendly and courteous service. We also enjoy providing family activities including Dive-in Movies and Games at our Pool, Arts and Crafts in our Kids Club, and Snowcones. Thank you for your patronage of Holiday Inn Hotels and Resorts and we hoep you can make a return visit to Galveston soon!

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is not the first time I have stayed here and am always happy with this hotel, friendly staff, very clean, I feel safe a secure here when traveling with my children. Great area, lots to do and a huge added bonus is B Jiggers, I've been lucky enough to catch the band The Line Up there when I've been and those guys are awesome!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you and your family enjoy staying at our hotel. We are also happy that our hotel team exceeds your expectations. The Line Up is one of Galveston's Best Bands and our bar, BJiggers, has won numerous awards for Best Live Music Bar on the island. It is good to hear that you also enjoy our live music. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon!

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Accomodations were fine but it was the customer service that was truly top notch! Every single staff member was kind, courteous and considerate. We had an A/C unit with a fan that would not stay on continuously. We wanted the fan on for the white noise but it would turn off after it reached the desired temp. We talked to the front desk about it and they had a technician come up right away. After looking at it, it offered to change out the unit while we were out at the beach that day. Sure enough, not only was it changed out but he had turned the air to the perfect temp so it was nice and cool when we got back.

The restaurant staff was so friendly. They treated us like we were guests in their home and wanted to make sure every need was met. The bar staff was awesome and made great drinks! I could go on and on about the staff. The fact is I work in a customer service industry and it is hard to get that many employees on the same page with the same "Can Do" attitude and a geniune smile.

Good job, Holiday Inn!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We really appreciate your review and the comments about our team. We are so glad that we exceeded your expectations. It is our goal to provide every guest with five-diamond service and I am happy that we provided you with a perfect stay. Thank you for your continued patronage of Holiday Inn Hotels and Resorts and we hope you can visit us again soon in Galveston!

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsicana, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We would like to THANK the management and staff for making our stay as pleasant as we could have asked for.. Mike was great and the staff was friendly and helpful. The room was kept clean and the restaurant in the hotel was excellent... great food and a very good buffet for breakfast and the service was also professional and friendly. The pool was beautiful and kept sparkling clean everyday... The grounds were cleaned everyday, you couldn't ask for more!! We will definitely stay again when we come to Galveston. The accommodations you have when you are on a vacation are a big part of your experience - Check-in time was 4PM but we arrived at noon and our room was ready!!! We couldn't have had a better stay. We would recommend the Hilton on the Beach to anyone looking for accommodations in Galveston!!! The Flanagan Family!!!

Room Tip: we were on the 4th floor you will probably have a better view on a higher floor. but the room was gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your review and your comments. We are glad that you had a perfect stay with us. It is our goal to provide both a quality product and quality service. Thank you for your business and we hope you can visit us again in Galveston very soon!

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, TX
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I found this hotel to be perfectly average. I booked directly as an IHG member but received no special treatment. We arrived around 2:00pm but there were no available rooms for early check in. I hadn't realized check in wasn't until 4:00pm so that was my mistake. Someone did call from the front desk once a room was available but then I had to stand in line for another 45 min to get back to the desk, so be prepared for a very busy front desk here in summer. I had booked a room with a view and a balcony which we had but our view was directly above the A/C units which drowned out the sound of the surf. We didn't spend much time out there after all. We were in 704 so I'd suggest if you are booking that level of room that you request the opposite end of the hotel above the pool?

The room was pretty clean, particularly for being right across the street from the sand, however, a big negative for me was that our dirty towels were not removed from the room and just left along the wall in front of our bathroom door. Seems like a really strange way to operate. Also, if you are looking for a quiet spot this isn't it. The walls are pretty thin and we could hear our neighbors conversations and children and I imagine they could hear ours.

The staff we encountered were all very friendly so I applaud them there. Overall, it was an average stay but I didn't feel by the end that I had had an exceptional stay or that the small inconveniences were worth it because I had gotten a good deal. In the future I might look elsewhere for my needs but I wouldn't automatically rule out staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your positive comments about our friendly staff and hotel. I do apologize that we did not have a room available for an early check-in. Unfortunately, during the summer the hotel is sold-out everyday and check-out time is 12noon. As you mentioned, our check-in time is 4pm and it is very difficult for us to honor an early check-in during the summer since we are sold out everyday. We do recommend for guests to arrive at the 4pm check-in time or later but as you mentioned, we do our best to accommodate our guests for an early check-in by storing luggage and allowing guests to enjoy the amenities of the resort and calling guests on their cell phone when their room is ready. Thank you for your business and we hope that you will try staying with us again after the summer season.

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenville, tx
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

For what you get, it's too much money. The rooms are ok, but that's about it. Nothing really stands out about the place. The prices are just too high in my opinion. I stayed in a value motel down the road and saved $100 and had a more enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The front desk is very good about describing the location and view from the room. They will let you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments. Our hotel has been recently renovated to the latest Holiday Inn Urban Design and we provide numerous amenities including our restaurant, bar with live entertainment, swimming pool, kids activities and many more resort activities. Unfortunately, the summer season is in high demand in galveston and the rates are much higher than in the off-season. You can obtain better rates in our hotel by staying on a Sunday thru Thursday night anytime or by staying on a weekend in the off-season. We appreciate your business and we hope that you will visit us again in Galveston very soon.

Steve Kalbaugh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach

Address: 5002 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Galveston
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn on the Beach features 8 stories of Gulfview rooms on beautiful Galveston Island. We are located at the premier San Luis Resort in the heart of the Texas Gulf Coast! Most of our 178 rooms have private balconies that overlook the Gulf or our sparkling outdoor pool. The Jetty Restaurant located in our lobby area provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner, as well as, room service. The famous B Jiggers Lounge is also located in our lobby offering live entertainment on the weekends and Happy Hour specials. Our hotel is centrally located to many Galveston attractions. Bring your sun block for your trip to the beach or Schlitterbahn Water Park. Go for a wild ride on the Rainforest Café and Adventure Ride, or if shopping is more your style spend the day at the Historical Strand Shopping District. Stay before a cruise on Royal Caribbean or Carnival Cruise Lines, and park your car with us, we provide transportation to and from the cruise terminals. Whether you want to take a historic home tour at Bishop s Palace, Moody Mansion or Ashton Villa or catch a play at The Grand 1894 Opera House we are the place to stay. The Galveston Island Convention Center is only blocks away, as well as prominent universities, UTMB and Texas A & M University. Upcoming Special Events: Lone Star Motorcycle Rally, and Mardi Gras. Now come Explore Galveston! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach Hotel Galveston
Holiday Inn Galveston
Galveston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.